Kirra New Zealand Reviews

825 Kirra New Zealand Reviews

4.6/5.0

4.6 out of 5 based on 53 user reviews.

Overall Tour Rating
Value For Money
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Relaxing Journeys Experience

Reviews

3
Premium Coach Tour
28/02/2018
The connection to the tour in Christchurch was very disappointing. Linda was happy & fine. We expected to have our backpacks early to divide our baggage. Eventually discovered ours behind the reception desk. All very awkward on the first morning with driver Ross trying to sort some missing baggage . Ross is a very safe & knowledgeable driver. We didn't enjoy the train trip in Dunedin very ordinary. Would have preferred walking around to view the architecture.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Premium Coach Tour
28/11/2017
Some hotels could have been better choice. Same breakfast every day, not much choice for vegetarian meals were disappointed. Only couple of hotel went out of their way to make vegetarian meals one was in Christchurch .
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
2
Premium Coach Tour
28/11/2017
Was okay.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
10/05/2017
Ross our coach driver was fantastic very informative and really made the trip so enjoyable. His local knowledge and funny stories were great. We only did a tour of the South Island this time but will definitely be back to do the North Island also. We had a great mix of like minded people which was really good as we haven't done a group tour before. All in all a very memorable holiday that we would recommend to anyone. We were greeted at the airport and made to feel very welcome from the first minute. Kirra transfers were great. The gift also came in very handy as we didn't have a backpack or umbrella - you guys thought of everything. Thanks again Marie and Kirra.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
05/03/2017
The tour exceeded our expectations. Kirra Tours did a fantastic job from picking us up at the airport, busing us around both islands to bringing us back to the airport safely. The fact that David was both driver, guide and our sole contact during the trip, made our sightseeing and excursions easy and very informative. He was an excellent driver, very knowledgeable, funny, calm, and at the same time let us sit back and enjoy the surroundings.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Premium Coach Tour
23/02/2017
Whilst overall the tour with Kirra was excellent and all the hotels and food very good, it was extremely disappointing to have all three rail journeys cancelled due to acts of Mother Nature. The coach driver did his best to compensate but it meant spending more days in the coach than we had anticipated and some of the days were very long and tiring leaving no time to explore new areas. It also meant that some of the promised activities were impossible due to time restrictions, i.e. the vineyard visit in Marlborough. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Kirra Tours but would hope that Mother Nature behaved herself better!
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Premium Coach Tour
19/12/2016
The tour was very enjoyable and educational. I liked the places we visited and most of the activities, especially the Christmas dinner at Walter Peak.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
13/11/2016
At the beginning I was afraid if I have chosen the right tourist company for my trip in New Zealand I have dreamed two years long about. But short time after we have started to communicate together I was sure you are a seriously company. The trip through South and North Islands in New Zealand was very, very well organised and everything was on a good level. Hotels are ok in good places, coach (captain) attended to everybody on the group, every day was full with visiting new interesting sightseeing. The atmosphere between us in the group was very friendly. I want to express my thanks to you and I could say that New Zealand I will keep in my heart as a treasure memory in my life. You have to be proud to live in one wonderful country kissed by god. I have already visited 52 countries and I tell you really, New Zealand is a jewel of the world. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
27/01/2016
We so enjoyed our tour, the scenery was stunning, every day a new experience, on the whole the accommodation was very good, our driver was informative which enhanced the enjoyment of the scenery. The highlights would be Milford Sound, Queenstown and so much more, everywhere we went the people were friendly and helpful. My only problem was the early rising but understand the need for this so we could pack in so much. The motel in Omarama tired and in need of modernisation.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Premium Coach Tour
19/04/2015
I was very happy with the planned places to visit. I took in an overall picture of New Zealand with the terrain, sights, people and history. Our Coach driver, Trevor, was organized, polite, patient, knowledgeable and a good story teller. The accommodation varied but overall was excellent. We had a couple of drizzly days but then it was NZ! (Ed. Ouch! Lol)
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Premium Coach Tour
11/02/2015
A great holiday, enabling us to see the sights of South Island, without having to drive ourselves over a vaste area. The coach driver's skills were excellent I thought, as I can suffer from travel sickness, particularly towards the back of a coach, but I had no problems whatsoever. Suitcases were collected/delivered without trouble. It would have been nice to have had more time in the various locations, to look about us more, but I suppose the number of kilometres to be covered preclude this. South Island is such a big area to cover.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
13/01/2015
Fantastic tour and great driver/guide! Wonderful taste of both North and South Islands. Kelvin was provided great commentary with a wonderful sense of humor and wit. Would highly recommend.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Premium Coach Tour
04/01/2015
We had a great time with Kirra Tours. The driver was so good and very knowledgeable. Our first hotel in Christchurch (Sudima) was way out by the Airport, so a little hard to access downtown. The hotel is under renovations, our first night there was not real pleasant, no air conditioning, the bed was not very comfortable, and the carpets were filthy. Our second stay there was much better. Newly renovated room. I think Kirra has to make sure they get the best available rooms for the group, not necessarily accepting second best. Our hotel in Auckland had great rooms, but the food services were very slow. Fore the most part it was a great tour with lots of great included activities.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
15/10/2014
Dennis was an excellent driver/tour guide. He had obviously researched many locations along our tour and was able to tell us so much about the territory we were passing through. He went over and above what one would expect. He also handled an emergency health issue experienced by one of our travellers exceptionally well. I believe that all were more than happy with his efforts. Some accommodation was a little lower standard than others. The room my cousin and I occupied at Rydges Hotel, Queenstown was close to some equipment that sounded during the night so we had disturbed sleep. It sounded like the TSS Earnslaw! (RJ. Maybe it was! :)
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
09/03/2014
Thank you for your email. And the opportunity to give feedback. I have to admit that we were rather nervous about booking a coach tour so far away, but with Kirra Tours I think we made the right choice! The tour was well planned & the pace comfortable as stated! The tour 'captain' 'Andrew' was very professional & made sure that we had the best time! He simply was a 'tonic' he came across as a person who cared for & truly loves his country! And we feel privileged that we were there to be part of it. He is a source of information. We thoroughly loved New Zealand & we definitely will be back hopefully. Thank you again Mani & Kirra tours.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Premium Coach Tour
23/02/2014
A good way to see everything in New Zealand, but not really enough spare time for us to do things. Guess you cannot have everything. All hotels clean but some very tired and more like 1960's motels. Some were great eg Auckland. Food good in some places but only adequate in others. Wifi was a real pain in some hotels - even if you could get access, it was flaky or some things didn't work. Rydges hotels very good for wifi. Hotels in NZ really need to join the 21st century. Included tours generally very good and interesting, and Kirra don't try to charge commission on the optional items. Driver very knowledgable about NZ culture and history, but Kirra expect him to drive and organise - this did lead to some confusion at times as it was too much for one person. Would visit NZ again but would probably do our own thing, focusing on the places we liked on this trip. At least you drive on the correct side of the road.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
06/11/2013
Thanks to relaxing Journeys and Kirra tours for a thoroughly enjoyable and well organised tour. Our brilliant coach captain Ross who is one of Kirra's gems kept us entertained and well informed. If there was any question he could not answer he did his best to find out. My wife and I would definitely use Relaxing Journeys and Kirra again.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
15/09/2013
This tour is ideal for seniors. Our coach captain, Trevor, was excellent, having great knowledge and patience. He added his own personal touch to the tour making the experience most entertaining. All accommodation was very good at all locations, and the meals were top class! We felt pampered! We were disappointed to miss out on Haast Pass, the Fox glacier and the Trans-Alpine train due to a land slip.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
15/09/2013
This was a well organised, well thought out tour. The 'Coach Captain' Trevor was a great source of local knowledge and extremely capable at the unassuming management of any issues as they arose. It was disappointing that Hasst Pass was closed, precluding the trip through it to Fox Glacier, the glacier tour and especially missing out on the Transalpine Rail trip - but we have to accept being subject to matters out of our hands. The touring group was a nice mix of people with no 'problem' characters - leading to a pleasant time on the coach and at other times. Thank you for a very satisfactory and reasonably priced experience.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Premium Coach Tour
28/02/2013
Excellent tour overall. Had a great tour guide as well as a good set of people. Highlights Queenstown; Te Anau, Milford Sound, Ferry from Wellington to Picton. Would have like more time at Wanaka rather than having to go to Puzzle world which if staying there would be a good use of time but not on a limited tour. Also too much time at Rotourua - could have spent more time at Taupo. Accommodation was mostly really good and the seamless arrangements by Kirra was also a highlight. Overall good value for money and tailored appropriately for the diversity of participants.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
08/01/2013
We had a wonderful holiday with Kirra Tours. We can't believe the value of the holiday which included so many excursions such as boat trips, special dinners, visits to super attractions - too many to list. The organisation was tip top right from our internet booking to the everyday planning. New Zealand stole our hearts. Thank you so much.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Premium Coach Tour
16/10/2012
Fabulous time. Only 9 on tour. The small coach on the North Island was very uncomfortable and ended up buying something from the Opshop to sit on! Trevor the coach driver didn't seem to know the North Island very well as we understand this is a new concept of one driver for the tour. The commentary was lacking and we were left to find our own way back from the geysers in Rotorua. Things improved on South Island, a big Kirra bus was waiting and so comfortable! The commentary improved and obviously Trevor was much more comfortable on home ground. His organisation of the options was excellent here. We were dropped at Sudima in Christchurch and did not have the welcome we received everywhere else. The holiday ended abruptly!
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
25/09/2012
As it was my first tour, I found the organized days a wonderful experience. The tour was to both the North and South Islands. The driver and leader of the tour was excellent - Ross Bridgeman. His knowledge of history of both islands was superb. He respected the uniqueness of each person, and his directions were always clear. The occasions when extra activities were on the timetable, he arranged for the tickets, and collected them for us. You are very lucky to have Ross in the team.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Premium Coach Tour
27/02/2012
This was my first coach tour. Kirby was really helpful and patient overcoming any difficulties and answering any of my questions. The Coach Driver/Captain Trevor was great - also helpful and patient. The quality of hotels in some places was very disappointing given the cost of the tour - of the hotels, 50% were disappointing, 50% were great. The tour pace was fine - although at times too many stops at cafes/gift shops and not enough time at other scenic places during the day (I felt a bit exploited money-wise in that sense) As for the tour itself - South Island is spectacular; it's definitely long enough; there are heaps of things to see; it really is a breathtaking country. Overall, Kirra did a good job, and Relaxing Journeys were good, too. We had a great group of people to tour round with which also made for a great trip. Unfortunately my schedule did not allow time to have done the North Island trip beforehand - which most of our party had undertaken - but in retrospect it didn't matter as South Island was enough - still processing all that beauty! I have seen the NI before (independently) and would have been happy to see it again but just the SI certainly sufficed. If you're looking to book a trip you could do a lot worse than book with Kirra/Relaxing Journeys and overall our party deemed it a successful trip and I would consider using Kirra/Relaxing Journeys again. It's good if you're single or a couple, too.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
03/01/2012
The 16 Day Classic Vista tour of both islands was excellent. The tour was extremely organised. The driver/guide was very knowledgeable, extremely helpful and approachable. The hotels were very comfortable and well situated. The activities which were included in the tour were excellent. Some of my tour highlights were the visit to the Tamaki Maori Village, Milford Sound and the tour to the Larnach Castle in Dunedin. I will definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see as much as possible of both islands in a small space of time. This was definitely one of my best holiday experiences.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

Results 1-25 of 53

Next Page