APT New Zealand Reviews

Akaroa Cruise Ship

832 APT New Zealand Reviews

4.6/5.0

4.6 out of 5 based on 41 user reviews.

Overall Tour Rating
Value For Money
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Relaxing Journeys Experience

Reviews

4
Premium Coach Tour
21/02/2018
Very enjoyable in every way, our tour guide Karen and driver John, friendly travelling companions, destinations and weather. Only one accommodation criticism, the Scenic Hotel in Queenstown was too far out of town given the steep hill and lacked the first impression of other hotels stayed in by the "car park" style of entry into different blocks.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
09/02/2018
We had a great time in New Zealand on this tour. Everything met or exceeded our expectations. Marie from Relaxing Journeys did a great job answering all our questions in a timely manner and was very helpful in finalizing out trip.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
16/01/2018
We saw so much of New Zealand and look forward to returning one day! Everything was so well organised. Our driver was the best we have ever had and we have had many in the past. Our tour guide was excellent too.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
3
Premium Coach Tour
10/10/2017
The tour covered a lot of things and that was good. The driver Chris was excellent and a good communicator. The rep Lyn knew her history of the country and seemed ok with what she knew, but panicked if you asked anything she didn't know or was new to her. I think in today's terms it's called inability to think laterally, which happens when you get older. We're getting older so it's something I recognised, but didn't expect it in our rep. We did enjoy the country, but would be worried about who would be in charge, if we went again. Driver made it work.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
22/04/2017
Tour was great for us. We had no idea of what were the best places to visit, places to stay, or how to get around. APT made it very easy for us. Every day was either structured with great sights to see or we had flexibility on choosing some optional events. We had only enough time to visit the North Island but plan in the future to visit the South with APT. Only recommendation is to make sure you are there the day before to be able to have all options for the first day.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
14/02/2017
Guides were excellent! We saw and learned so much. Trip included all we had researched was important to see. Change of hotels almost daily a little grueling but necessary! Most hotels good to excellent. Love way seats on coach changed daily.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
30/10/2016
Unequalled professionalism
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
17/02/2016
APT did a wonderful job, our tour director was exceptional.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
13/02/2016
Our APT tour of New Zealand south island was wonderful! Great accommodations and excellent itinerary where we saw many beautiful sights of the south island area.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Premium Coach Tour
05/02/2016
An excellent holiday for those with limited time wanting to see as much as possible, at sometimes quite hectic and early morning starts a necessity. A reasonable degree of fitness is needed to make the most of the daily excursions. We would have liked more information about the Freedom of choice excursions (eg a train journey took 5 hours too long) All the hotels were of a good standard and beds very comfortable, the food varied some of the dinners were extremely good, we didn't go hungry. Our driver was excellent with so much local and historical knowledge making each day very interesting. The tour director inexperienced, her first trip. We understood that maximum no of passengers to be limited to 40 but for the South Island there were 44.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Premium Coach Tour
27/01/2016
The greatest shock to us was just how devastated Christchurch is. We knew about the earthquake damage, of course, but we had no realistic comprehension of how great an effect it had had and how limited the functionality of the CBD was. So, our extra couple of nights in Christchurch meant we were certainly exposed to those limitations, and the hotel is quite a walk from much of what we wanted to see there. The city also happened to turn on some really foul weather while we were there. On tour, some days we had too much of the 'coach'. The day that particularly applies to was when we went on the Taieri Gorge rail excursion, but we were brought back from the halfway point (Pukeringa) by mini-bus, which was driven as though it was a racing car. After about two hours of that, then another four hours or so on the APT coach to Te Anau we were glad to get off the roads. Another hour or so and I am sure there would have been quite a few people maybe bringing up their lunches. We had a good driver and a good tour manager. Te Anau and Queenstown were great. And we got to see Mount Cook clearly. We had a fantastic hotel room there with views of the changing mountain/cloudscape. The train trip from Arthur's Pass to Christchurch was not as wonderful as I thought it was going to be. That was probably affected by the train being an hour late (because of the heat-affected tracks) and by the degree of cold as we got to within an hour of Christchurch--with the clouds having descended, making visibility very poor. By the end of the tour we were glad to be off the coach.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Premium Coach Tour
19/12/2014
The pace and the coach were nice. I loved the freedom of choice options - it cost more but provided flexibity for a tour group that had a couple of teenagers to individuals into their late 70s. My only frustration was that I chose that tour due to a visit to Hobbiton and due to the holidays it was closed and I didn't find out until 28 November - 3 weeks after I had to pay for the tour. There were about 15 people on the tour in the same situation. One good thing is that since we were all so disappointed - the tour guide helped those of interested to get a LOTR tour in Wellington which included Weta studios. That was great, but since it was not included in the original set of freedom of choice options it did cost extra but it was a cool tour.

I recommend that you inform individuals that there are opportunities to do laundry and pack as little as possible due to weight and number of bag restrictions on flights and buses. Bring a great camera with an extra battery and storage. Those that tried to get by on smart phones or tablets ran out of storage space and had to start deleted apps but in two cases it didn't work and they were very disappointed. Only half of the hotels offered unlimited wireless the rest were pay or receive 20 mins free in lobby and often Internet was slow. All that said - it was a great trip and the pace worked out well staying in two nights in most places and all the countryside was gorgeous. It was pretty relaxing overall.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
10/01/2014
Jan, our tour guide and Rob, our coach driver, worked so well together that they made our tour very informative and smooth. The trip was a pleasure. This was the best way to see New Zealand.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
29/12/2013
Most enjoyable and informative. A great tour group, the tour guide and the coach driver were fantastic. Spectacular landscape with the appropriate commentaries made it memorable. A diverse group of people with a similar aim to visit a new country/region , learn the culture, meet other people and enjoy. Thank you.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
26/11/2013
We had the most wonderful trip around stunningly beautiful New Zealand - while I appreciate that APT can't take credit for the fabulous scenery and beautiful weather we enjoyed, your amazing staff, from Mani in the office, to the wonderfully capable and caring Laurel and Mark in whose safe hands we were escorted around the country definitely deserve heaps of credit for enriching and enhancing a fabulous trip. I have two recommendations: keep your amazing staff but please get a bigger coach or put fewer people on it.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
07/05/2013
We had a wonderful holiday. The whole tour was well organised. We enjoyed the 'freedom of choice' tours. Nick Hart our courier was very helpful and patient organising the large group. David McGregor our driver was very pleasant, prompt and always made sure the coach was spotlessly clean. He also managed all the luggage with ease.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
02/02/2013
The tour was very good. The guide, Lyn, was excellent and also the driver. We would recommend this to anyone.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
08/11/2011
The tour was lovely. Negatives: The title on the itinerary for the first day was confusing about whether dinner was included. A few hotels were disappointments. I would have preferred departing earlier each day in order to have more time at the sites. I was disappointed with the Scottish night. Personally, I would have liked more bagpipes and Scottish entertainment and less poetry. Positives: Laurel, tour manager, and Rob, driver, were excellent and very professional. Some of the hotels were a treat. We were assigned an apartment in Queenstown that was so lovely that we returned to the hetel early in order to enjoy the rooms and view. Milford Sound was the highlight of the trip for me. The beauty of the fiord, the excellent dinner, and the rain the next day that produced all the waterfalls were all perfect. This was my second trip to New Zealand, and while we returned to some locations I had toured before, I saw different places and things. The variety was enjoyable and interesting. I enjoyed the times we met with friends who live in New Zealand. Kirby was very helpful in getting information for me to arrange meeting these friends and in answering all my questions.
Overall Tour Rating

Be the first to review
Value For Money

Be the first to review
Accommodation

Be the first to review
Tour Pace

Be the first to review
Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Premium Coach Tour
10/09/2011
It was a trip of a lifetime. We were able to see the entire country and had many pleasent experiences. The tour guide and bus driver was a real plus. They knew the country side and were able to tell us many stories about your country. I have to say that this was the best coach trips we have ever taken. During our visit we were able to see the opening of the World Cup of Rugby. Being from the United States and never understanding what the game was all about, we became overnight fans and were able to see one of the matches on the trip. Our tour guide was able to take care of the entire process for us. I would highly recommend the NZ Wanderer for people who really want to experience New Zealand and the great people who live there.
Overall Tour Rating

Be the first to review
Value For Money

Be the first to review
Accommodation

Be the first to review
Tour Pace

Be the first to review
Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
09/03/2011
We thought the tour went very well, especially given the difficult circumstances at the beginning with last minute hotel changes and so on due to the quake. The only disappointment was the weather in the Bay of Islands, but we won't hold you responsible for that! The tour manager, Laurie, and driver, Ian, were especially good, funny, helpful and informative.
Overall Tour Rating

Be the first to review
Value For Money

Be the first to review
Accommodation

Be the first to review
Tour Pace

Be the first to review
Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Premium Coach Tour
06/02/2011
Thank you for this opportunity to express our views on the tour. We had a wonderful time on our tour overall, some places and meals better than others but nothing that was absolutely awful. We really enjoyed the itinerary although we have decided if we come back that maybe a longer tour that incorpoates some more rest days may be better. However I think we both found the staff and the people in general were so helpful everywhere that we went. The scenery was spectacular and I have so many pictures to paint I don't know where to start. We would like to say a very special thank you to our tour director Barry Owen who's commentary and anecdotes made everything so very interesting and especially for all his patience when things got so chaotic after the eartquake at Christchurch. Also to our driver Royal from Johnsons who was an amazing driver all the time but excelled himself when getting us out of the earthquake area. APT did a magnificent job of getting us accommodation at short notice when we missed our flights and Air New Zealand pulled out all the stops to get us home. We really cannot thank everyone enough. Please could you pass on these thanks to the relevant people. It was certainly a holiday that we will never forget for so many reasons and we look forward to travelling with you again, as we intend to go to Australia in 2013.
Overall Tour Rating

Be the first to review
Value For Money

Be the first to review
Accommodation

Be the first to review
Tour Pace

Be the first to review
Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Premium Coach Tour
29/01/2011
We really enjoyed the trip, with a great tour guide, Glynnis, and Denny our driver. Denny and I shared the vietnam experience as combat vets...so got along famously. After getting home i realized that we may have had the same commanding officer. The itinerary was great , scenery even better, and the options what we wanted. The reason that we took this particular trip was that many of the activities were optional, and as i had been a military pilot , had already been whalewatching, jetboating, diving etc. Some of the 'main events' did not interest us, yet it covered the country and gave us choices. (we opted for a wine tour instead of bungee jumping etc). New Zealand had been on my bucket list since serving with anzus forces in vietnam. Highlights for us were the Bay of Islands, Maori culture, Milford Sound, Mt Cook, and I would have to say, Picton also. I thank you for the input to stay an extra day on each end. Some potential improvements - we had expected more fresh fruit for breakfast, with New Zealand being the garden nation. We had lots of tinned fruits, but much fewer fresh ones. Real eggs were a treat vs the processed scrambled variety. The full British breakfast was pretty much the same every morning and something we were not really used to , so maybe an american thing :) On the positive, I love lamb shanks, and had some great meals of them, done up right. All in all pleased with your people, and tours. Keep it up. I would recommend to others. Our best wishes, and hope that none of your people were hurt in Christchurch, we left there 4 days before the quake. Our heart goes out to them.
Overall Tour Rating

Be the first to review
Value For Money

Be the first to review
Accommodation

Be the first to review
Tour Pace

Be the first to review
Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
24/12/2010
Our trip in New Zealand was wonderful. Both the coach driver, Dennis and the tour guide, Arthur, were amazingly knowledgeable and gave us a real insight into the way of life in NZ. We learnt so much about your beautiful country, hotels were good and very good and food mostly good too. Many thanks for a memorable and relaxing holiday.
Overall Tour Rating

Be the first to review
Value For Money

Be the first to review
Accommodation

Be the first to review
Tour Pace

Be the first to review
Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
07/12/2010
There was definitely too much travelling per day on this tour although I appreciate we saw a lot. Our guide was phenomenal and made the tour both instructive and interesting. It would have been better to have spent a bit more time at some sites, for example at the caves and agrorama. I was disappointed with some of the hotels which only had one double and one single bed not two doubles. The tour did give the opportunity to see places which would be good to revisit and maybe that is the purpose of the tour.
Overall Tour Rating

Be the first to review
Value For Money

Be the first to review
Accommodation

Be the first to review
Tour Pace

Be the first to review
Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Coach Tour
09/04/2010
Kia Ora! We had one of the most memorable trips!! Very good accomodations and coach driver! Of course, Laurel MacDonald was FABULOUS!! Always there when you needed her and full of extra information about the country and the people. Very responsible, and responsive individual who made us feel right at home in her country. We have already told a lot of our friends to book thru 'Relaxing Jouneys' and of course to talk to Craig! Thank you for giving us a marvelous experience in beautiful New Zealand!! We Loved it!!
Overall Tour Rating

Be the first to review
Value For Money

Be the first to review
Accommodation

Be the first to review
Tour Pace

Be the first to review
Relaxing Journeys Experience

Results 1-25 of 41

Next Page