3 View Wishlist3

36 APT New Zealand Reviews

4.6 out of 5 based on 36 user reviews.
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 14 Day New Zealand Highlighter 14 Day New Zealand Highlighter

    Guides were excellent! We saw and learned so much. Trip included all we had researched was important to see. Change of hotels almost daily a little grueling but necessary! Most hotels good to excellent. Love way seats on coach changed daily.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 14/02/2017
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 9 Day Southern Tourer 9 Day Southern Tourer

    Unequalled professionalism

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 30/10/2016
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 23 Day New Zealand Splendour 23 Day New Zealand Splendour

    APT did a wonderful job, our tour director was exceptional.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 17/02/2016
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 12 Day Scenic Sights 12 Day Scenic Sights

    Our APT tour of New Zealand south island was wonderful! Great accommodations and excellent itinerary where we saw many beautiful sights of the south island area.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 13/02/2016
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand

    An excellent holiday for those with limited time wanting to see as much as possible, at sometimes quite hectic and early morning starts a necessity. A reasonable degree of fitness is needed to make the most of the daily excursions. We would have liked more information about the Freedom of choice excursions (eg a train journey took 5 hours too long) All the hotels were of a good standard and beds very comfortable, the food varied some of the dinners were extremely good, we didn't go hungry. Our driver was excellent with so much local and historical knowledge making each day very interesting. The tour director inexperienced, her first trip. We understood that maximum no of passengers to be limited to 40 but for the South Island there were 44.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 05/02/2016
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 12 Day South Island Explorer 12 Day South Island Explorer

    The greatest shock to us was just how devastated Christchurch is. We knew about the earthquake damage, of course, but we had no realistic comprehension of how great an effect it had had and how limited the functionality of the CBD was. So, our extra couple of nights in Christchurch meant we were certainly exposed to those limitations, and the hotel is quite a walk from much of what we wanted to see there. The city also happened to turn on some really foul weather while we were there. On tour, some days we had too much of the 'coach'. The day that particularly applies to was when we went on the Taieri Gorge rail excursion, but we were brought back from the halfway point (Pukeringa) by mini-bus, which was driven as though it was a racing car. After about two hours of that, then another four hours or so on the APT coach to Te Anau we were glad to get off the roads. Another hour or so and I am sure there would have been quite a few people maybe bringing up their lunches. We had a good driver and a good tour manager. Te Anau and Queenstown were great. And we got to see Mount Cook clearly. We had a fantastic hotel room there with views of the changing mountain/cloudscape. The train trip from Arthur's Pass to Christchurch was not as wonderful as I thought it was going to be. That was probably affected by the train being an hour late (because of the heat-affected tracks) and by the degree of cold as we got to within an hour of Christchurch--with the clouds having descended, making visibility very poor. By the end of the tour we were glad to be off the coach.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 27/01/2016
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand

    The pace and the coach were nice. I loved the freedom of choice options - it cost more but provided flexibity for a tour group that had a couple of teenagers to individuals into their late 70s. My only frustration was that I chose that tour due to a visit to Hobbiton and due to the holidays it was closed and I didn't find out until 28 November - 3 weeks after I had to pay for the tour. There were about 15 people on the tour in the same situation. One good thing is that since we were all so disappointed - the tour guide helped those of interested to get a LOTR tour in Wellington which included Weta studios. That was great, but since it was not included in the original set of freedom of choice options it did cost extra but it was a cool tour.

    I recommend that you inform individuals that there are opportunities to do laundry and pack as little as possible due to weight and number of bag restrictions on flights and buses. Bring a great camera with an extra battery and storage. Those that tried to get by on smart phones or tablets ran out of storage space and had to start deleted apps but in two cases it didn't work and they were very disappointed. Only half of the hotels offered unlimited wireless the rest were pay or receive 20 mins free in lobby and often Internet was slow. All that said - it was a great trip and the pace worked out well staying in two nights in most places and all the countryside was gorgeous. It was pretty relaxing overall.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 19/12/2014
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand

    Jan, our tour guide and Rob, our coach driver, worked so well together that they made our tour very informative and smooth. The trip was a pleasure. This was the best way to see New Zealand.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 10/01/2014
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 9 Day Southern Tourer 9 Day Southern Tourer

    Most enjoyable and informative. A great tour group, the tour guide and the coach driver were fantastic. Spectacular landscape with the appropriate commentaries made it memorable. A diverse group of people with a similar aim to visit a new country/region , learn the culture, meet other people and enjoy. Thank you.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 29/12/2013
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 14 Day New Zealand Highlighter 14 Day New Zealand Highlighter

    We had the most wonderful trip around stunningly beautiful New Zealand - while I appreciate that APT can't take credit for the fabulous scenery and beautiful weather we enjoyed, your amazing staff, from Mani in the office, to the wonderfully capable and caring Laurel and Mark in whose safe hands we were escorted around the country definitely deserve heaps of credit for enriching and enhancing a fabulous trip. I have two recommendations: keep your amazing staff but please get a bigger coach or put fewer people on it.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 26/11/2013
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 14 Day New Zealand Highlighter 14 Day New Zealand Highlighter

    We had a wonderful holiday. The whole tour was well organised. We enjoyed the 'freedom of choice' tours. Nick Hart our courier was very helpful and patient organising the large group. David McGregor our driver was very pleasant, prompt and always made sure the coach was spotlessly clean. He also managed all the luggage with ease.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 07/05/2013
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 12 Day Scenic Sights 12 Day Scenic Sights

    The tour was very good. The guide, Lyn, was excellent and also the driver. We would recommend this to anyone.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 02/02/2013
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 14 Day New Zealand Highlighter 14 Day New Zealand Highlighter

    The tour was lovely. Negatives: The title on the itinerary for the first day was confusing about whether dinner was included. A few hotels were disappointments. I would have preferred departing earlier each day in order to have more time at the sites. I was disappointed with the Scottish night. Personally, I would have liked more bagpipes and Scottish entertainment and less poetry. Positives: Laurel, tour manager, and Rob, driver, were excellent and very professional. Some of the hotels were a treat. We were assigned an apartment in Queenstown that was so lovely that we returned to the hetel early in order to enjoy the rooms and view. Milford Sound was the highlight of the trip for me. The beauty of the fiord, the excellent dinner, and the rain the next day that produced all the waterfalls were all perfect. This was my second trip to New Zealand, and while we returned to some locations I had toured before, I saw different places and things. The variety was enjoyable and interesting. I enjoyed the times we met with friends who live in New Zealand. Kirby was very helpful in getting information for me to arrange meeting these friends and in answering all my questions.

    - 08/11/2011
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand

    It was a trip of a lifetime. We were able to see the entire country and had many pleasent experiences. The tour guide and bus driver was a real plus. They knew the country side and were able to tell us many stories about your country. I have to say that this was the best coach trips we have ever taken. During our visit we were able to see the opening of the World Cup of Rugby. Being from the United States and never understanding what the game was all about, we became overnight fans and were able to see one of the matches on the trip. Our tour guide was able to take care of the entire process for us. I would highly recommend the NZ Wanderer for people who really want to experience New Zealand and the great people who live there.

    - 10/09/2011
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand

    We thought the tour went very well, especially given the difficult circumstances at the beginning with last minute hotel changes and so on due to the quake. The only disappointment was the weather in the Bay of Islands, but we won't hold you responsible for that! The tour manager, Laurie, and driver, Ian, were especially good, funny, helpful and informative.

    - 09/03/2011
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand

    Thank you for this opportunity to express our views on the tour. We had a wonderful time on our tour overall, some places and meals better than others but nothing that was absolutely awful. We really enjoyed the itinerary although we have decided if we come back that maybe a longer tour that incorpoates some more rest days may be better. However I think we both found the staff and the people in general were so helpful everywhere that we went. The scenery was spectacular and I have so many pictures to paint I don't know where to start. We would like to say a very special thank you to our tour director Barry Owen who's commentary and anecdotes made everything so very interesting and especially for all his patience when things got so chaotic after the eartquake at Christchurch. Also to our driver Royal from Johnsons who was an amazing driver all the time but excelled himself when getting us out of the earthquake area. APT did a magnificent job of getting us accommodation at short notice when we missed our flights and Air New Zealand pulled out all the stops to get us home. We really cannot thank everyone enough. Please could you pass on these thanks to the relevant people. It was certainly a holiday that we will never forget for so many reasons and we look forward to travelling with you again, as we intend to go to Australia in 2013.

    - 06/02/2011
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand

    We really enjoyed the trip, with a great tour guide, Glynnis, and Denny our driver. Denny and I shared the vietnam experience as combat vets...so got along famously. After getting home i realized that we may have had the same commanding officer. The itinerary was great , scenery even better, and the options what we wanted. The reason that we took this particular trip was that many of the activities were optional, and as i had been a military pilot , had already been whalewatching, jetboating, diving etc. Some of the 'main events' did not interest us, yet it covered the country and gave us choices. (we opted for a wine tour instead of bungee jumping etc). New Zealand had been on my bucket list since serving with anzus forces in vietnam. Highlights for us were the Bay of Islands, Maori culture, Milford Sound, Mt Cook, and I would have to say, Picton also. I thank you for the input to stay an extra day on each end. Some potential improvements - we had expected more fresh fruit for breakfast, with New Zealand being the garden nation. We had lots of tinned fruits, but much fewer fresh ones. Real eggs were a treat vs the processed scrambled variety. The full British breakfast was pretty much the same every morning and something we were not really used to , so maybe an american thing :) On the positive, I love lamb shanks, and had some great meals of them, done up right. All in all pleased with your people, and tours. Keep it up. I would recommend to others. Our best wishes, and hope that none of your people were hurt in Christchurch, we left there 4 days before the quake. Our heart goes out to them.

    - 29/01/2011
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand

    Our trip in New Zealand was wonderful. Both the coach driver, Dennis and the tour guide, Arthur, were amazingly knowledgeable and gave us a real insight into the way of life in NZ. We learnt so much about your beautiful country, hotels were good and very good and food mostly good too. Many thanks for a memorable and relaxing holiday.

    - 24/12/2010
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 14 Day New Zealand Highlighter 14 Day New Zealand Highlighter

    There was definitely too much travelling per day on this tour although I appreciate we saw a lot. Our guide was phenomenal and made the tour both instructive and interesting. It would have been better to have spent a bit more time at some sites, for example at the caves and agrorama. I was disappointed with some of the hotels which only had one double and one single bed not two doubles. The tour did give the opportunity to see places which would be good to revisit and maybe that is the purpose of the tour.

    - 07/12/2010
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand

    Kia Ora! We had one of the most memorable trips!! Very good accomodations and coach driver! Of course, Laurel MacDonald was FABULOUS!! Always there when you needed her and full of extra information about the country and the people. Very responsible, and responsive individual who made us feel right at home in her country. We have already told a lot of our friends to book thru 'Relaxing Jouneys' and of course to talk to Craig! Thank you for giving us a marvelous experience in beautiful New Zealand!! We Loved it!!

    - 09/04/2010
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand

    Where do I start, the South Island is incredible! We had such a fantastic time on our tour, the hotels were good, food was good, only a couple of minor issues that were easily sorted. The organisation and the itinerary were well planned and we managed to do a couple of extra things too. We had a great driver, Paul, who is part Maori. He was able to give us a good insight into his culture and he was able to give us a balanced view too. The only drawback was in some places we did not have enough time, but this is not the fault of the tour, it is because to spend enough time in each place you would have to spend more than the 19 days on the tour! The tour is supposed to be an overview and it did that. All it means is we have to go back to New Zealand to spend more time there, which I for one, am happy with!

    - 10/02/2010
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand

    I had been thinking for the last few days that I should drop you a line about our trip and then I received your e-mail. It was a wonderful adventure and all the things that we saw are things we will never forget. From Napier and their art deco days to the glow worm caves, the Bay of Islands, Dunedin and a wonderful evening with bagpipes and the story about the haggis and how it tasted, the Hangi feast and the Maori culture and performance of their traditional dances. Another thing that made our trip was our coach driver, Paul Brown. He made the trip so interesting with all his knowledge about the Maori people and all the little things that you would never know about, if you were traveling by yourself. I have heard that a lot of the coach drivers don't talk about the culture and facts about New Zealand the way Paul Brown does. We never had a day go by that he didn't tell us about the countyside we were traveling thru. I just can't say enough about him. All the other people on the coach felt the same way. Our accommodations were very good and the people were always accommodating to us. If any one ever asks who we went thru, I would recommend your agency at the top of the list. Thanks for the good times and all of the memories.

    - 10/02/2010
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand

    This was a fantastic trip in every respect. We broke up our travel to NZ so that we would not be exhausted when we arrived. When we arrived we were met and taken to our hotel which was for the most part representative of our entire tour - the accommodations, service and meals were great. The optional touring was excellent although we felt that an extra day in some locations would have allowed us to do more. This was particularly true of Christchurch where we had to drop off folks for the TranzAlpine railway and prevented us from arriving at noon hour and we had to leave again the next morning - one more day in Christchurch would have been nice. The driver and tour guide were both outstanding in making the tour an absolutely wonderful experience - every detail was arranged - the tour guide and the driver even arranged golfing outings for 2 of us when we had free time. The friends we met on the tour made you look forward to each new day and each evening at dinner with anticipation and excitement. I had an apprehension about a 3 week bus tour but it exceded expectations. If we were to do the tour by car it would have taken at least 2 months to see the places and do the things we did.

    - 08/02/2010
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand

    The holiday far and away exceeded my highest expectations, right from the airport/hotel transfers, down to the professionalism of the tour manager and excellent driving of the coach driver. Helped very much too by the weather, which was on the whole very good. Only 2 days rain, in what has been a very poor summer by New Zealand standards. My only criticism would be with the dinners. Not so much the quality of the food, but having paid for premium plus we were more often than not offered a set menu, rather than the full a la carte menu and initially tea/coffee was not included. On the couple of times we did complain, we were met with profuse apologies and did get the full a la carte menu. Last it would of been nice to spend an extra day in Christchurch - maybe extending the tour by 1 day.

    - 25/01/2010
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 9 Day Southern Tourer 9 Day Southern Tourer

    We had a fantastic trip!! From the start to finish everything ran smoothly, although getting up at 6am and on the coach by 7.30 was sometimes a struggle after the previous full day and late night. But I do understand that to fit everything in, it needed to be that way. The guide, Blackie and the coach driver, Steve were brilliant. Very informative and they really knew about their country. All in all a memorable experience which we will be repeating soon! AMAZING!

    - 28/12/2009
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand

    Never mind an essay - it would be easy to write a BOOK!!! This was, quite honestly, the most amazing trip I have ever taken and, let's be honest, probably ever WILL take. From the very start - via email - Craig was helpful, encouraging and -in the face of several last minute changes - eternally patient and efficient. His organisational skills were exemplary and laid the foundations for the eventual tour. I very quickly discovered that New Zealand is - no question - the most amazingly beautiful country on Earth! From the tropical balmy sun of the Bay of Islands, via the Maori mysticism of Cape Reinga to Auckland and its islands, then Rotorua and all the geothermal magic, experiences of stunning significance bowled me over. The Art Deco pizzazz of Napier was wonderful as was the wine of Hawkes Bay! Then to stylish, windy Wellington and across Cook Strait to Picton, South Island and the wine area of Marlborough. Kaikoura's whale watch was unmissable as was the TransAlpine Express from Christchurch to Greymouth. Then the west coast would provide Hokitika jade, helicopter trips onto the glaciers and jet-boat river trips - exciting and unmissable. Queenstown provided exhilarating opportunites on land and water but the highlight of so many highlights would come when I spent the night on a boat in Milford Sound - a truly magnificent and spiritual place of dolphins, fur seals, crested penguins and mind-numbing mists and sunsets! Finally via Scottish Dunedin and stunning Mount Cook back to Christchurch, the Garden City, and finally home. If I HAD to find one fault with my life-changing tour then it was.. the tour was much too short!!! My sincere thanks to ALL, including the tour guide, Lynn, and driver, Steve, who were superb!

    - 07/11/2009
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 12 Day Scenic Sights 12 Day Scenic Sights

    New Zealand was beautiful, amazingly beautiful. Our tour was perfect. Peter Birks, our tour guide and Mark Johnson, our driver, were both very professional, knowledgeable, and caring. The hotels were very nice, especially the Queenstown Sofitel, the Te Waonui Forest Retreat in Te Anau, and the Hotel InterContinental in Wellington. Many other hotels had perfect locations, such as the Hermitage in Mt Cook National Park. The evening meals were excellent (the lobster at the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross in quaint Dunedin was superb) as well as the comprehensive tour activities included. Would highly recommend this tour.

    - 03/11/2009
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 12 Day Scenic Sights 12 Day Scenic Sights

    Thank you so much Craig and the team who organised my parents tour around New Zealand. They have quite high expectations and your tour met them all!. They truley loved all aspects from the food/accommodation, to the coach and of course the scenery. They felt very secure and relaxed in the hands of the coach driver and tour host. To Craig at Relaxing Journeys, you made everything so easy and your service was always prompt and reliable. I am so impressed and my parents have a lifetime of memories. Your service could not have been any better.

    - 11/09/2009
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 9 Day Great Northerner 9 Day Great Northerner

    It was a very nice tour. I got to meet people of differing backgrounds and I was well-treated. I liked the optional offers and most importantly for a lone traveller, I never felt alone once. So, overall, it was well worthwhile, especially, when you do not know where to cover on your own in New Zealand.

    - 16/06/2009
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 9 Day Great Northerner 9 Day Great Northerner

    Words cannot do justice to this fabulous tour. From the moment of my booking, I've had personalised service with Relaxing Journeys. The actual tour was just brilliant. Every detail was taken care of, the tour guide and the driver were exceptional. And the scenery was just breathtaking. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone who wants a hassle-free, fully escorted tour.

    - 19/05/2009
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 12 Day Scenic Sights 12 Day Scenic Sights

    The total trip went beautifully without any problem. Georgie Walpole was great in finding a tour which met our date requirements, all the flights were on time believe it or not, and the weather was perfect with great temperatures and sun most of the time even on the west coast. The clouds even cleared just long enough for us to get a good view of Mount Cook. The tour director and coach driver were organized, respectful, informative, and humorous. The other people on the tour were also delightful and fun. This was our first escorted tour and it couldn't have been better! Thank you very much for your service.

    - 16/04/2009
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 9 Day Great Northerner 9 Day Great Northerner

    I liked my tour very much and your country is very beautiful. I think that my enjoyment was enhanced greatly by the two lovely people in your employment - Glenys Shum and Peter (I forgot his last name). They were very professional and always making sure that everything run smoothly. They were also very courteous and very pleasant - I couldn't ask for better guide and driver. I would not hesitate in recommending your company to other people and will definitely consider using your company again should the opportunity arises.

    - 19/03/2009
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 9 Day Southern Tourer 9 Day Southern Tourer

    My wife and I were very satisfied with our tour of South Island New Zealand. The quality of Hotels and 'exclusive experiences' was excellent and our tour leader, Laurel and our Coach Driver, Paul, added greatly to our enjoyment. One suggestion we would make, however, is that when people are joining a tour, it would be beneficial to host a welcome meeting with all tourer's present. We joined an existing tour and it took a few days to get to know the others, who had been on the tour of the North Island for over a week. We had a wonderful time in New Zealand and would have no hesitation in using your Relaxing Journeys again or recommending you to others. Thank you.

    - 15/03/2009
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 9 Day Southern Tourer 9 Day Southern Tourer

    We had a delightful time in New Zealand. The tour was everything we expected. We would recommend the trip to anyone. Our tour director Berry and driver Brendan, with APT were very good, and are to be commended for a job well done. The accommodations were adequate with the exception of Franz Josef. We did make that known to Berry. Your company did an outstanding job. Everyone was very professional and friendly.

    - 17/02/2009
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand

    People make holidays, so a BIG thank you to Craig, for all your help on the internet booking. Everything went as planned. Our tour guide & driver were excellent. We enjoyed our 2 day stays the most. We saw so much & I think it would be better if possible, pricewise to make more 2 day stop overs. The long ferry delay to the South Island & the subsequent cancellation of the evening events was disappointing. However, it was a brilliant tour of NZ. Thank you.

    - 28/01/2009
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand 18 Day Royal Tourer New Zealand

    This is a short note to thank you for all your help organising our holiday in New Zealand. Everything went like clockwork, and it was good not to have to worry any arrangements. APT staff were very helpful and in the three weeks we covered over 2,500 miles, which made us very glad we used the coach rather than do it by self driving. We could never have covered so much so efficiently in such a short time. Your country is the most magnificent we have ever visited. Every day brought new sights or experiences that we will never forget.

    - 29/11/2008