New Zealand Small Group Tours Reviews

Small Group Tours

109 New Zealand Small Group Tours Reviews

4.8/5.0

4.8 out of 5 based on 109 user reviews.

Overall Tour Rating
Value For Money
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Relaxing Journeys Experience

Filter By:

Reviews

5
LOTR Tour
03/09/2018
I can not praise Relaxing Journeys and Red Carpet Tours enough! I have had the most wonderful holiday and one that I will never forget. Toni and Mani were extremely helpful before The trip and Julie from Red Carpet Tours worked tirelessly to make the tour an unforgettable experience. I was quite anxious as a solo traveller but the Fellowship bonded very quickly as we shared this fantastic experience together. I would highly recommend this tour to anybody but especially those who love Lord of The Rings and The Hobbit films.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
03/09/2018
Absolutely loved this holiday. The LOTR tour felt a lot longer than two weeks, there was so much to see and do. The group I was with were fantastic too - we all got on really well. Julie @RCT is a star - she worked so hard to ensure everything went smoothly. I can't wait to head back to New Zealand - still so much more to explore.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
22/04/2018
Small group and Ultimate Coach, the only way to travel. The tour beyond our expectations and our driver/guide/"nanny", Davis Underwood was the very best with a wealth of knowledge, wonderful sense of humor and an excellent driver to boot. Both islands are stunning and we were very happy with the selected optional tours.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
15/04/2018
Outstanding tour. Saw NZ from top to bottom. Paul an excellent driver and guide. Meals and hotels quite good overall. Lots of driving involved but the elegant coach made it quite comfortable. With only 20 people, everyone became pretty friendly during trip.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
31/03/2018
Loved the tour. Would recommend it. Everything was taken care of with no worries for us. Only complaint would be the audio system on the coach. The driver was hard to understand. Also would like to see shades that pull down from the top of the window to block the sun in the early morning and late afternoon or if that's not possible some window tinting at the top. Not crazy about the three buffets. The food was excellent in the hotels with the exception of the Distinction in Dunedin. The hotel itself in Dunedin was superior but the food did not live up to the rest of the hotel. The tours were all handled very well. We felt very welcome in the country. Again, we loved the tour and would highly recommend it.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Small Group Tour
24/03/2018
Well put together tour. Many quality inclusions, nice hotels and every day well prepared highlights and places of interest to visit. Coach driver Kevin was fantastic while the small group (14) contributed to a very "relaxing journey".
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
3
Small Group Tour
21/03/2018
Good safe driver . Think having a choice of things to do on a couple of stops would make the tour better for most. For example not everyone is interested in wine tasting etc . We were delivered to our hotel in Rotorua around lunch time so it would have been nice to have a quick tour around that town instead of leaving the next day having seen nothing except the cultural centre, which was lovely. But having said this we were happy to have done the tour. Cheers.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
15/03/2018
We had a great time touring your country. The people are very friendly and happy. We highly recommend the Ultimate Tour with Grand Pacific. Paul was our coach driver, and he did an excellent job. The coach was very nice, and with only 20 people in the group it created a more relaxing atmosphere for the various daily activities. Toni, thanks for all your help.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
12/03/2018
LOTR 15 day tour is fantastic! This is the 2nd time we've been on the tour. If you are a LOTR fan this is definitely the tour for you! Julie, our tour guide was amazing! We plan on doing it for a 3rd time in a coupe of years! We highly recommended the LOTR 15 day tour! Relaxing Journeys is top notch! We've used them to plan two of our holidays to New Zealand and we will use them again when we return in a couple of years. We highly recommend them.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Small Group Tour
18/02/2018
This was our first ever escorted tour, and much of it was superb. Pre-trip arrangements through Marie were great. The Kirra trip captain was outstanding, the accommodations were excellent (except for a couple) and the included meals were over the top (again, with an exception or two). An introductory dinner on night 1 would have been helpful, as well as a listing of tour participants - perhaps just names and where from. Kirra Tours letter indicated a morning get-together for breakfast and a briefing on Day 2, but there was none-- only "please board the bus" and then a 1 minute intro of trip captain. Internet service was extremely spotty at a couple of locations. 18 days on a coach became quite weary, particularly those days with a lot of driving and not much else. Thought the nights in Hanmer Springs and Martinsborough were somewhat ho-hum. Not much to do in either. Also thought the Taieri Gorge railway excursion was overrated-- 4 hours on a slow train for 20 minutes of scenery; would have rather had time to explore Dunedin more. Thought the Maori experience in Rotorua was much too touristy and commercialized. Good meal, but a cattle car experience. High points were Doubtful Sound, Mt. Cook, catamaran sail on Lake Rotoiti, and Hobbiton. 2 nights in major cities also appreciated. All in all 9 out of 10. Definitely would recommend to others.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
22/01/2018
For a luxury tour the coach provided was sub-standard. The seats were not particularly comfortable, had limited adjustment and no cup-holders. On the only day it rained, fortunately just the last one, it leaked badly on both sides of the aisle. As we were 13 on a 20 seater people were able to move to dry seats. I hope it was changed in Christchurch for the second NI part of the tour.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
21/01/2018
Kevin our tour captain made the trip. Very knowledgeable about the history, geology, social issues, you name it, he could tell you about it.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
14/11/2017
Great way to see the country in a small group (less than 20 people), but using a full sized coach that is adapted for this number.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
01/11/2017
Don't change anything. Perfect as is.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
21/10/2017
The trip was well organized, the driver (and host) was friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable. The lodging and events were just wonderful. I feel we got a very thorough look at this beautiful country.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
04/09/2017
This tour is set up to cater for hard core Tolkien Fans. I wouldn't recommend this tour to someone with a casual or interest or who has just watched the movies. It is an expensive tour, but it is worth the money you pay.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
09/03/2017
The Grand Pacific Ultimate NZ Small Group Tour was exceptional. The coach was spacious and very comfortable. In fact, someone from a non-ultimate tour asked to look at our coach and described it as a \"Rolls-Royce\" compared to their coach. The itinerary was also terrific - almost everything we did could be the \"best part\" of an overall fantastic 19-days. We had a great time and are so glad we choose a small group ultimate tour. The accommodations and meals were also magnificent.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
06/03/2017
Relaxing Journeys made my booking so easy and painless. Toni is VERY helpful and was in constant contact with me and was patient with all my many questions. Red Carpet Tours for the LOTR is an exceptional group. Julie is the best tour guide I've ever had. She made the whole experience more personal with her knowledge and passion for LOTR. It felt like a very exclusive tour because she took us in remote areas that would not be available elsewhere. We ate like Hobbits and was thoroughly entertained nonstop throughout the tour. You don't have to a mega fan of LOTR to enjoy all that NZ has to offer. But if you are fan, this tour will enhance your Middle-earth experience tenfold. I highly recommend this tour and booking from Relaxing Journeys.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
06/03/2017
A wonderful tour to see the diversity and beauty of the South Island, with the added extra to experience Stewart Island.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
05/03/2017
The tour was an amazing experience, it was well worth the price. The locations were gorgeous and the people were lovely. Our tour felt more like an in depth look at both the Lord of the Rings movies and New Zealand itself because our tour guide knew so many of the local people. Overall it was everything I hoped for and more and I would definitely do it again.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
04/03/2017
The tour was even better than I thought it was going to be. The service was excellent and Julie, our tour guide, was enthusiastic and took great care of us. Everywhere we went was an outstanding experience and there optional activities we could take advantage of. Marie from Relaxing Journeys, my tour consultant, did a great job. She always answered my questions and provided good advice and answers no matter how many questions I submitted. I am very happy with Relaxing Journeys and Red Carpet Tours. I would definitely recommend both. There are no words to describe how wonderful and unique this experience was. I didn't want to leave!
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Small Group Tour
14/02/2017
Group size of 15 to 16 was excellent. I was very pleased with coach captain. Some others were expecting us to have tour leader as well. Loads of room on the coaches. We had a new design with 2 and 1 configuration seat configuration was very popular on South Island. Coach Captain (Andrew) had not done this tour before but he did well under the circumstances. Most of the included meals were very good. Exceptional food at Raetihi Lodge, all vineyards and Mount Cook. Least liked hotel room by most was Novotel in Rotorua. Raetihi was the best accommodation. Would be good to get Kaikoura back on itinerary as soon as possible. Hanmer springs was ok. Most were expecting or hoping for a lake view in Queenstown. No one got this and it really upset a few on the group. I paid for my own very expensive upgrade. Heritage in Queenstown charged me a dollar per room to room call. Never had that happen anywhere before. Many of those on the tour were retired and not always self starters so more optional activities need to be advised in Napier and Mt Cook besides what is on the itinerary. First three days the weather was not very good but thereafter it was fine. Tour should advise what clothing to bring plus bug repellent. It was cooler than some expected. All in all a great tour with a really good coach captain.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
10/02/2017
I had a fascinating and enjoyable holiday owing to Relaxing Journeys and particularly special mention and great thanks go to Toni, who directed me through a long process of booking this tour and was exceptionally helpful and understanding. The Ultimate Rail, Cruise & Coach Experience was absolutely Ultimate. The coach was the star of this tour, very comfortable, clean and luxurious. The tour captain, Paul was a careful driver, excellent organizer and a knowledgeable guide. A helpful and good companion during this tour. The accommodation with one exception was of the highest standard, the highlight was The Regent of Rotorua with thermal mineral pool, the very place to rest after a busy sightseeing day. Exceptional were also The George hotel in Christchurch and Distinction Dunedin, both luxurious and also providing free of charge laundry facilities. In all hotels WiFi was free. Evening meals at hotels were excellent, beautifully served and very tasty. Breakfast mostly English style, a little too heavy for me, non-English European, but highly appreciated by my Australian and British companions. Luggage handling was very efficient, all transfers smooth and easy. Many times we could feel very exceptional, being greeted by hotel management, having complimentary drinks or special happy hours. We were a group of 19, Aussies, British, Canadians and me, from Poland. We quickly made a friendly team, everyone had a good time on the tour. Although summertime, it was quite rainy and cold but did not spoil our fun. I found New Zealand a fascinating country, so unspoiled nature, so clean air and pure water and breathtaking scenery. Friendly, warm people, ready to help any time. Most of the inclusions I found very interesting, though I expected more walking than sitting on a bus coach. However, the distances were enormous (we drove nearly 4000 km in 19 days), so this time no time for wandering in the wilderness. But the highlights were the optional attractions, the highlight was helicopter flight with landing over the Fox and Franz Joseph Glaciers, so spectacular, a float plane flight over the Mount Tarawera Volcano and a visit to Skippers Canyon, complete wilderness and scenery from the Lord of Rings! New Zealand was much more than I expected. I highly recommend Grand Pacific and Relaxing Journeys Small Group Ultimate Tours.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
16/01/2017
This trip was certainly a wonderful experience. We had no major glitches at all and every detail was planned. Our tour guide, Katie Hunter, was exceptional. She was very responsive to our every need and took it in stride when plans had to be changed due to poor weather conditions. She had a wealth of knowledge about the places we traveled and included so many wonderful stories. Her cheerful \"Kia Ora\" started us off each day. She did an outstanding job on all accounts. We're sure Katie took care of things behind the scene we never even knew about. Our bus driver, Shelley, was also just wonderful. We felt very safe in her care, in spite of slick, wet, narrow and winding roads. She even had to back up to let another bus pass when we met on a very tight curve and did so with expertise & calmness. She had a cheerful attitude as well and shared some of her stories with us. She kept the bus clean and kept us on schedule. She and Katie worked very well together even though they just met for the first time on this trip. We enjoyed all the places we stopped at and the diversity was simply amazing. Wish we would have had more time in many of the places we traveled. The accommodations were all first class as were the meals included with the tour. The extra excursion choices were well rounded and there was something for everyone. Really liked traveling with such a small group. Don't think we ever got bored.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
16/01/2017
Tour Guide and Driver: Katie was the best. We were never bored; she always had a story to tell about every place we passed thru. Most importantly, she was present every time a person went or came back from an activity that we paid extra for. Her \"mother hen\" monitoring made sure we always got on the right bus and she made sure we made it okay back from the activity. After a day-long activity in Paihia, we looked pretty bushed so she asked if we were okay. We told her the bus was not air-conditioned. She was surprised. The next day, she assisted in getting us some free ferry tickets as an accommodation for the lack of a/c. Shelly was marvelous. We always felt safe and were amazed at where she could take our coach. When she provided her occasional commentary, she spoke as professionally as Katie. She came to know every one of us and we enjoyed spending time with her, especially at dinner. Hotels: all were excellent, very high end. In some locations, such as Franz Josef and Punakaiki, this was okay because we were in out of the way spots. However, we really didn't need quite so much luxury in places like Auckland and Christchurch. In Queenstown, I did not like staying at a place that was so far from Queenstown and I know the hotel had to be very expensive. I would like to see you cut back on the lavishness of some of the hotels. Note: the night on the Milford Sound was WELL worth it. Pace: You've heard it before: many times we would have liked to have been able to stay longer at some spots. If the itinerary could be modified to allow just 15 minutes more at the shorter stops (I don't mean the quick photo stops - those can still be quick) that would be great. I see no reason for having two full free days in Queenstown, one would be sufficient. I would like to see an extra day in Rotorua. Meals: All provided meals were very good to excellent. The food variety was quite good. Sometimes, however, the restaurant staff at the dinners were quite slow in keeping up with things like drink refills. Still, overall the dining times were always something to look forward to.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

Results 1-25 of 109

Next Page