New Zealand Small Group Tours Reviews

Small Group Tours

112 New Zealand Small Group Tours Reviews

4.8/5.0

4.8 out of 5 based on 112 user reviews.

Overall Tour Rating
Value For Money
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Relaxing Journeys Experience

Filter By:

Reviews

4
Small Group Tour
30/12/2018
Hate the early morning starts but realise that's part and parcel of a coach tour. There's a lot to see over the course of a day and we covered a lot of ground.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
05/12/2018
When people ask us how was our New Zealand tour, we say "special". We came away feeling this was the best way to see the two islands of New Zealand in 16 days. Dave, our tour guide, was knowledgeable, organized and personable. We would highly recommend the small group tour- the bus was comfortable and each person had a window seat. As this was our first tour, we thought it would have been nice to have more 2 night stays and will take this into consideration in the future.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Small Group Tour
28/10/2018
A fast paced tour. Overall excellent, but the service in two hotels was poor, one of which was located out further out of town than we liked.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
03/09/2018
Absolutely loved this holiday. The LOTR tour felt a lot longer than two weeks, there was so much to see and do. The group I was with were fantastic too - we all got on really well. Julie @RCT is a star - she worked so hard to ensure everything went smoothly. I can't wait to head back to New Zealand - still so much more to explore.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
03/09/2018
I can not praise Relaxing Journeys and Red Carpet Tours enough! I have had the most wonderful holiday and one that I will never forget. Toni and Mani were extremely helpful before The trip and Julie from Red Carpet Tours worked tirelessly to make the tour an unforgettable experience. I was quite anxious as a solo traveller but the Fellowship bonded very quickly as we shared this fantastic experience together. I would highly recommend this tour to anybody but especially those who love Lord of The Rings and The Hobbit films.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
22/04/2018
Small group and Ultimate Coach, the only way to travel. The tour beyond our expectations and our driver/guide/"nanny", Davis Underwood was the very best with a wealth of knowledge, wonderful sense of humor and an excellent driver to boot. Both islands are stunning and we were very happy with the selected optional tours.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
15/04/2018
Outstanding tour. Saw NZ from top to bottom. Paul an excellent driver and guide. Meals and hotels quite good overall. Lots of driving involved but the elegant coach made it quite comfortable. With only 20 people, everyone became pretty friendly during trip.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
31/03/2018
Loved the tour. Would recommend it. Everything was taken care of with no worries for us. Only complaint would be the audio system on the coach. The driver was hard to understand. Also would like to see shades that pull down from the top of the window to block the sun in the early morning and late afternoon or if that's not possible some window tinting at the top. Not crazy about the three buffets. The food was excellent in the hotels with the exception of the Distinction in Dunedin. The hotel itself in Dunedin was superior but the food did not live up to the rest of the hotel. The tours were all handled very well. We felt very welcome in the country. Again, we loved the tour and would highly recommend it.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Small Group Tour
24/03/2018
Well put together tour. Many quality inclusions, nice hotels and every day well prepared highlights and places of interest to visit. Coach driver Kevin was fantastic while the small group (14) contributed to a very "relaxing journey".
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
3
Small Group Tour
21/03/2018
Good safe driver . Think having a choice of things to do on a couple of stops would make the tour better for most. For example not everyone is interested in wine tasting etc . We were delivered to our hotel in Rotorua around lunch time so it would have been nice to have a quick tour around that town instead of leaving the next day having seen nothing except the cultural centre, which was lovely. But having said this we were happy to have done the tour. Cheers.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
15/03/2018
We had a great time touring your country. The people are very friendly and happy. We highly recommend the Ultimate Tour with Grand Pacific. Paul was our coach driver, and he did an excellent job. The coach was very nice, and with only 20 people in the group it created a more relaxing atmosphere for the various daily activities. Toni, thanks for all your help.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
12/03/2018
LOTR 15 day tour is fantastic! This is the 2nd time we've been on the tour. If you are a LOTR fan this is definitely the tour for you! Julie, our tour guide was amazing! We plan on doing it for a 3rd time in a coupe of years! We highly recommended the LOTR 15 day tour! Relaxing Journeys is top notch! We've used them to plan two of our holidays to New Zealand and we will use them again when we return in a couple of years. We highly recommend them.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Small Group Tour
18/02/2018
This was our first ever escorted tour, and much of it was superb. Pre-trip arrangements through Marie were great. The Kirra trip captain was outstanding, the accommodations were excellent (except for a couple) and the included meals were over the top (again, with an exception or two). An introductory dinner on night 1 would have been helpful, as well as a listing of tour participants - perhaps just names and where from. Kirra Tours letter indicated a morning get-together for breakfast and a briefing on Day 2, but there was none-- only "please board the bus" and then a 1 minute intro of trip captain. Internet service was extremely spotty at a couple of locations. 18 days on a coach became quite weary, particularly those days with a lot of driving and not much else. Thought the nights in Hanmer Springs and Martinsborough were somewhat ho-hum. Not much to do in either. Also thought the Taieri Gorge railway excursion was overrated-- 4 hours on a slow train for 20 minutes of scenery; would have rather had time to explore Dunedin more. Thought the Maori experience in Rotorua was much too touristy and commercialized. Good meal, but a cattle car experience. High points were Doubtful Sound, Mt. Cook, catamaran sail on Lake Rotoiti, and Hobbiton. 2 nights in major cities also appreciated. All in all 9 out of 10. Definitely would recommend to others.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
22/01/2018
For a luxury tour the coach provided was sub-standard. The seats were not particularly comfortable, had limited adjustment and no cup-holders. On the only day it rained, fortunately just the last one, it leaked badly on both sides of the aisle. As we were 13 on a 20 seater people were able to move to dry seats. I hope it was changed in Christchurch for the second NI part of the tour.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
21/01/2018
Kevin our tour captain made the trip. Very knowledgeable about the history, geology, social issues, you name it, he could tell you about it.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
14/11/2017
Great way to see the country in a small group (less than 20 people), but using a full sized coach that is adapted for this number.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
01/11/2017
Don't change anything. Perfect as is.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
21/10/2017
The trip was well organized, the driver (and host) was friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable. The lodging and events were just wonderful. I feel we got a very thorough look at this beautiful country.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
04/09/2017
This tour is set up to cater for hard core Tolkien Fans. I wouldn't recommend this tour to someone with a casual or interest or who has just watched the movies. It is an expensive tour, but it is worth the money you pay.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
09/03/2017
The Grand Pacific Ultimate NZ Small Group Tour was exceptional. The coach was spacious and very comfortable. In fact, someone from a non-ultimate tour asked to look at our coach and described it as a \"Rolls-Royce\" compared to their coach. The itinerary was also terrific - almost everything we did could be the \"best part\" of an overall fantastic 19-days. We had a great time and are so glad we choose a small group ultimate tour. The accommodations and meals were also magnificent.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
06/03/2017
Relaxing Journeys made my booking so easy and painless. Toni is VERY helpful and was in constant contact with me and was patient with all my many questions. Red Carpet Tours for the LOTR is an exceptional group. Julie is the best tour guide I've ever had. She made the whole experience more personal with her knowledge and passion for LOTR. It felt like a very exclusive tour because she took us in remote areas that would not be available elsewhere. We ate like Hobbits and was thoroughly entertained nonstop throughout the tour. You don't have to a mega fan of LOTR to enjoy all that NZ has to offer. But if you are fan, this tour will enhance your Middle-earth experience tenfold. I highly recommend this tour and booking from Relaxing Journeys.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
06/03/2017
A wonderful tour to see the diversity and beauty of the South Island, with the added extra to experience Stewart Island.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
05/03/2017
The tour was an amazing experience, it was well worth the price. The locations were gorgeous and the people were lovely. Our tour felt more like an in depth look at both the Lord of the Rings movies and New Zealand itself because our tour guide knew so many of the local people. Overall it was everything I hoped for and more and I would definitely do it again.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
04/03/2017
The tour was even better than I thought it was going to be. The service was excellent and Julie, our tour guide, was enthusiastic and took great care of us. Everywhere we went was an outstanding experience and there optional activities we could take advantage of. Marie from Relaxing Journeys, my tour consultant, did a great job. She always answered my questions and provided good advice and answers no matter how many questions I submitted. I am very happy with Relaxing Journeys and Red Carpet Tours. I would definitely recommend both. There are no words to describe how wonderful and unique this experience was. I didn't want to leave!
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Small Group Tour
14/02/2017
Group size of 15 to 16 was excellent. I was very pleased with coach captain. Some others were expecting us to have tour leader as well. Loads of room on the coaches. We had a new design with 2 and 1 configuration seat configuration was very popular on South Island. Coach Captain (Andrew) had not done this tour before but he did well under the circumstances. Most of the included meals were very good. Exceptional food at Raetihi Lodge, all vineyards and Mount Cook. Least liked hotel room by most was Novotel in Rotorua. Raetihi was the best accommodation. Would be good to get Kaikoura back on itinerary as soon as possible. Hanmer springs was ok. Most were expecting or hoping for a lake view in Queenstown. No one got this and it really upset a few on the group. I paid for my own very expensive upgrade. Heritage in Queenstown charged me a dollar per room to room call. Never had that happen anywhere before. Many of those on the tour were retired and not always self starters so more optional activities need to be advised in Napier and Mt Cook besides what is on the itinerary. First three days the weather was not very good but thereafter it was fine. Tour should advise what clothing to bring plus bug repellent. It was cooler than some expected. All in all a great tour with a really good coach captain.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

Results 1-25 of 112

Next Page