New Zealand Small Group Tours Reviews

Small Group Tours

107 New Zealand Small Group Tours Reviews

4.8/5.0

4.8 out of 5 based on 107 user reviews.

Overall Tour Rating
Value For Money
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Relaxing Journeys Experience

Filter By:

Reviews

5
Small Group Tour
22/04/2018
Small group and Ultimate Coach, the only way to travel. The tour beyond our expectations and our driver/guide/"nanny", Davis Underwood was the very best with a wealth of knowledge, wonderful sense of humor and an excellent driver to boot. Both islands are stunning and we were very happy with the selected optional tours.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
15/04/2018
Outstanding tour. Saw NZ from top to bottom. Paul an excellent driver and guide. Meals and hotels quite good overall. Lots of driving involved but the elegant coach made it quite comfortable. With only 20 people, everyone became pretty friendly during trip.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
31/03/2018
Loved the tour. Would recommend it. Everything was taken care of with no worries for us. Only complaint would be the audio system on the coach. The driver was hard to understand. Also would like to see shades that pull down from the top of the window to block the sun in the early morning and late afternoon or if that's not possible some window tinting at the top. Not crazy about the three buffets. The food was excellent in the hotels with the exception of the Distinction in Dunedin. The hotel itself in Dunedin was superior but the food did not live up to the rest of the hotel. The tours were all handled very well. We felt very welcome in the country. Again, we loved the tour and would highly recommend it.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Small Group Tour
24/03/2018
Well put together tour. Many quality inclusions, nice hotels and every day well prepared highlights and places of interest to visit. Coach driver Kevin was fantastic while the small group (14) contributed to a very "relaxing journey".
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
3
Small Group Tour
21/03/2018
Good safe driver . Think having a choice of things to do on a couple of stops would make the tour better for most. For example not everyone is interested in wine tasting etc . We were delivered to our hotel in Rotorua around lunch time so it would have been nice to have a quick tour around that town instead of leaving the next day having seen nothing except the cultural centre, which was lovely. But having said this we were happy to have done the tour. Cheers.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
15/03/2018
We had a great time touring your country. The people are very friendly and happy. We highly recommend the Ultimate Tour with Grand Pacific. Paul was our coach driver, and he did an excellent job. The coach was very nice, and with only 20 people in the group it created a more relaxing atmosphere for the various daily activities. Toni, thanks for all your help.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
12/03/2018
LOTR 15 day tour is fantastic! This is the 2nd time we've been on the tour. If you are a LOTR fan this is definitely the tour for you! Julie, our tour guide was amazing! We plan on doing it for a 3rd time in a coupe of years! We highly recommended the LOTR 15 day tour! Relaxing Journeys is top notch! We've used them to plan two of our holidays to New Zealand and we will use them again when we return in a couple of years. We highly recommend them.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Small Group Tour
18/02/2018
This was our first ever escorted tour, and much of it was superb. Pre-trip arrangements through Marie were great. The Kirra trip captain was outstanding, the accommodations were excellent (except for a couple) and the included meals were over the top (again, with an exception or two). An introductory dinner on night 1 would have been helpful, as well as a listing of tour participants - perhaps just names and where from. Kirra Tours letter indicated a morning get-together for breakfast and a briefing on Day 2, but there was none-- only "please board the bus" and then a 1 minute intro of trip captain. Internet service was extremely spotty at a couple of locations. 18 days on a coach became quite weary, particularly those days with a lot of driving and not much else. Thought the nights in Hanmer Springs and Martinsborough were somewhat ho-hum. Not much to do in either. Also thought the Taieri Gorge railway excursion was overrated-- 4 hours on a slow train for 20 minutes of scenery; would have rather had time to explore Dunedin more. Thought the Maori experience in Rotorua was much too touristy and commercialized. Good meal, but a cattle car experience. High points were Doubtful Sound, Mt. Cook, catamaran sail on Lake Rotoiti, and Hobbiton. 2 nights in major cities also appreciated. All in all 9 out of 10. Definitely would recommend to others.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
22/01/2018
For a luxury tour the coach provided was sub-standard. The seats were not particularly comfortable, had limited adjustment and no cup-holders. On the only day it rained, fortunately just the last one, it leaked badly on both sides of the aisle. As we were 13 on a 20 seater people were able to move to dry seats. I hope it was changed in Christchurch for the second NI part of the tour.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
21/01/2018
Kevin our tour captain made the trip. Very knowledgeable about the history, geology, social issues, you name it, he could tell you about it.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
14/11/2017
Great way to see the country in a small group (less than 20 people), but using a full sized coach that is adapted for this number.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
01/11/2017
Don't change anything. Perfect as is.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
21/10/2017
The trip was well organized, the driver (and host) was friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable. The lodging and events were just wonderful. I feel we got a very thorough look at this beautiful country.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
04/09/2017
This tour is set up to cater for hard core Tolkien Fans. I wouldn't recommend this tour to someone with a casual or interest or who has just watched the movies. It is an expensive tour, but it is worth the money you pay.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
09/03/2017
The Grand Pacific Ultimate NZ Small Group Tour was exceptional. The coach was spacious and very comfortable. In fact, someone from a non-ultimate tour asked to look at our coach and described it as a \"Rolls-Royce\" compared to their coach. The itinerary was also terrific - almost everything we did could be the \"best part\" of an overall fantastic 19-days. We had a great time and are so glad we choose a small group ultimate tour. The accommodations and meals were also magnificent.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
06/03/2017
Relaxing Journeys made my booking so easy and painless. Toni is VERY helpful and was in constant contact with me and was patient with all my many questions. Red Carpet Tours for the LOTR is an exceptional group. Julie is the best tour guide I've ever had. She made the whole experience more personal with her knowledge and passion for LOTR. It felt like a very exclusive tour because she took us in remote areas that would not be available elsewhere. We ate like Hobbits and was thoroughly entertained nonstop throughout the tour. You don't have to a mega fan of LOTR to enjoy all that NZ has to offer. But if you are fan, this tour will enhance your Middle-earth experience tenfold. I highly recommend this tour and booking from Relaxing Journeys.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
06/03/2017
A wonderful tour to see the diversity and beauty of the South Island, with the added extra to experience Stewart Island.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
05/03/2017
The tour was an amazing experience, it was well worth the price. The locations were gorgeous and the people were lovely. Our tour felt more like an in depth look at both the Lord of the Rings movies and New Zealand itself because our tour guide knew so many of the local people. Overall it was everything I hoped for and more and I would definitely do it again.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
04/03/2017
The tour was even better than I thought it was going to be. The service was excellent and Julie, our tour guide, was enthusiastic and took great care of us. Everywhere we went was an outstanding experience and there optional activities we could take advantage of. Marie from Relaxing Journeys, my tour consultant, did a great job. She always answered my questions and provided good advice and answers no matter how many questions I submitted. I am very happy with Relaxing Journeys and Red Carpet Tours. I would definitely recommend both. There are no words to describe how wonderful and unique this experience was. I didn't want to leave!
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Small Group Tour
14/02/2017
Group size of 15 to 16 was excellent. I was very pleased with coach captain. Some others were expecting us to have tour leader as well. Loads of room on the coaches. We had a new design with 2 and 1 configuration seat configuration was very popular on South Island. Coach Captain (Andrew) had not done this tour before but he did well under the circumstances. Most of the included meals were very good. Exceptional food at Raetihi Lodge, all vineyards and Mount Cook. Least liked hotel room by most was Novotel in Rotorua. Raetihi was the best accommodation. Would be good to get Kaikoura back on itinerary as soon as possible. Hanmer springs was ok. Most were expecting or hoping for a lake view in Queenstown. No one got this and it really upset a few on the group. I paid for my own very expensive upgrade. Heritage in Queenstown charged me a dollar per room to room call. Never had that happen anywhere before. Many of those on the tour were retired and not always self starters so more optional activities need to be advised in Napier and Mt Cook besides what is on the itinerary. First three days the weather was not very good but thereafter it was fine. Tour should advise what clothing to bring plus bug repellent. It was cooler than some expected. All in all a great tour with a really good coach captain.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
10/02/2017
I had a fascinating and enjoyable holiday owing to Relaxing Journeys and particularly special mention and great thanks go to Toni, who directed me through a long process of booking this tour and was exceptionally helpful and understanding. The Ultimate Rail, Cruise & Coach Experience was absolutely Ultimate. The coach was the star of this tour, very comfortable, clean and luxurious. The tour captain, Paul was a careful driver, excellent organizer and a knowledgeable guide. A helpful and good companion during this tour. The accommodation with one exception was of the highest standard, the highlight was The Regent of Rotorua with thermal mineral pool, the very place to rest after a busy sightseeing day. Exceptional were also The George hotel in Christchurch and Distinction Dunedin, both luxurious and also providing free of charge laundry facilities. In all hotels WiFi was free. Evening meals at hotels were excellent, beautifully served and very tasty. Breakfast mostly English style, a little too heavy for me, non-English European, but highly appreciated by my Australian and British companions. Luggage handling was very efficient, all transfers smooth and easy. Many times we could feel very exceptional, being greeted by hotel management, having complimentary drinks or special happy hours. We were a group of 19, Aussies, British, Canadians and me, from Poland. We quickly made a friendly team, everyone had a good time on the tour. Although summertime, it was quite rainy and cold but did not spoil our fun. I found New Zealand a fascinating country, so unspoiled nature, so clean air and pure water and breathtaking scenery. Friendly, warm people, ready to help any time. Most of the inclusions I found very interesting, though I expected more walking than sitting on a bus coach. However, the distances were enormous (we drove nearly 4000 km in 19 days), so this time no time for wandering in the wilderness. But the highlights were the optional attractions, the highlight was helicopter flight with landing over the Fox and Franz Joseph Glaciers, so spectacular, a float plane flight over the Mount Tarawera Volcano and a visit to Skippers Canyon, complete wilderness and scenery from the Lord of Rings! New Zealand was much more than I expected. I highly recommend Grand Pacific and Relaxing Journeys Small Group Ultimate Tours.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
16/01/2017
This trip was certainly a wonderful experience. We had no major glitches at all and every detail was planned. Our tour guide, Katie Hunter, was exceptional. She was very responsive to our every need and took it in stride when plans had to be changed due to poor weather conditions. She had a wealth of knowledge about the places we traveled and included so many wonderful stories. Her cheerful \"Kia Ora\" started us off each day. She did an outstanding job on all accounts. We're sure Katie took care of things behind the scene we never even knew about. Our bus driver, Shelley, was also just wonderful. We felt very safe in her care, in spite of slick, wet, narrow and winding roads. She even had to back up to let another bus pass when we met on a very tight curve and did so with expertise & calmness. She had a cheerful attitude as well and shared some of her stories with us. She kept the bus clean and kept us on schedule. She and Katie worked very well together even though they just met for the first time on this trip. We enjoyed all the places we stopped at and the diversity was simply amazing. Wish we would have had more time in many of the places we traveled. The accommodations were all first class as were the meals included with the tour. The extra excursion choices were well rounded and there was something for everyone. Really liked traveling with such a small group. Don't think we ever got bored.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
16/01/2017
Tour Guide and Driver: Katie was the best. We were never bored; she always had a story to tell about every place we passed thru. Most importantly, she was present every time a person went or came back from an activity that we paid extra for. Her \"mother hen\" monitoring made sure we always got on the right bus and she made sure we made it okay back from the activity. After a day-long activity in Paihia, we looked pretty bushed so she asked if we were okay. We told her the bus was not air-conditioned. She was surprised. The next day, she assisted in getting us some free ferry tickets as an accommodation for the lack of a/c. Shelly was marvelous. We always felt safe and were amazed at where she could take our coach. When she provided her occasional commentary, she spoke as professionally as Katie. She came to know every one of us and we enjoyed spending time with her, especially at dinner. Hotels: all were excellent, very high end. In some locations, such as Franz Josef and Punakaiki, this was okay because we were in out of the way spots. However, we really didn't need quite so much luxury in places like Auckland and Christchurch. In Queenstown, I did not like staying at a place that was so far from Queenstown and I know the hotel had to be very expensive. I would like to see you cut back on the lavishness of some of the hotels. Note: the night on the Milford Sound was WELL worth it. Pace: You've heard it before: many times we would have liked to have been able to stay longer at some spots. If the itinerary could be modified to allow just 15 minutes more at the shorter stops (I don't mean the quick photo stops - those can still be quick) that would be great. I see no reason for having two full free days in Queenstown, one would be sufficient. I would like to see an extra day in Rotorua. Meals: All provided meals were very good to excellent. The food variety was quite good. Sometimes, however, the restaurant staff at the dinners were quite slow in keeping up with things like drink refills. Still, overall the dining times were always something to look forward to.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
01/01/2017
Absolutely 100% recommend this tour company. Not only do they do a phenomenal job organizing and taking you around the country, they make you feel as though you are part of the fabric that makes New Zealand what it is. You will not find another group that is as dedicated to you or that makes your journey as amazing as they do. Julie is a phenomenally patient and knowledgeable guide and will make you wish you could live in New Zealand forever.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
3
Small Group Tour
19/12/2016
There are people who enjoy coach tours and there are those who prefer to self-drive. Bev and I generally fall into the latter category and so this was the first tour of this type we've ever undertaken. That said, the luxury coach, the generally high standard of the accommodation and the mostly superb food went a long way towards assuaging our pre-tour fears. We are still not devoted coach tourists but this trip would suit most people. At one point I left my iPad at Lake Wakatipo on our way to Mt Cook. Miraculously, our driver Chris Hannah was able to arrange for a friend of his in Lake Wakatipo to collect it from the place it had been handed into by an honest tourist. That friend of our coach driver then delivered the iPad to the Hermitage for a fee of $300 which I paid to Chris. Fortuitous indeed! Although coach touring is probably not for us, we intend to visit the North Island in Feb/Mar 2019 for a self-drive holiday and would appreciate advice of any offers you may have in this regard.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
11/12/2016
Guide and driver outstanding professional and personal. Could have left out Milford Sounds for me, included Dunedin instead. Great country and people.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
16/11/2016
This tour was everything we wanted. We were a small group of 10 and we all gelled together well. Our tour guide /driver Paul was fantastic and his sense of humour and knowledge of New Zealand was second to none. We saw all the main attractions but at a relaxing pace with 3 days out of the 20 free to relax or do our own thing. The hotels were generally excellent. We would recommend this tour to anyone who wants a general overview of New Zealand.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
13/11/2016
The tour fulfilled (and surpassed) all our requirements. We wanted a small group, North and South Island, highlights of New Zealand, good hotels, good guide/driver, business class level of tour. In all aspects this tour was excellent. We are not normally a coach tour tourists and we were a little anxious, but there was no need. The ultimate coach is a business class experience with seating for 20 people all with a window seat, personal console and room for 2 pieces of hand luggage under the console and more on the overhead rack if needed. Our coach driver/guide was indeed excellent. His knowledge was considerable, his humour gentle, his manner in dealing with questions or potential difficulties admirable, his driving first class. The hotels we stayed in were all excellent or very good with all the facilities needed, friendly helpful staff and good food. Luggage transfers were achieved with no fuss and mostly in a speedy way. The included attractions were well worth visiting and the range of optional excursions/activities were comprehensive, so something for everyone. If there is one small criticism (and it is not of the tour or its' organisation) it is that we would have liked to stay at many of the visited attractions for longer, however we appreciate that the tour can do no more than be a taster and we look forward to visiting New Zealand in the future. Our tour took place at the time of the Kaikoura earthquake which meant our itinerary had to be revised. This was accomplished with minimum fuss and we were re-imbursed for our missed train journey, in full, in cash before we left New Zealand - very impressive. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this tour to anyone.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
26/10/2016
The tour was wonderful as well as the food. The best was the winery and the Raetihi Lodge as well as the guest. I was stunned and surprised that every bed was very very comfortable in all the hotel/motels that we stayed at. Plenty of free time of to wonder around town. Thank you.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
10/10/2016
Excellent tour, with the pace and 2 night stays making it very comfortable for our age group. My only criticism as such would be the hangi. I probably went with a preconception and the event didn't rise to that level. A couple of others thought as I did, but the majority loved it. Many thanks Marie for organising a memorable for my wife and myself.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
03/10/2016
This trip was literally my favorite thing I've ever done.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
03/10/2016
Best holiday ever! I had really high hopes for this trip as my friend and I had saved for a long time to go on it. And my gosh, it did not disappoint. Worth every penny. We are big fans of the middle earth world, but even if we weren't, I feel this would have been a fantastic way to squeeze in as many sights and activities as possible in two weeks. I was most hesitant about going on holiday with a group of strangers, but in many ways that was one of the best bits. I've never done an organised tour before, but this just felt like an extended school field trip with a bunch of friends hanging out. Everyone was so like-minded, open, friendly and funny. I had the time of my life and am hoping that the friendships I made will last a good long time. :)
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
18/09/2016
Coach, driver/guide ,hotels and of course, New Zealand were top quality. I would recommend the Ultimate Tour as coach was so roomy, clean and had all facilities. A small group allows friendships to grow. I have recommended the tour to friends and family.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
01/08/2016
The tour was absolutely fantastic, Julie was a very helpful, enthusiastic, kind and patient guide. The hotels were all really good, clean and warm. The attractions and optional extras were perfect. Can't rate this tour highly enough!!
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
04/05/2016
We were very surprised to find a large, specially designed coach with amenities with only 20 independent leather seats. Being specifically designed for luxury touring the coach had plenty of room for hand-held baggage to be tucked away under tray with cup holder and headphone/USB facility. Our driver, Dave, was a careful, considerate and personable driver who knew his country's history and was full of interesting local stories. He kept the coach immaculate during our tour. A valuable company asset - (the driver as well as the coach!!). The hotels were first class, although we did much prefer the smaller boutique hotel like that in Rotorua. Food provided was plentiful and well presented and we had plenty of stops to purchase food and drinks not included in our itinerary. All activities were extremely interesting; thoroughly enjoyed The Kauri Museum (magnificient); the Gondola and Luge (even enjoyed by us 'oldies'); Bay of Islands (we had a wonderful sunny day); Milford Sound (even though it was quite misty); even the Interislander ferry was a great experience, calm weather and even a designated area for Grand Pacific patrons! All very much appreciated and thoroughly enjoyed. There were couples and singles (ladies) on the coach and we all became very good friends by the end of our two island tour. An emotional end to a fantastic experience - one a lot of us will remember when reminiscing about our tour to NZ. Would recommend this company to anyone wanting just that little bit extra from their NZ holiday.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
02/04/2016
Comparing this small group tour with the two very nice small group tours we've taken in Europe - this was superior in so many aspects. The coach was wonderful - a full size vehicle fitted for just 20 people. The hotels tended to be a level up from our other experiences. The coach captain not only drove but coordinated the daily events. He was wonderful the full 19 days. We also had more included dinners of excellent quality than other excursions. And finally we feel we thoroughly saw and experienced New Zealand. And as Americans traveling with 18 Aussies, every day was a new cultural exchange. Just wish Grand Pacific operated outside of NZ.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
17/02/2016
A busy tour but very thorough and enjoyable. Excellent driver/tour guide. Comfortable coach and well-selected tours and visits.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
13/02/2016
We had a great time. The coach was superb and Paul was so nice and helpful. The weather in Milford Sound was bad but we got to see many waterfalls. Could not do Haast River due to the high water. Mother Nature did not cooperate those days. The least favorite was Fox Glacier but for the most part the trip was great. Thanks for all your help. Smoothest trip ever.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
08/02/2016
This was an excellent trip in all regards. The tour guide (Katie) and the driver (Maxine) were outstanding. We were particularly impressed with the quality of the lodging and the fantastic food. The large coach for this group of 19 gave us plenty of room to spread out and be comfortable during the long rides. The free laundry at Milbrook helped a lot and if we knew in advance, we could have packed less. More information about what to expect (such as carry on luggage only for the Milford Sound cruise) would have been helpful. As for the schedule, many of us felt that we would have preferred more than one night stays at some of the stops such as Mt Cook and Franz Josef and one less night at Queenstown and Stewart Island. All of the excursions were great except for the Glacier Walk at Franz Josef. There was far too much time spent in preparation for the walk (medical reviews, foul weather gear check out, etc) and not enough time for the walk itself. We were only allowed to go as far as the waterfalls. It was not a difficult walk and could have just as easily be done on our own if the bus took us to the trail head. We thoroughly enjoyed all other aspects of the trip and would recommend this tour to others.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Active Small Group Tour
01/02/2016
The trip was wonderful! I can only think about positive things about it. The food, accommodations, and activities were wonderful in variety and quality. The trails we walked through were like paradise. And our guide, Andrew, was thoughtful, attentive and dedicated. Walking through NZ was the best way to soak in the beauty of NZ.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Small Group Tour
28/01/2016
I have mainly praise. The 19 day Ultimate New Zealand utilized the best accommodations in the towns we stayed in (which of course necessarily varied with the community's size). For some reason however there was dim lighting in every room we stayed in. The food was above average, with a few exceptions (an overcrowded noisy buffet dinner at the Hangi dinner in Rotorua, and two absolutely chaotic meals featuring pushing and shoving whilst at Heritage Mt. Cook). Our guide (Rod Harris) was extremely knowledgeable and excellent. The itinerary selection was good, although perhaps there was a bit too much time riding on the coach. Perhaps eliminate Mt. Cook and/or Dunedin, while lengthening the stay to two days in places like Napier or Blenheim. By the way, we actually liked the North Island as well or better than the South Island. Outstanding events: hole-in-the-rock cruise in Bay of Islands, riding the luge in Rotorua, visiting Napier, riding the jet boat on Haast River, taking a helicopter ride and walking on the glacier at Fox Glacier, the visit to Longlands Farm, and the visit to the Walter Peak farm whilst at Queenstown. I want to note that since it is calendar year 2016, I was shocked to find that there was not free wireless availability at every location (rather there was pay-to-go at Queenstown, Wellington, and Mt. Cook). This is not an unreasonable request when every cheap backpacker hotel and most coffee shops and cafes in New Zealand offer it. The lack of free wireless will be a deal-breaker for me in the future - as staying in touch with my family and business is essential. Ironically charging for such a commonplace amenity occurred in the most upscale accommodations, which amounts in my opinion to chiseling. (RJ. It's taking a while for all the accommodation providers in NZ to provide Wifi for free. There are still a few holdouts, but the majority have changed their policies in the last year! We expect within the next 12 months it will be a rarity for Wifi not to be included in all hotels.)
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Active Small Group Tour
26/01/2016
A perfect mix of trails, fantastic scenery, rafting at glow worm caves, kayaking and the helicopter flight. Our guide, Lauren Moe's was wonderful...well tuned into the needs and personalities and capabilities of everyone in the group.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Active Small Group Tour
26/01/2016
The tour was wonderful. Every day was a great experience with new trails, scenery and activities. The trip matched the fantastic scenery on New Zealand. The trip leader and guides that met us along the way were all knowledgeable, friendly and great fun. The highlights were numerous but several standout: the glow worm cave, Mou Waho island, Milford sound, Routenburn track, Hollyford track and the night stay at Marten's Bay, and Mt. Cook national park.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
18/01/2016
Excellent tour with a very informed tour director and coach driver nothing was too much trouble - brilliant.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
18/01/2016
AAT Kings staff went out of their way to make everyone welcome and see everything we could in the time (Cam - tour director & Rob - coach driver). Utterly brilliant we thoroughly enjoyed our tour and would not hesitate to recommend this tour.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
18/01/2016
Excellent tour. Loved our guide and driver. The people we travelled with were great.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
04/01/2016
I had the most amazing time in New Zealand with Moa Trek. I am so pleased that I chose the small group tour, I travelled with a great bunch of people and we all had a chance to get to know each other as the tour progressed. It was a 'whistle stop' tour visiting amazing places along with some personal twists - having lunch at real homes prepared by the owners was very special. I would thoroughly recommend booking with MoaTrek and all the information required was provided by Toni at Relaxing Journeys, it all worked out very well. Thank you.....and I hope I get to see your wonderful country again.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
25/12/2015
Well organized tour with great accommodation, food and comfort.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
25/12/2015
The trip was wonderful and New Zealand just lovely. Kevin, our guide was terrific and Maxine, our coach driver, the best in the world. Marie was terrific to work with as well. Highly recommend this trip and we are looking forward to touring the South Island soon. Thanks everyone!
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
20/11/2015
The Kiwi tour was one of our best vacations ever. So much wonderful scenery, good-to-excellent accommodations, lots of fine food, and a very compatible group of fellow travelers. We want especially to commend our driver-guide, Lloyd, who did an outstanding job of making everything run smoothly and being a good friend to all. He really went out of his way to ensure that everyone got the most out of the tour. The luncheons given for the group at private homes were a particular treat. Booking the tour through Relaxing Journeys (thanks Toni!) was very smooth.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

Results 1-50 of 107

Next Page