3 View Wishlist

97 New Zealand Small Group Tour Reviews

4.8 out of 5 based on 97 user reviews.
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 11 Day Ultimate Christmas Tour 11 Day Ultimate Christmas Tour

    There are people who enjoy coach tours and there are those who prefer to self-drive. Bev and I generally fall into the latter category and so this was the first tour of this type we've ever undertaken. That said, the luxury coach, the generally high standard of the accommodation and the mostly superb food went a long way towards assuaging our pre-tour fears. We are still not devoted coach tourists but this trip would suit most people. At one point I left my iPad at Lake Wakatipo on our way to Mt Cook. Miraculously, our driver Chris Hannah was able to arrange for a friend of his in Lake Wakatipo to collect it from the place it had been handed into by an honest tourist. That friend of our coach driver then delivered the iPad to the Hermitage for a fee of $300 which I paid to Chris. Fortuitous indeed! Although coach touring is probably not for us, we intend to visit the North Island in Feb/Mar 2019 for a self-drive holiday and would appreciate advice of any offers you may have in this regard.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 19/12/2018
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 22 Day The Long White Cloud 22 Day The Long White Cloud

    Guide and driver outstanding professional and personal. Could have left out Milford Sounds for me, included Dunedin instead. Great country and people.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 11/12/2018
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience

    Great way to see the country in a small group (less than 20 people), but using a full sized coach that is adapted for this number.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 14/11/2017
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 10 Day Ultimate South Island Escape 10 Day Ultimate South Island Escape

    Don't change anything. Perfect as is.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 01/11/2017
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 20 Day New Zealand Odyssey 20 Day New Zealand Odyssey

    The trip was well organized, the driver (and host) was friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable. The lodging and events were just wonderful. I feel we got a very thorough look at this beautiful country.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 21/10/2017
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    This tour is set up to cater for hard core Tolkien Fans. I wouldn't recommend this tour to someone with a casual or interest or who has just watched the movies. It is an expensive tour, but it is worth the money you pay.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 04/09/2017
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience

    The Grand Pacific Ultimate NZ Small Group Tour was exceptional. The coach was spacious and very comfortable. In fact, someone from a non-ultimate tour asked to look at our coach and described it as a "Rolls-Royce" compared to their coach. The itinerary was also terrific - almost everything we did could be the "best part" of an overall fantastic 19-days. We had a great time and are so glad we choose a small group ultimate tour. The accommodations and meals were also magnificent.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 09/03/2017
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 12 Day The Southern Drift 12 Day The Southern Drift

    A wonderful tour to see the diversity and beauty of the South Island, with the added extra to experience Stewart Island.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 06/03/2017
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    Relaxing Journeys made my booking so easy and painless. Toni is VERY helpful and was in constant contact with me and was patient with all my many questions. Red Carpet Tours for the LOTR is an exceptional group. Julie is the best tour guide I've ever had. She made the whole experience more personal with her knowledge and passion for LOTR. It felt like a very exclusive tour because she took us in remote areas that would not be available elsewhere. We ate like Hobbits and was thoroughly entertained nonstop throughout the tour. You don't have to a mega fan of LOTR to enjoy all that NZ has to offer. But if you are fan, this tour will enhance your Middle-earth experience tenfold. I highly recommend this tour and booking from Relaxing Journeys.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 06/03/2017
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    The tour was an amazing experience, it was well worth the price. The locations were gorgeous and the people were lovely. Our tour felt more like an in depth look at both the Lord of the Rings movies and New Zealand itself because our tour guide knew so many of the local people. Overall it was everything I hoped for and more and I would definitely do it again.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 05/03/2017
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    The tour was even better than I thought it was going to be. The service was excellent and Julie, our tour guide, was enthusiastic and took great care of us. Everywhere we went was an outstanding experience and there optional activities we could take advantage of. Marie from Relaxing Journeys, my tour consultant, did a great job. She always answered my questions and provided good advice and answers no matter how many questions I submitted. I am very happy with Relaxing Journeys and Red Carpet Tours. I would definitely recommend both. There are no words to describe how wonderful and unique this experience was. I didn't want to leave!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 04/03/2017
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 20 Day New Zealand Odyssey 20 Day New Zealand Odyssey

    Group size of 15 to 16 was excellent. I was very pleased with coach captain. Some others were expecting us to have tour leader as well. Loads of room on the coaches. We had a new design with 2 and 1 configuration seat configuration was very popular on South Island. Coach Captain (Andrew) had not done this tour before but he did well under the circumstances. Most of the included meals were very good. Exceptional food at Raetihi Lodge, all vineyards and Mount Cook. Least liked hotel room by most was Novotel in Rotorua. Raetihi was the best accommodation. Would be good to get Kaikoura back on itinerary as soon as possible. Hanmer springs was ok. Most were expecting or hoping for a lake view in Queenstown. No one got this and it really upset a few on the group. I paid for my own very expensive upgrade. Heritage in Queenstown charged me a dollar per room to room call. Never had that happen anywhere before. Many of those on the tour were retired and not always self starters so more optional activities need to be advised in Napier and Mt Cook besides what is on the itinerary. First three days the weather was not very good but thereafter it was fine. Tour should advise what clothing to bring plus bug repellent. It was cooler than some expected. All in all a great tour with a really good coach captain.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 14/02/2017
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience

    I had a fascinating and enjoyable holiday owing to Relaxing Journeys and particularly special mention and great thanks go to Toni, who directed me through a long process of booking this tour and was exceptionally helpful and understanding. The Ultimate Rail, Cruise & Coach Experience was absolutely Ultimate. The coach was the star of this tour, very comfortable, clean and luxurious. The tour captain, Paul was a careful driver, excellent organizer and a knowledgeable guide. A helpful and good companion during this tour. The accommodation with one exception was of the highest standard, the highlight was The Regent of Rotorua with thermal mineral pool, the very place to rest after a busy sightseeing day. Exceptional were also The George hotel in Christchurch and Distinction Dunedin, both luxurious and also providing free of charge laundry facilities. In all hotels WiFi was free. Evening meals at hotels were excellent, beautifully served and very tasty. Breakfast mostly English style, a little too heavy for me, non-English European, but highly appreciated by my Australian and British companions. Luggage handling was very efficient, all transfers smooth and easy. Many times we could feel very exceptional, being greeted by hotel management, having complimentary drinks or special happy hours. We were a group of 19, Aussies, British, Canadians and me, from Poland. We quickly made a friendly team, everyone had a good time on the tour. Although summertime, it was quite rainy and cold but did not spoil our fun. I found New Zealand a fascinating country, so unspoiled nature, so clean air and pure water and breathtaking scenery. Friendly, warm people, ready to help any time. Most of the inclusions I found very interesting, though I expected more walking than sitting on a bus coach. However, the distances were enormous (we drove nearly 4000 km in 19 days), so this time no time for wandering in the wilderness. But the highlights were the optional attractions, the highlight was helicopter flight with landing over the Fox and Franz Joseph Glaciers, so spectacular, a float plane flight over the Mount Tarawera Volcano and a visit to Skippers Canyon, complete wilderness and scenery from the Lord of Rings! New Zealand was much more than I expected. I highly recommend Grand Pacific and Relaxing Journeys Small Group Ultimate Tours.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 10/02/2017
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 22 Day The Long White Cloud 22 Day The Long White Cloud

    Tour Guide and Driver: Katie was the best. We were never bored; she always had a story to tell about every place we passed thru. Most importantly, she was present every time a person went or came back from an activity that we paid extra for. Her "mother hen" monitoring made sure we always got on the right bus and she made sure we made it okay back from the activity. After a day-long activity in Paihia, we looked pretty bushed so she asked if we were okay. We told her the bus was not air-conditioned. She was surprised. The next day, she assisted in getting us some free ferry tickets as an accommodation for the lack of a/c. Shelly was marvelous. We always felt safe and were amazed at where she could take our coach. When she provided her occasional commentary, she spoke as professionally as Katie. She came to know every one of us and we enjoyed spending time with her, especially at dinner. Hotels: all were excellent, very high end. In some locations, such as Franz Josef and Punakaiki, this was okay because we were in out of the way spots. However, we really didn't need quite so much luxury in places like Auckland and Christchurch. In Queenstown, I did not like staying at a place that was so far from Queenstown and I know the hotel had to be very expensive. I would like to see you cut back on the lavishness of some of the hotels. Note: the night on the Milford Sound was WELL worth it. Pace: You've heard it before: many times we would have liked to have been able to stay longer at some spots. If the itinerary could be modified to allow just 15 minutes more at the shorter stops (I don't mean the quick photo stops - those can still be quick) that would be great. I see no reason for having two full free days in Queenstown, one would be sufficient. I would like to see an extra day in Rotorua. Meals: All provided meals were very good to excellent. The food variety was quite good. Sometimes, however, the restaurant staff at the dinners were quite slow in keeping up with things like drink refills. Still, overall the dining times were always something to look forward to.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 16/01/2017
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 22 Day The Long White Cloud 22 Day The Long White Cloud

    This trip was certainly a wonderful experience. We had no major glitches at all and every detail was planned. Our tour guide, Katie Hunter, was exceptional. She was very responsive to our every need and took it in stride when plans had to be changed due to poor weather conditions. She had a wealth of knowledge about the places we traveled and included so many wonderful stories. Her cheerful "Kia Ora" started us off each day. She did an outstanding job on all accounts. We're sure Katie took care of things behind the scene we never even knew about. Our bus driver, Shelley, was also just wonderful. We felt very safe in her care, in spite of slick, wet, narrow and winding roads. She even had to back up to let another bus pass when we met on a very tight curve and did so with expertise & calmness. She had a cheerful attitude as well and shared some of her stories with us. She kept the bus clean and kept us on schedule. She and Katie worked very well together even though they just met for the first time on this trip. We enjoyed all the places we stopped at and the diversity was simply amazing. Wish we would have had more time in many of the places we traveled. The accommodations were all first class as were the meals included with the tour. The extra excursion choices were well rounded and there was something for everyone. Really liked traveling with such a small group. Don't think we ever got bored.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 16/01/2017
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    Absolutely 100% recommend this tour company. Not only do they do a phenomenal job organizing and taking you around the country, they make you feel as though you are part of the fabric that makes New Zealand what it is. You will not find another group that is as dedicated to you or that makes your journey as amazing as they do. Julie is a phenomenally patient and knowledgeable guide and will make you wish you could live in New Zealand forever.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 01/01/2017
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 20 Day New Zealand Odyssey 20 Day New Zealand Odyssey

    This tour was everything we wanted. We were a small group of 10 and we all gelled together well. Our tour guide /driver Paul was fantastic and his sense of humour and knowledge of New Zealand was second to none. We saw all the main attractions but at a relaxing pace with 3 days out of the 20 free to relax or do our own thing. The hotels were generally excellent. We would recommend this tour to anyone who wants a general overview of New Zealand.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 16/11/2016
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience

    The tour fulfilled (and surpassed) all our requirements. We wanted a small group, North and South Island, highlights of New Zealand, good hotels, good guide/driver, business class level of tour. In all aspects this tour was excellent. We are not normally a coach tour tourists and we were a little anxious, but there was no need. The ultimate coach is a business class experience with seating for 20 people all with a window seat, personal console and room for 2 pieces of hand luggage under the console and more on the overhead rack if needed. Our coach driver/guide was indeed excellent. His knowledge was considerable, his humour gentle, his manner in dealing with questions or potential difficulties admirable, his driving first class. The hotels we stayed in were all excellent or very good with all the facilities needed, friendly helpful staff and good food. Luggage transfers were achieved with no fuss and mostly in a speedy way. The included attractions were well worth visiting and the range of optional excursions/activities were comprehensive, so something for everyone. If there is one small criticism (and it is not of the tour or its' organisation) it is that we would have liked to stay at many of the visited attractions for longer, however we appreciate that the tour can do no more than be a taster and we look forward to visiting New Zealand in the future. Our tour took place at the time of the Kaikoura earthquake which meant our itinerary had to be revised. This was accomplished with minimum fuss and we were re-imbursed for our missed train journey, in full, in cash before we left New Zealand - very impressive. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this tour to anyone.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 13/11/2016
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 13 Day Southern Sensations 13 Day Southern Sensations

    The tour was wonderful as well as the food. The best was the winery and the Raetihi Lodge as well as the guest. I was stunned and surprised that every bed was very very comfortable in all the hotel/motels that we stayed at. Plenty of free time of to wonder around town. Thank you.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 26/10/2016
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience

    Excellent tour, with the pace and 2 night stays making it very comfortable for our age group. My only criticism as such would be the hangi. I probably went with a preconception and the event didn't rise to that level. A couple of others thought as I did, but the majority loved it. Many thanks Marie for organising a memorable for my wife and myself.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 10/10/2016
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    Best holiday ever! I had really high hopes for this trip as my friend and I had saved for a long time to go on it. And my gosh, it did not disappoint. Worth every penny. We are big fans of the middle earth world, but even if we weren't, I feel this would have been a fantastic way to squeeze in as many sights and activities as possible in two weeks. I was most hesitant about going on holiday with a group of strangers, but in many ways that was one of the best bits. I've never done an organised tour before, but this just felt like an extended school field trip with a bunch of friends hanging out. Everyone was so like-minded, open, friendly and funny. I had the time of my life and am hoping that the friendships I made will last a good long time. :)

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 03/10/2016
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    This trip was literally my favorite thing I've ever done.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 03/10/2016
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience

    Coach, driver/guide ,hotels and of course, New Zealand were top quality. I would recommend the Ultimate Tour as coach was so roomy, clean and had all facilities. A small group allows friendships to grow. I have recommended the tour to friends and family.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 18/09/2016
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    The tour was absolutely fantastic, Julie was a very helpful, enthusiastic, kind and patient guide. The hotels were all really good, clean and warm. The attractions and optional extras were perfect. Can't rate this tour highly enough!!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 01/08/2016
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 16 Day Ultimate Explorer 16 Day Ultimate Explorer

    We were very surprised to find a large, specially designed coach with amenities with only 20 independent leather seats. Being specifically designed for luxury touring the coach had plenty of room for hand-held baggage to be tucked away under tray with cup holder and headphone/USB facility. Our driver, Dave, was a careful, considerate and personable driver who knew his country's history and was full of interesting local stories. He kept the coach immaculate during our tour. A valuable company asset - (the driver as well as the coach!!). The hotels were first class, although we did much prefer the smaller boutique hotel like that in Rotorua. Food provided was plentiful and well presented and we had plenty of stops to purchase food and drinks not included in our itinerary. All activities were extremely interesting; thoroughly enjoyed The Kauri Museum (magnificient); the Gondola and Luge (even enjoyed by us 'oldies'); Bay of Islands (we had a wonderful sunny day); Milford Sound (even though it was quite misty); even the Interislander ferry was a great experience, calm weather and even a designated area for Grand Pacific patrons! All very much appreciated and thoroughly enjoyed. There were couples and singles (ladies) on the coach and we all became very good friends by the end of our two island tour. An emotional end to a fantastic experience - one a lot of us will remember when reminiscing about our tour to NZ. Would recommend this company to anyone wanting just that little bit extra from their NZ holiday.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 04/05/2016
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience

    Comparing this small group tour with the two very nice small group tours we've taken in Europe - this was superior in so many aspects. The coach was wonderful - a full size vehicle fitted for just 20 people. The hotels tended to be a level up from our other experiences. The coach captain not only drove but coordinated the daily events. He was wonderful the full 19 days. We also had more included dinners of excellent quality than other excursions. And finally we feel we thoroughly saw and experienced New Zealand. And as Americans traveling with 18 Aussies, every day was a new cultural exchange. Just wish Grand Pacific operated outside of NZ.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 02/04/2016
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience

    A busy tour but very thorough and enjoyable. Excellent driver/tour guide. Comfortable coach and well-selected tours and visits.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 17/02/2016
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 16 Day Ultimate Explorer 16 Day Ultimate Explorer

    We had a great time. The coach was superb and Paul was so nice and helpful. The weather in Milford Sound was bad but we got to see many waterfalls. Could not do Haast River due to the high water. Mother Nature did not cooperate those days. The least favorite was Fox Glacier but for the most part the trip was great. Thanks for all your help. Smoothest trip ever.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 13/02/2016
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 12 Day The Southern Drift 12 Day The Southern Drift

    This was an excellent trip in all regards. The tour guide (Katie) and the driver (Maxine) were outstanding. We were particularly impressed with the quality of the lodging and the fantastic food. The large coach for this group of 19 gave us plenty of room to spread out and be comfortable during the long rides. The free laundry at Milbrook helped a lot and if we knew in advance, we could have packed less. More information about what to expect (such as carry on luggage only for the Milford Sound cruise) would have been helpful. As for the schedule, many of us felt that we would have preferred more than one night stays at some of the stops such as Mt Cook and Franz Josef and one less night at Queenstown and Stewart Island. All of the excursions were great except for the Glacier Walk at Franz Josef. There was far too much time spent in preparation for the walk (medical reviews, foul weather gear check out, etc) and not enough time for the walk itself. We were only allowed to go as far as the waterfalls. It was not a difficult walk and could have just as easily be done on our own if the bus took us to the trail head. We thoroughly enjoyed all other aspects of the trip and would recommend this tour to others.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 08/02/2016
  • ReviewActive Small Group Tour 13 Day World Heritage Walking Tour 13 Day World Heritage Walking Tour

    The trip was wonderful! I can only think about positive things about it. The food, accommodations, and activities were wonderful in variety and quality. The trails we walked through were like paradise. And our guide, Andrew, was thoughtful, attentive and dedicated. Walking through NZ was the best way to soak in the beauty of NZ.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 01/02/2016
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Discovery 19 Day Ultimate Discovery

    I have mainly praise. The 19 day Ultimate New Zealand utilized the best accommodations in the towns we stayed in (which of course necessarily varied with the community's size). For some reason however there was dim lighting in every room we stayed in. The food was above average, with a few exceptions (an overcrowded noisy buffet dinner at the Hangi dinner in Rotorua, and two absolutely chaotic meals featuring pushing and shoving whilst at Heritage Mt. Cook). Our guide (Rod Harris) was extremely knowledgeable and excellent. The itinerary selection was good, although perhaps there was a bit too much time riding on the coach. Perhaps eliminate Mt. Cook and/or Dunedin, while lengthening the stay to two days in places like Napier or Blenheim. By the way, we actually liked the North Island as well or better than the South Island. Outstanding events: hole-in-the-rock cruise in Bay of Islands, riding the luge in Rotorua, visiting Napier, riding the jet boat on Haast River, taking a helicopter ride and walking on the glacier at Fox Glacier, the visit to Longlands Farm, and the visit to the Walter Peak farm whilst at Queenstown. I want to note that since it is calendar year 2016, I was shocked to find that there was not free wireless availability at every location (rather there was pay-to-go at Queenstown, Wellington, and Mt. Cook). This is not an unreasonable request when every cheap backpacker hotel and most coffee shops and cafes in New Zealand offer it. The lack of free wireless will be a deal-breaker for me in the future - as staying in touch with my family and business is essential. Ironically charging for such a commonplace amenity occurred in the most upscale accommodations, which amounts in my opinion to chiseling. (RJ. It's taking a while for all the accommodation providers in NZ to provide Wifi for free. There are still a few holdouts, but the majority have changed their policies in the last year! We expect within the next 12 months it will be a rarity for Wifi not to be included in all hotels.)

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 28/01/2016
  • ReviewActive Small Group Tour 13 Day World Heritage Walking Tour 13 Day World Heritage Walking Tour

    A perfect mix of trails, fantastic scenery, rafting at glow worm caves, kayaking and the helicopter flight. Our guide, Lauren Moe's was wonderful...well tuned into the needs and personalities and capabilities of everyone in the group.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 26/01/2016
  • ReviewActive Small Group Tour 13 Day World Heritage Walking Tour 13 Day World Heritage Walking Tour

    The tour was wonderful. Every day was a great experience with new trails, scenery and activities. The trip matched the fantastic scenery on New Zealand. The trip leader and guides that met us along the way were all knowledgeable, friendly and great fun. The highlights were numerous but several standout: the glow worm cave, Mou Waho island, Milford sound, Routenburn track, Hollyford track and the night stay at Marten's Bay, and Mt. Cook national park.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 26/01/2016
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 22 Day The Long White Cloud 22 Day The Long White Cloud

    Excellent tour with a very informed tour director and coach driver nothing was too much trouble - brilliant.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 18/01/2016
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 22 Day The Long White Cloud 22 Day The Long White Cloud

    AAT Kings staff went out of their way to make everyone welcome and see everything we could in the time (Cam - tour director & Rob - coach driver). Utterly brilliant we thoroughly enjoyed our tour and would not hesitate to recommend this tour.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 18/01/2016
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 22 Day The Long White Cloud 22 Day The Long White Cloud

    Excellent tour. Loved our guide and driver. The people we travelled with were great.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 18/01/2016
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 17 Day Kakariki 17 Day Kakariki

    I had the most amazing time in New Zealand with Moa Trek. I am so pleased that I chose the small group tour, I travelled with a great bunch of people and we all had a chance to get to know each other as the tour progressed. It was a 'whistle stop' tour visiting amazing places along with some personal twists - having lunch at real homes prepared by the owners was very special. I would thoroughly recommend booking with MoaTrek and all the information required was provided by Toni at Relaxing Journeys, it all worked out very well. Thank you.....and I hope I get to see your wonderful country again.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 04/01/2016
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 11 Day The Endless Shores 11 Day The Endless Shores

    Well organized tour with great accommodation, food and comfort.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 25/12/2015
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 11 Day The Endless Shores 11 Day The Endless Shores

    The trip was wonderful and New Zealand just lovely. Kevin, our guide was terrific and Maxine, our coach driver, the best in the world. Marie was terrific to work with as well. Highly recommend this trip and we are looking forward to touring the South Island soon. Thanks everyone!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 25/12/2015
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 18 Day Kiwi 18 Day Kiwi

    The Kiwi tour was one of our best vacations ever. So much wonderful scenery, good-to-excellent accommodations, lots of fine food, and a very compatible group of fellow travelers. We want especially to commend our driver-guide, Lloyd, who did an outstanding job of making everything run smoothly and being a good friend to all. He really went out of his way to ensure that everyone got the most out of the tour. The luncheons given for the group at private homes were a particular treat. Booking the tour through Relaxing Journeys (thanks Toni!) was very smooth.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 20/11/2015
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    My boyfriend and I went on the 15 day Lord of the rings tour, on the 9/11/2015! We started planning this to go about a year ago and after I got the all clear from the hospital booked it in May/June. Marie was extremely helpful and patient with us, especially as we enquirer about February time! The tour itself was absolutely amazing! I would recommend going even if you aren't a massive fan of LOTR/Hobbit! The scenery and opportunities you get are one in a million! We had such an amazing time in New Zealand that I'm already wanting to go back and I haven't even been home for 24 hours! If it's a dream to go there, I would, you won't regret it! Especially with this tour as you see both islands in all their beauty, and meet so many amazing people! If I could rate higher than excellent I would :)

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 09/11/2015
  • ReviewActive Small Group Tour 13 Day World Heritage Walking Tour 13 Day World Heritage Walking Tour

    It was probably the best holiday we've ever had. It was very efficient, the guides were excellent, the hotels pleasant, the activities varied and New Zealand is wonderful.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 19/10/2015
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Discovery 19 Day Ultimate Discovery

    Absolutely loved, loved everything about this trip. We went directly on a 30 day cruise and I talked to a lot of people about this trip, several asked for your information. We can't recommend this trip highly enough. Our tour guide Linda was great, knowledgeable, helpful and kept us all organized without what appeared to be any effort. There was just enough free days, and plenty of stops, we never felt like "Are we there yet". You guys have this down to a fine art. Only comment, I would strongly recommend that someone review the final nights dinner and Grand Pacific Host in Christchurch. The restaurant service was surly, extremely slow and some of the food provided certainly didn't match the menu selections. Talk about people with an attitude - this was the only restaurant where we felt the services were lacking. As for our Grand Pacific Host she was as flighty as could be. She was certainly chatty but over all we all felt she was useless. She couldn't help any of us and anything she promised would be handled with respect to departures the next day proved totally unhanded. Some people had problems with billing and she'd talk to them at great length, go away and tell them what they already knew, then later she'd come up and talk to them again and then would tell them the same things they already knew and she would confuse people and couldn't seem to remember what she was doing next. We all didn't feel like she was Grand Pacific's best representative.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 27/09/2015
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    The Red-Carpet LOTR Tour met my expectations. I was very glad that I get to stay at the same room at the Powderhorn Chateau where Elijah Wood who played Frodo during the filming of the LOTR. I would probably do the same or similar tour in the future.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 07/09/2015
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    Very well organized! Excellent trip for hardcore LOTR fans, with exclusive access to some filming spots. Stunning scenery of course!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 07/09/2015
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    My husband and I had an amazing adventure in New Zealand on this Lord Of The Rings tour! We have both fallen in love with New Zealand because of it. It truly was a trip of a lifetime! Julie, our tour guide/hostess was beyond wonderful! She was so incredibly helpful, personable and knowledgeable - always with a smile on her face. :) She was completely dedicated to making sure we had a wonderful time on our holiday, and because of her, we did! She is a gem! We highly recommend this tour!


    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 07/09/2015
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Discovery 19 Day Ultimate Discovery

    This was a GREAT tour. The small group size, 20, was perfect. The coach, single seats on each side with music and USB ports. It takes 19 days to do both islands justice. The lodging, food and included tours were great. We had 4 Americans, an English couple and 12 Australians. We all got along amazing well. Since I already knew the Americans, I now have 16 new friends. I think you should try and market to the USA. We told Peter that. They were filming for some new Australian commercials and he said they planned to.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 23/04/2015
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience

    This truly was the ULTIMATE way to see New Zealand. Couldn't fault the tour in any way. Far exceeded expectations.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 15/04/2015
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience

    The coach captain and the tour guide made everything perfect. Any slight issues were dealt with promptly and efficiently. The next Ultimate Tour will be better if that is possible than this one. Take advantage of the optional events as they are stunning. Grand Pacific are excellent.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 02/04/2015
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 12 Day The Southern Drift 12 Day The Southern Drift

    I filled out a feedback form on the coach towards the end of the tour which did include some suggestions which I thought could improve the tour but they were minor - the whole ten days were so enjoyable and the South Island scenery was fantastic (we were blessed with fabulous weather) - as spectacular as I had expected! We were also looked after so well by Katie Hunter and Kerry McCarthy - we could not have had better people accompanying us on this trip. Top marks to them!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 09/03/2015
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 22 Day The Long White Cloud 22 Day The Long White Cloud

    This is a great tour. I enjoyed it very much, Had some issues with several of the hotels. They were taken care off. Some of the evening meals were way too long. More buffets would have been better. Some of the recommended optional tours were not worth the money and were not enjoyable. The tour guide and coach driver were very good and knowledgeable. I would recommend this tour with a few changes.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 16/02/2015
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 16 Day Ultimate Explorer 16 Day Ultimate Explorer

    It was a bit hectic but very enjoyable and I was delighted to see all the sights and experience the culture of New Zealand. Hotels and meals were first class. Good guide and enjoyed meeting the fellow travelers.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 13/02/2015
  • ReviewActive Small Group Tour 13 Day World Heritage Walking Tour 13 Day World Heritage Walking Tour

    Wonderful tour. Each day seemed to be better than the excellent day that preceded it. They did a great job planning and preparing the tour. Food and accommodation was excellent as were the guides. I would recommend it to anyone.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 02/02/2015
  • ReviewActive Small Group Tour 13 Day World Heritage Walking Tour 13 Day World Heritage Walking Tour

    I wanted the opportunity to see a lot of the South Island, to get off the beaten track and to have an active and exciting holiday. On this tour I did all of these things. I also had great food, stayed in excellent accommodation and had knowledgable, friendly guides to explain so much about the country, the flora and fauna. Each day seemed to be better than the great day before. It was the holiday of a lifetime. A fantastic trip - thank you.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 02/02/2015
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 11 Day Pukeko 11 Day Pukeko

    We really enjoyed the tour. All of the accommodation was excellent. Richard, our tour guide, was helpful, fun and professional. His knowledge of smaller sights and attractions that kept us away from larger tour groups and crowds was excellent. I realize there is a lot of ground to cover but I would have preferred fewer one night stays. Perhaps adding a couple of days to the tour would be better or eliminating something.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 19/01/2015
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 11 Day Pukeko 11 Day Pukeko

    We really had an awesome trip and felt well taken care of. The only disappointing accommodation was Queenstown at the Brown's Boutique. The bed's and pillows were the least comfortable of all the places we stayed. We would like to have gone to Dunedin and Stewart Island but our fault for not researching before we left home. Also the train trip from Greymouth to Christchurch was nothing special for us. These are only suggestions, for booking other tours. Really, especially with Richard we were very pleased with everything and anytime we had questions were taken care of by Toni or someone immediately from Relaxing Journeys. Would highly recommend.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 19/01/2015
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 12 Day The Southern Drift 12 Day The Southern Drift

    The Southern Drift was very well structured and paced. Our AAT Kings tour director, Kevin, and driver Maxine, really added a great deal to the whole tour. They were both very knowledgeable and fun to be around. We were very impressed with the quality of the accommodations and meals as well as the coach. Needless to say we had a great time. We showed up a day early at the George Hotel in Christchurch to ensure we were rested after a long travel day to begin the tour and were disappointed that AAT Kings could not provide transport from the airport a day early.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 12/01/2015
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    I had a blast, I can't fault the team from Red Carpet, they were great fun and it was well run. Some of the locations were not what the public would normally have access to, so this was great. The actual itinerary for the tour was different to what you at Relaxing Journeys advertised, so I would say you need to speak to them about more accurate advertising on your part. (Ed. Hmmm, not sure how we can make it clearer? It's highlighted in bold at the top of the itinerary.) I had a great bunch of people on my tour and this made it even more special. The only thing I would say to people about New Zealand is don't expect great internet access! I was surprised at the majority of hotels that you had to pay for access (apart from 20-30 mins in the lobby), and the amount you got wasn't that much. My advice is tell people in advance that you won't be in touch, they'll have to wait until you get home for a report! Also some of the hotels were quite basic but if you are only there for a night, it's not so bad. Best hotel was Powderhorn Chateau, I got Billy Boyd's room and you can get a souvenir keyring and certificate!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 05/01/2015
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 12 Day The Southern Drift 12 Day The Southern Drift

    Mani was great at responding to any email inquiries. I don't think I realized the tour group would be AAT Kings though until we received our final itinerary just a couple of weeks before we left. Kevin Pilbrow was a great guide and Maxine a superb driver. The two of them make a fantastic team and I don't think our trip would have been as good without them. Both were very patient and helpful. We had some elderly people with mobility issues and Kevin and Maxine made sure they were accommodated very well. Because of the dates of our trip, we couldn't do the family barbeque after staying at the Hermitage at Mt. Cook. The morning was wasted after breakfast because we had to check out and just wait around to eat lunch again. Nothing was open and we couldn't do any big walks because we couldn't change of shower. The time couldn't been better spend getting back to Christchurch so we could have a little tour there. Also, the Christmas dinner at the George was way overpriced. Felt a big obliged to join in with everyone as there were no other options since all was closed on Christmas. If the tour runs again at that time of year, I would consider alternatives to Mt. Cook and the George dinner. Other than that, accommodations were fantastic and the tour was great though a bit rushed with some of the 1 night stays. The hotel in Franz Josef was so good but we had such little time there.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 15/12/2014
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 12 Day The Southern Drift 12 Day The Southern Drift

    Exceeded all my expectations.The accommodations and meals were superb. Believe we saw all the beauty of the South Island. The guide and coach driver were amazing I believe they went over and above job specifications to ensure everyone had an enjoyable experience. Toni at Relaxing Journeys ensured that my booking went smoothly and was always quick in answering any queries. New Zealand itself is a beautiful scenic country that can not be done justice by a camera. New Zealanders are such happy people who so proud of their country and traditions. Love every minute of it and will return.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 15/12/2014
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience

    We booked this Grand Pacific Ultimate Tour through Relaxing Journeys by email from the US without a hitch. The arrangements were even better than described, and all paperwork was timely and complete, and questions were answered promptly. We could not of have asked for more. The tour itself was superb. The Ultimate Coach is a full sized vehicle that could hold 48 people, but is setup up for 20, which is different from other Grand Pacific tours. There is a single, large, comfortable electrically reclining (within limits) seat on each side of the aisle, with a table, USB ports, room for travel bag under the table, and music outlet at each seat. A center console on the bus has a sink with filtered water to refill your bottles. This all makes travel very satisfying. The selected hotels, the food, the commentary, all were excellent. There was enough time to do a little laundry at various stops, or explore on our own. The planned itinerary was busy without being overwhelming. The optional tours were varied, and those we selected never disappointed. We purposely traveled in November and into December to sample the later spring season. Others may choose the height of summer for warmer conditions, but what we experienced was perfect for us. The people of New Zealand were all very welcoming, and the atmosphere was very safe and orderly. Hopefully these comments will help you make up your mind about this option. You will not be at all disappointed.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 14/11/2014
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    An amazing trip showing sights from the top of the North Island through to the bottom of the South Island. It's very intense with mornings starting typically at 0630-0700 and lots of travel by coach to each location. This trip is a must if you are a huge fan of the Lord of the Rings as there is always an opportunity for acting out scenes at most of the locations. Be aware that there are a lot of activities that are additional costs - the Helicopter ride at Nelson is amazing! Lots of effort is put into the trip especially for the major fans of the films. If acting is not for you the scenery and the access to the locations is brilliant.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 13/10/2014
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    The most amazing holiday I have ever had in my life. Julie and Deanna our lovely guides really made this a special tour. I can only recommend to travel with Red Carpet Tours if you are an avid LOTR and Hobbit fan. This is not just someone making money from the hype around Peter Jackson's movies but Julie and her family are true fans themselves and are passionate, lovely and caring. I will definitely return and go on the tour again.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 13/10/2014
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    The guides, bus drivers, locations and people we met were fantastic. The size of the group was also nice - you wouldn't want too many more though as some of the places we visited were very small or designed for smaller groups and some of the optional activities were better for smaller groups. The accommodation was lovely. For those on a budget however you may want to consider offering some cheaper alternatives in some of the major cities eg: Wellington/Auckland. Overall the tour was fantastic though and I would recommend it to anyone even if they are not LOTR/Hobbit fans!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 13/10/2014
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Discovery 19 Day Ultimate Discovery

    A wonderful experience. 1st class coach, driver, hotels and meals. The 20 seat coach was marvelous offering excellent visibility no matter the seat and the driver Rod was a wealth of information on NZ. We would do it again.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 27/09/2014
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Discovery 19 Day Ultimate Discovery

    Tour delivered as advertised. Coach was very comfortable. Group size was great. Rod Harris did an excellent job as director and driver.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 27/09/2014
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Discovery 19 Day Ultimate Discovery

    We decided just before booking our tour to upgrade to the Ultimate Small Group tour and we were not disappointed. Grand Pacific Tours and in particular the small group package they offer is considered the best available and we experienced that first hand. Everyday during this trip something occurred that made us feel special in some way. The hotels and tour providers appeared to go out of their way to accommodate the guests of Grand Pacific Tours. The coach drive/tour guide (Rod Harris) and ultimate coach designed for only 20 passengers were the best! This tour offered higher end accommodations and gourmet style dinners. On the west coast of the south island, accommodations were closer to average than high end, but for the most part that was offset but the location and the exceptional service provided (Te Anau is one good example of this statement). The gourmet dinners were good but general rich and likely relatively expensive. We would have preferred some lighter meals with more salads and fresh vegetables. While there were many days when we felt that we would like to spend more time in certain areas or to slow down and relax a bit, the relatively quick tour pace was necessary in order to see and do as much as we did. The 2-night stays offered a good opportunity to relax a little and see more of those areas. Overall it was a good balance. The Grand Pacific arrival gifts were nice but it would have been better to receive those before arriving. We had to return some of these gifts because we could not fit them in our luggage to take home. The only problem with the Ultimate Small Group tour is that the standard has been set high and there is no going back!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 27/09/2014
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    Surpassed all of our expectations. Very well organised and gave us the opportunity to see LotR sights as well as the fabulous NZ countryside. We would recommend to anyone and everyone.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 09/06/2014
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience

    A world class tour that took us from one end of New Zealand to the other. The activities included gave us a broad overview of what NZ has to offer. My favourites - museum in Wellington (Te Papa), Kiwi Encounter in Rotorua, Kauri museum, riding in the engine at Glenbrook Vintage railway, luge ride in Rotorua (almost did not do that one, but I loved it!), and number one - Milford Sound. Only activity I wish I had skipped was the Taieri Gorge Railway trip (too long over same territory). The huge coach windows allowed us to enjoy the ever changing landscapes. Meals were of high quality and very filling. A smaller portion option would have been appreciated as I could not eat all my food! Luggage handling was perfect at all hotels. Laundry facilities were readily available at most stops at reasonable prices, (sometimes even for free!) Being charged for internet access at some hotels was a sore point for my husband. He will only go back to the ones that offer free internet. Malcolm was a very good driver. Dennis was the perfect host who took very good care of us. Our group was an international one with members from England, Jersey, Canada, USA, and Australia. But the star of the tour was the coach. It was spacious and comfortable with lots of elbow room, leg room and storage space. This is the only type of coach we will ever consider touring on again!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 15/04/2014
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience

    We thouroughly enjoyed our tour of New Zealand. The entire process was handled with professionalism and enthusiasm. We were impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of everyone we met in NZ as well as the cultural diversity. We chose autumn for the opportunity to see snow capped mountains as well as the changing of colors and NZ did not disappoint. Our favorite memories were the luge ride which our schedule limited us to only two rides and the Kiwi Encounter where we experienced a health check up of a Kiwi (our guides told us that was the closest they had ever been to a Kiwi in all their tours). We enjoyed the Te Papa Museum and the tour of Skippers Canyon. Our tour escort, Dennis, was a 10...so helpful and caring to ensure everyone was having their needs met. Malcolm, our driver/guide was very knowledgeable and professional. Our favorite hotels were Boutique Hotel The Regent in Rotorua where the staff were outstanding and the room was such a surprise and The George in Christchurch...impressive turndown service and heated floors and towel rack in the bathroom as well as free laundry. We found the corporate hotels to be more profit motivated...staff were personal and helpful, but their charges for amenities like the internet were the most expensive we have ever experienced. In 19 days the tour covers over 2,500 miles so there is quite a bit of time on the coach, but it is broken up with many stops at small towns for an hour or so to get a bite to eat or some shopping. The coach is outstanding...reclinging seating for 20 with foot and calf rests; a compartment adjacent to each seat for storage of your carry ons and individualized music at each seat. Our touring companions were very friendly and engaging originating from all corners of the original British Empire...with us being the only Americans, we experienced a language and cultural lesson each day learning so much from them.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 15/04/2014
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 12 Day The Southern Drift 12 Day The Southern Drift

    Excellent tour well designed to make the best use of the time without being too frantic. Great to have an overnight cruise on Milford Sound - the rain just made the waterfalls more spectacular. Highlight was the time on Stewart Island. Unfortunate start to tour was not being told time of welcome drink and meal. (Ed. For the 2014/15 season, the tour itinerary & accommodations have been revised)

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 17/02/2014
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 22 Day Kakapo 22 Day Kakapo

    I can honestly say that the Moa Trek 'Kakapo' tour is the best coach tour I have ever been on, and I would have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending it to anyone who wanted to see New Zealand. I think this is largely down to the fact that it was a small group tour and that the itinerary was varied with lots of different things to do. I think the pace was just right. While a bit longer stay at some of the places we visited would have been nice, I understand this is something that you have to accept when you go on this type of tour - that was a long distance to cover. I was lucky that I was travelling with a good group of like-minded people and we all got on really well (the advantage of being on a small tour) – some of us are still e-mailing pictures to each other. Our tour guide from Moa Trek, Ron Bowen, was very good. He was knowledgeable and proud of New Zealand (rightly so!) He worked hard to make sure that our tour went well; that all the accommodation and other matters were sorted with the minimum of fuss; and kept us all on track (and on time) with a cheery good humour. The meals and standard of accommodation were excellent throughout. I have so many wonderful memories but highlights for me include: body boarding down a sand dune; being the groups 'chief' at a Maori feast in Rotorua; Albatross and Sperm Whale watching at Kaikoura; a jet boat ride at Queenstown; and a helicopter flight and glacier hike at Franz Josef. I 'bookended' the tour with stays in Auckland and Christchurch. In Auckland I did the Hobbiton tour. I also jumped 625 feet off the Auckland Sky Tower – something I would never have imagined myself doing! While in Christchurch, I did the Lord of the Rings day trip to Mt Sunday (Edoras) – which was spectacular. Both the Hobbiton and Mt Sunday trips were booked through Relaxing Journeys. You are so lucky to live in a country like New Zealand. Every turn in the road showed another amazing view! Thank you for all your help when I was booking my holiday.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 10/02/2014
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 22 Day The Long White Cloud 22 Day The Long White Cloud

    We were surprised that there was a journey leader who was also the driver. No tour leader. This worked better in the South. AAT Kings had to make changes to the arrangments, which was disconcerting. People choose small group tours carefully and look at the details. To have these changed at the last minute is not good practice. The accommodation ranged from the excellent to the moderate, but on the whole good. The tour pace was broadly OK but sometimes long drives, and also accommodating small numbers to do special options caused issues for rest of group. Overall we much enjoyed the trip and saw a lot of NZ. We think that a visit to Waitangi grounds should be included. (Ed. For the 2014/15 season, the tour itinerary & accommodations have been revised)

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 03/02/2014
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 11 Day Takahe 11 Day Takahe

    Good tour, much enjoyed by all three of us. A great deal of credit to Moa Trek driver Ian Murray. Competent driver. Well organised all through the tour. Courteous and approachable. Knowledgable. Would have liked to get a bit closer to glaciers without having to pay $450 for a helicopter ride - which we didn't.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 31/01/2014
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 16 Day Ultimate Explorer 16 Day Ultimate Explorer

    Very well organised and thought-out route. There was too much time on the coach for me - but how else are you going to see so much?! Our driver/guide, Malcolm was excellent and you always felt safe in his hands. I would have preferred this to be 21 days and have additional time in places such as Queenstown, Rotorua, Bay of Islands etc. Great group on the bus (most of us first timers on coach trips). I have found the places I would like to go back to in New Zealand next time I visit family in Australia and I think you gave us a great snapshot about what your big little islands are all about! Weather wasn't that good, but a darn site better than in the UK!! Personal thanks to Toni, who is efficient, friendly and bubbly!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 31/01/2014
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 22 Day Kakapo 22 Day Kakapo

    I had a terrific experience with the small group lead by Ian Murray. First, your country is spetacular, from the beautiful Bay of Islands in the North to the snow-capped peaks of the South Island. For me the pacing of the tour was just right, enabling one to get a really good taste of the physical beauty of New Zealand. Also, I enjoyed the home visits and the cultural encounters and on my next visit I will find a tour that connects more with those aspects of the New Zealand experience.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 20/01/2014
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience

    Fantastic tour! Coach was 'Ultimate', and the envy of other coach travelers, and attraction staff who came out to take pics. Hotels great (except for one), meals fantastic, tour guide and driver were fantastic. So many great experiences crammed into 19 days! In so many we had preferred treatment. Excellent value for the money. Would recommend it to everyone. The only negative was the slow service at some hotels, and the late meals. When we don't finish eating until after 9, then have to go to bed at 9:30 to get up at 6, sleep is difficult. I understand that this timetable is necessary, but all hotels should be encouraged to have meals ready, or preordered, or the same sample platters for everyone, etc. I also understand that it is difficult to prepare food for 20 all at once, so perhaps not much can be done. Many thanks for arranging the experience of a lifetime.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 11/01/2014
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 11 Day Ultimate Christmas Tour 11 Day Ultimate Christmas Tour

    A lovely trip with just the right number of travellers.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 19/12/2013
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 22 Day The Long White Cloud 22 Day The Long White Cloud

    Excellent tour which covered all the areas we wished to see and much more. Very professional driver/guide. (Ed. For the 2014/15 season, the tour itinerary & accommodations have been revised)

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 16/12/2013
  • ReviewActive Small Group Tour 11 Day World Heritage Walking Tour 11 Day World Heritage Walking Tour

    My tour with NZ Trails was a trip of a lifetime - truly excellent. Our tour guide, Andrew Wells, was fantastic. He's extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and well organized. NZ Trails has put together a very good mix of trail hiking and other activities (kayaking, cave glowworm tour, glacier hiking, winery visits, etc.). I was initially somewhat hesitant to book this tour because of the cost, but it was absolutely worth every penny. The meals and accommodation were also excellent. Out of five stars, I give this tour a six!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 11/11/2013
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 18 Day Kiwi 18 Day Kiwi

    Moa Trek was a wonderful tour company. Ian Murray was a fantastic driver/guide; very knowledgeable about history, the country, etc. All of the places he took us were fantastic. Loved the visits at people's homes. The hotels were way above normal; in fact, possibly too luxurious, in that we didn't need two room suites for one night stays. All of the arrangements were perfect; no hassles at all. Relaxing Journeys did a great job in setting things up, and I highly recommend Moa Trek for anyone who wants a special vacation.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 07/11/2013
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 22 Day Kakapo 22 Day Kakapo

    This has been a thoroughly amazing trip. Every day has brought new vistas and experiences. The trip has exceeded our expectations on every count. We have stayed in outstanding locations with opportunities to explore and learn abut this wonderful country. Ian Murray has enhanced every aspect of the trip with his knowledge and love of his country, his professionalism and his sense of fun at every opportunity.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 04/11/2013
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 16 Day Ultimate Explorer 16 Day Ultimate Explorer

    All in all an excellent tour, made such not in small part by an experienced driver and guide. About the only modification I would consider worthwhile would be 'less' fancy meals, at least part of the time. After riding all day sitting twice, once for as much as two hours for dinner, and eating food is a bit more than we needed. The option of a quick buffet on a few of the stops instead of a full meal, which would allow more time to wander around before time to go to sleep and repeat it all the next day, would have been welcome. Don't get me wrong, the food was generally great, we just didn't need that much!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 28/10/2013
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience

    Our tour consultant, Mani, was just amazing! He was very timely and helpful in answering all our questions. Our tour was everything we had hoped for: stunning scenery every where we visited, outstanding accommodations/food and a super comfortable coach to tour in. We loved it! Thank you so much and we wish you only the best Mani.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 07/09/2013
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience 19 Day Ultimate Rail & Coach Experience

    There were some long days on the coach but this seems unavoidable given the territory we had to cover. I would have preferred more time for walking but I realize that this tour is not designed for hikers. Would be nice to have at least a few dinners at local restaurants instead of the hotels we stayed at. This was our experience when we travelled to China, and as it turned out, the dinners were one of the highlights of that tour. Of course, the focus in NZ should not be on food, but dining at local restaurants could add an extra touch to the New Zealand experience. On the subject of food: I informed the company that we are vegetarian; I think this message may not have been transmitted to the staff who were responsible for dining arrangements.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 07/09/2013
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    The tour was really great. Very well organized. Not only do you get a lot of information about the LOTR movies but also about NZ. The chosen hotels were all good. Highly recommended!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 08/04/2013
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 12 Day The Southern Drift 12 Day The Southern Drift

    The tour was very good. The hotels were excellent and the food on Stewert Island was very good. But the Buffet food at Skyline restaurant was not very good but the views were stunning. Also had a lunch in Te Anua at Kiwi World which was appalling. Our guide Marty and driver Dave were excellent...very knowledgable. (Ed. For the 2014/15 season, the tour itinerary & accommodations have been revised)

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 11/03/2013
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    Our Red Carpet Tour of Lord of the Rings sites and adventures was superb. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable, our fellowship members were fun and interesting, and all of the activities and sites were wonderful. I expected this tour to be top-notch, and it exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend it for all LOTR fans.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 11/02/2013
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    Red Carpet tours were fabulous! Great accommodations and Julie and Vic were knowledgable and wonderful hosts! Would tour New Zealand with them again!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 31/12/2012
  • ReviewLOTR Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour 15 Day Lord Of The Rings Tour

    The best tour I have ever experienced, from the flight there to the tour itself. Probably the number one tour program I ever been on and hope to attend again.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 31/12/2012
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 16 Day Ultimate Explorer 16 Day Ultimate Explorer

    The whole experience exceeded our expectations in almost every way. The only disappointment was that it was too dark to see anything when we got to the geyser and mud pools at the cultural centre at Rotorua; the same applied to the trip on the steam ship Earnslaw at Queenstown. The coach was fabulously comfortable and our driver (Chris) was fantastic. His commentary was really interesting and his driving was very professional. The people in the group were really compatable and we made some great friends. All the attractions included in the trip were relevant and informative. The comfort stops were all really clean and well timed. We had such a great time - thank you!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 07/05/2012
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 16 Day Ultimate Explorer 16 Day Ultimate Explorer

    Accomodations were excellent. Driver was very knowledgeable and kept us on schedule. Would have preferred a bit more free/unscheduled time although we wouldn't have seen as much if that were the case. The best part of the tour was the 'ultimate coach' - we never want to ride any other coach in the future!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 13/03/2012
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 22 Day The Long White Cloud 22 Day The Long White Cloud

    Just getting back to my normal life after returning from the most fantastic vacation I've ever taken. Suffice it to say that it was a 21 Day Grand Adventure. Our driver/guide Mr. Michael Robbins was the best, most knowledgeable and organized guide. He went out of his way often to provide little 'extras' for each of us. We covered over 5400 kilometers in 21 days, not counting the ferry crossings. And we saw it all and the lodging and food were all first class!! Fondest memory was seeing Mt. Cook at sunset and sunrise. Stunning! Saddest part: Seeing Christchurch in ruins. Prayers to all those who suffered and still suffer. I'll never forget this trip, the beautiful country of NZ and Michael. And last but not least, my tour consultant Kirby was there for me every step of the way so all the t's were crossed and all the i's dotted to put this trip together and make it all this happen. So thanks Kirby, thanks Michael and thanks Relaxing Journeys. Cheers and good on all of you, mates! (Ed. For the 2014/15 season, the tour itinerary & accommodations have been revised)

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 20/02/2012
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 11 Day The Endless Shores 11 Day The Endless Shores

    A very good introduction to the North island, its people, culture and highlights. We enjoyed the variety of activities and the information given by our driver/guide. Craig, the driver/guide, was excellent and added greatly to the overall experience. We hadn't realised that the main body of the group had just completed a tour of the South Island and it would have been good to have met up with them all before setting off in the coach on our Day 1. Overall a very enjoyable experience. (Ed. For the 2014/15 season, the tour itinerary & accommodations have been revised)

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 17/02/2012
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 22 Day The Long White Cloud 22 Day The Long White Cloud

    This was our second trip with Relaxing Journeys, they were both very good. The first one was very similar to the Grand Adventurer but a lot cheaper and was with a larger group. With 2 overnight boat trips, Milford Sound, Bay of Islands, farm stay and fantastic visit to Stewart Island, the Grand Adventurer was terrific. (Ed. In 2013/14 this small group tour has been adjusted to 14 days in length & renamed) It was a small group trip and one of the things that bothered me was the people coming and going on the trip, only doing parts of it. The hotels except for one were very good. We were expecting a smaller coach with nicer seats, the coach was smaller and we had lots of room to spread out. We have pretty well done all of the highlights on NZ now and don't think we will be going back, but we did meet a lot of nice people and hope to visit with them again, that was from both of our trips, the first one Australians and the second mostly English and a 2 couple from the US. (Ed. For the 2014/15 season, the tour itinerary & accommodations have been revised)

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 06/02/2012
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 19 Day Ultimate Discovery 19 Day Ultimate Discovery

    Wanted you to know that our just completed tour of New Zealand exceeded our expectations and that we are very pleased with our choice. The booking experience was thorough, courteous and you were patient with my endless questions. The choice of the 20 passenger coach has spoiled us for further coach travel and whatever we do will have to be held to the high standards of luxury and convenience that Grand Pacific provided on this tour. And, if you Grand Pacific don't not have a company full of Chris Hannahs, they should endeavor to make it so. He proved time and again to be the right mix of information, cheerfulness, schedule-keeping and an encyclopedic amount of facts and history. He is the kind of fellow you want as a friend and neighbor as well. Thank you for the thoughtful assembly of the sights, sounds, tastes and history. More than a few of our friends here in Carlsbad, CA and across the U.S. will be encouraged by us to join your tour.

    - 14/02/2011
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 10 Day Ultimate South Island Escape 10 Day Ultimate South Island Escape

    Our overall experience was excellent, and I much appreciate the skill and patience with which you overcame my nervousness about booking an expensive tour with a company I had not previously known anything about, and over the internet at that! I'll be pleased to serve as a reference as and if you encounter other nervous potential American clients, and of course you will hear from us as and if we are again in the market for a tour in Australia or New Zealand.

    - 06/03/2009