New Zealand Small Group Tours Reviews

Small Group Tours

118 New Zealand Small Group Tours Reviews

4.8/5.0

4.8 out of 5 based on 118 user reviews.

Overall Tour Rating
Value For Money
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Relaxing Journeys Experience

Filter By:

Reviews

5
Small Group Tour
03/05/2019
This is the way to see New Zealand both North and South Islands. The bus was luxurious and our group of 20 was very comfortable and never so large so as to be disorganized. We had an outstanding coach captain and driver, Paul, who presented his country very well.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
15/03/2019
Thoroughly enjoyable! From our perspective, this is the only way to tour both islands. Marie, our agent at Relaxing Journeys was very helpful and answered all questions in a timely manner. Transfers to/from the airports were handled in a professional manner. The coach is very comfortable and makes plenty of stops for tours and breaks. Even though each seat in the coach is wonderful, Grand Pacific has a seat rotation plan that will move you to different seats throughout the entire coach during the tour - nobody has a bad seat. Hotels were the best in the area, and the included meals were varied and delicious. We had a change in drivers during the tour and can say without reservation that both John and Roger took excellent care of everyone. The tours were interesting, and in some cases unusual. The optional Skipper's Canyon tour in Queenstown allowed us to view fantastic landscape - you may be annoyed by sand flies, so make certain you bring some insect repellent. The overnight Doubtful Sound cruise was also a highlight and provided fantastic views. Don't overpack - You'll find laundry facilities during the journey, and two of the hotels have a free guest laundry. Loved the trip!
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
03/03/2019
This Kirra tour was exactly was I was expecting plus a little bit more. Outstanding driver-guide, David, was knowledgeable, professional, and most helpful, especially when I pulled a stupid tourist stunt and when I got sick. The tour was recommended by Marie, at Relaxing Journeys, after I explained what I wanted. She clearly listened carefully to my wishes ("small group, please, big bus groups will have me running the other way") made the perfect suggestion and then followed through with attention to all details. Since I am in US, we did all of this by email, without a hitch. I am a most happy customer with great memories of my special three weeks in NZ. I highly recommend Marie, at Relaxing Journeys.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
03/03/2019
At the end of my Kirra tour, Marie made the arrangements for me to go on to Napier for a few days because I was keen to see the Art Deco architecture. She clearly listened to my preferences for hotels and activities. A morning walking architectural tour was excellent followed by a fun "safari" to see the gannets. The great surprise was the jaw dropping landscape one travels to get to the gannets. I loved Napier - Wished I had planned a longer stay. Marie checked all of my wishlist boxes, efficiently and completely.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
18/02/2019
This was an incredible tour, with a fine group of people and a terrific tour director and a very good driver. The three weeks were necessary to view all the fine things New Zealand had to offer. Would recommend to others with no hesitation.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
26/01/2019
This was the best tour. Small groups and VERY comfortable bus. Just amazing getting to see so much in a short time. Highly recommended if you want to see most of New Zealand in a short time. Great value for the money.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Small Group Tour
30/12/2018
Hate the early morning starts but realise that's part and parcel of a coach tour. There's a lot to see over the course of a day and we covered a lot of ground.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
05/12/2018
When people ask us how was our New Zealand tour, we say "special". We came away feeling this was the best way to see the two islands of New Zealand in 16 days. Dave, our tour guide, was knowledgeable, organized and personable. We would highly recommend the small group tour- the bus was comfortable and each person had a window seat. As this was our first tour, we thought it would have been nice to have more 2 night stays and will take this into consideration in the future.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Small Group Tour
28/10/2018
A fast paced tour. Overall excellent, but the service in two hotels was poor, one of which was located out further out of town than we liked.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
03/09/2018
Absolutely loved this holiday. The LOTR tour felt a lot longer than two weeks, there was so much to see and do. The group I was with were fantastic too - we all got on really well. Julie @RCT is a star - she worked so hard to ensure everything went smoothly. I can't wait to head back to New Zealand - still so much more to explore.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
03/09/2018
I can not praise Relaxing Journeys and Red Carpet Tours enough! I have had the most wonderful holiday and one that I will never forget. Toni and Mani were extremely helpful before The trip and Julie from Red Carpet Tours worked tirelessly to make the tour an unforgettable experience. I was quite anxious as a solo traveller but the Fellowship bonded very quickly as we shared this fantastic experience together. I would highly recommend this tour to anybody but especially those who love Lord of The Rings and The Hobbit films.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
22/04/2018
Small group and Ultimate Coach, the only way to travel. The tour beyond our expectations and our driver/guide/"nanny", Davis Underwood was the very best with a wealth of knowledge, wonderful sense of humor and an excellent driver to boot. Both islands are stunning and we were very happy with the selected optional tours.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
15/04/2018
Outstanding tour. Saw NZ from top to bottom. Paul an excellent driver and guide. Meals and hotels quite good overall. Lots of driving involved but the elegant coach made it quite comfortable. With only 20 people, everyone became pretty friendly during trip.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
31/03/2018
Loved the tour. Would recommend it. Everything was taken care of with no worries for us. Only complaint would be the audio system on the coach. The driver was hard to understand. Also would like to see shades that pull down from the top of the window to block the sun in the early morning and late afternoon or if that's not possible some window tinting at the top. Not crazy about the three buffets. The food was excellent in the hotels with the exception of the Distinction in Dunedin. The hotel itself in Dunedin was superior but the food did not live up to the rest of the hotel. The tours were all handled very well. We felt very welcome in the country. Again, we loved the tour and would highly recommend it.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Small Group Tour
24/03/2018
Well put together tour. Many quality inclusions, nice hotels and every day well prepared highlights and places of interest to visit. Coach driver Kevin was fantastic while the small group (14) contributed to a very "relaxing journey".
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
3
Small Group Tour
21/03/2018
Good safe driver . Think having a choice of things to do on a couple of stops would make the tour better for most. For example not everyone is interested in wine tasting etc . We were delivered to our hotel in Rotorua around lunch time so it would have been nice to have a quick tour around that town instead of leaving the next day having seen nothing except the cultural centre, which was lovely. But having said this we were happy to have done the tour. Cheers.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
15/03/2018
We had a great time touring your country. The people are very friendly and happy. We highly recommend the Ultimate Tour with Grand Pacific. Paul was our coach driver, and he did an excellent job. The coach was very nice, and with only 20 people in the group it created a more relaxing atmosphere for the various daily activities. Toni, thanks for all your help.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
12/03/2018
LOTR 15 day tour is fantastic! This is the 2nd time we've been on the tour. If you are a LOTR fan this is definitely the tour for you! Julie, our tour guide was amazing! We plan on doing it for a 3rd time in a coupe of years! We highly recommended the LOTR 15 day tour! Relaxing Journeys is top notch! We've used them to plan two of our holidays to New Zealand and we will use them again when we return in a couple of years. We highly recommend them.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Small Group Tour
18/02/2018
This was our first ever escorted tour, and much of it was superb. Pre-trip arrangements through Marie were great. The Kirra trip captain was outstanding, the accommodations were excellent (except for a couple) and the included meals were over the top (again, with an exception or two). An introductory dinner on night 1 would have been helpful, as well as a listing of tour participants - perhaps just names and where from. Kirra Tours letter indicated a morning get-together for breakfast and a briefing on Day 2, but there was none-- only "please board the bus" and then a 1 minute intro of trip captain. Internet service was extremely spotty at a couple of locations. 18 days on a coach became quite weary, particularly those days with a lot of driving and not much else. Thought the nights in Hanmer Springs and Martinsborough were somewhat ho-hum. Not much to do in either. Also thought the Taieri Gorge railway excursion was overrated-- 4 hours on a slow train for 20 minutes of scenery; would have rather had time to explore Dunedin more. Thought the Maori experience in Rotorua was much too touristy and commercialized. Good meal, but a cattle car experience. High points were Doubtful Sound, Mt. Cook, catamaran sail on Lake Rotoiti, and Hobbiton. 2 nights in major cities also appreciated. All in all 9 out of 10. Definitely would recommend to others.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
22/01/2018
For a luxury tour the coach provided was sub-standard. The seats were not particularly comfortable, had limited adjustment and no cup-holders. On the only day it rained, fortunately just the last one, it leaked badly on both sides of the aisle. As we were 13 on a 20 seater people were able to move to dry seats. I hope it was changed in Christchurch for the second NI part of the tour.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
21/01/2018
Kevin our tour captain made the trip. Very knowledgeable about the history, geology, social issues, you name it, he could tell you about it.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
14/11/2017
Great way to see the country in a small group (less than 20 people), but using a full sized coach that is adapted for this number.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
01/11/2017
Don't change anything. Perfect as is.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Small Group Tour
21/10/2017
The trip was well organized, the driver (and host) was friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable. The lodging and events were just wonderful. I feel we got a very thorough look at this beautiful country.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
LOTR Tour
04/09/2017
This tour is set up to cater for hard core Tolkien Fans. I wouldn't recommend this tour to someone with a casual or interest or who has just watched the movies. It is an expensive tour, but it is worth the money you pay.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

Results 1-25 of 118

Next Page