New Zealand Self Drive Holiday Reviews

Driving to Paradise from Glenorchy

1018 New Zealand Self Drive Holiday Reviews

4.7/5.0

4.7 out of 5 based on 1018 user reviews.

Overall Tour Rating
Value For Money
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Relaxing Journeys Experience

View all Self Drive Tours

Filter By:

Reviews

5
Budget Self Drive
23/01/2020
The trip was well planned for us (group of 4 girls) and met with what we wanted. The choices of accommodation were also excellent. The cars were in great condition with easy process to pick up and drop off. We had a great time and thank you for organising this trip for us.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

3
Budget Self Drive
22/01/2020
It was too short to see more sights or towns
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

4
Budget Self Drive
16/01/2020
This tour was a whistle stop tour of NZ going to many fabulous places. It was well organised with no hitches from start to finish. I am grateful we got to Milford Sound before the road was damaged by extreme rains. Now having done this tour I would like to return to some areas to see them in more depth.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Mid Range Self Drive
02/01/2020
Fantastic holiday only very good is accommodation...some places were a bit old and tired...but others were fabulous....our room at Taupo was an absolute highlight
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Budget Self Drive
16/12/2019
This is our second vacation in New Zealand, both organized by Relaxing Journeys. We had a wonderful experience!!
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

4
Mid Range Self Drive
08/11/2019
We loved New Zealand. You made everything so easy. My only suggestion is that the Heartland Hotels seemed to need some updating. We didn't really care about fancy hotels (even though we loved the Rainforest Retreat at Franz Josef) but would have appreciated a little nicer rooms and would have been willing to pay a little more. Also, the internet in these hotels was spotty and sometimes didn't work. All in all though, we were happy as we didn't spend that much time in the rooms. We really appreciated being able to call you when we had issues with the breakfasts and that was taken care of so easily. The rental car pick up and delivery were so easy and we really appreciated the suggestions of things to do on our itinerary during the drives from place to place. You kiwis are so very friendly and helpful.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Budget Self Drive
10/10/2019
We absolutely loved our trip right from booking all of our accommodation and experiences with Chelsea right through to our last night in Christchurch. We found some really great spots along the way especially a little Italian restaurant in Nelson, Babagatto, which was the most delicious meal we have ever had in our lives and a great host in Raff who is so passionate about his culture. Although we didn't have the best weather for some of our drives the scenery around us was absolutely breathtaking and even on our longest journey it didn't feel like we saw enough! Hobbiton is a must see on the North Island even if you aren't a Lord of the Rings fan as well as Fergburger in Queenstown which is well worth the wait!
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Boutique Self Drive
06/09/2019
An amazing experience. This tour allowed us to see the unique natural beauty and attractions of the North Island. Lots of geothermal magnificence accompanied by the sublime beauty of New Zealand.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Mid Range Self Drive
02/06/2019
The tour was excellent overall. The right time at each place and appropriate route. We did find Arrowtown a worthy visit which wasn't listed on your itinerary so may be worth listing for future clients. All hotels where excellent barring the one in Queenstown. The room we were given was dirty and the heating didn't work. Although this is something out of anybody's control we reported it the next morning but by the evening nobody had fixed it or even serviced the room! We reported it to reception and in fairness we were then moved. Maybe worth considering for future clients the standard of this hotel. Another thing is you can't put postcodes into the satnav system but on the last day we were returning to the airport at 4am and it wouldn't allow us to put in airport as it needed the street name of which we didn't have. Would be worth therefore putting this on the itinerary. Thank you for your service which we found first class.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Budget Self Drive
27/05/2019
From the extremely helpful staff and quick replies by email to the easy to read itinerary the trip was an amazing success. We had enough things to do without having to book many more beyond what the tour offered even the long car trips were fun and relaxing with some of the most scenic views in valleys and on mountains.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Budget Self Drive
06/05/2019
A great introduction tour to New Zealand's South Island.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

4
Mid Range Self Drive
04/05/2019
All hotels were excellent for the trip, the only comment I would have is that the Heartland Cotswold in Christchurch is looking tired and pales compared to others such as the Heritage in Queenstown. Otherwise, I would recommend Relaxing Journeys to all.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

4
Mid Range Self Drive
09/04/2019
Well organised, easy to follow itinerary, well selected accommodation that met our needs .
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Boutique Self Drive
05/04/2019
Everything went smoothly with the transfers, and our accommodations were superb, with plenty of opportunities to savour local food and wine. Our tours were interesting, fun, and very worthwhile with their emphasis on NZ history and Maori culture, and our tour guides were enthusiastic and knowledgable. The pace of driving was just right. All in all, we would strongly recommend this package!
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Budget Self Drive
05/04/2019
Relaxing Journeys made our holiday smooth & hassle free.Everything was organised so well, we only had to enjoy ourselves, which we certainly did. An amazing & beautiful country with lovely people.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

4
Mid Range Self Drive
11/03/2019
My wife and I really enjoyed our trip. Marie was very helpful in tailoring the holiday for us. The accommodation and tour bookings arranged by Relaxing Journeys all proceeded without a problem. Our only feedback is that the standard of accommodation booked in Christchurch was of a lesser standard than other locations and was a bit disappointing.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Mid Range Self Drive
08/03/2019
We had an incredible holiday in New Zealand, thanks to Relaxing Journeys and our patient consultant Georgina. We saw the awesome landscape from road, train, boat, small plane, kayak and on foot. We smelled native beech forests, touched smooth blue icebergs and were followed by fantails on a lagoon. We climbed mountain tracks and saw spectacular sunsets. The accommodation was excellent, right down to the last night as we looked out across the lights of Auckland from our balcony.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Budget Self Drive
05/03/2019
We found working with Jo and Chelsea at Relaxing Journeys to be an excellent experience. They created a tour plan for us that met our wishes setting us up for a truly memorable New Zealand adventure. The self driving tour gave us a good mix of planned activities as recommended by Relaxing Journeys and flexibility to pursue our own interests as we traveled.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

4
Budget Self Drive
02/03/2019
Thank you Relaxing Jouneys and thank you Teresa. You guys are great, the time saved to streamline our vacation is really much appreciated. South Island has so much to see and do, you guys are most fortunate and yet it's gonna be tough to keep improving, but here goes. We had several minor negatives, amazingly lots of positives, but overall South Island is just so amazing we believe everyone would need much more then 2 weeks or multiple trips to appreciate the beauty that is NZ. Thank you again.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Boutique Self Drive
28/02/2019
Great organisation and lots of tips on what to see and do both between each town / city where we had reservations at hotels and at each location too.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Budget Self Drive
28/02/2019
Our trip to NZ was excellent, a bucket list journey. Was really impressed with the Trips/Tramps day trip to Milford, Andrew was a fabulous guide. Hard to mess up a place as beautiful as Fiordland. Car and accommodations were all to expectations. No surprises is always a good way to have a vacation.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Budget Self Drive
24/02/2019
Everything worked out perfectly.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Budget Self Drive
20/02/2019
Marie organised our holiday just as we requested and suggested things of interest we could do from each place. It certainly made our time in New Zealand a real joy. Everything worked out as planned, and we didn't have any problems our disappointments. The hire car, was as requested, the accommodation that Marie chose for us was much better than we expected. thanks to all of you for again making our holiday most enjoyable.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

4
Budget Self Drive
11/02/2019
We really enjoyed the 16 day Discovery tour. It was a well planned itinerary and all the staff of Relaxing Journeys were extremely helpful throughout the whole process of booking and organising our holiday. Particularly Georgina Clarke, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Mid Range Self Drive
11/02/2019
West Coast is perfect. All accommodation was perfect. Would book with you again.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

Results 1-25 of 1018

Next Page