New Zealand Self Drive Holiday Reviews

Driving to Paradise from Glenorchy

1009 New Zealand Self Drive Holiday Reviews

4.7/5.0

4.7 out of 5 based on 1009 user reviews.

Overall Tour Rating
Value For Money
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Relaxing Journeys Experience

Filter By:

Reviews

5
Mid Range Self Drive
02/06/2019
The tour was excellent overall. The right time at each place and appropriate route. We did find Arrowtown a worthy visit which wasn't listed on your itinerary so may be worth listing for future clients. All hotels where excellent barring the one in Queenstown. The room we were given was dirty and the heating didn't work. Although this is something out of anybody's control we reported it the next morning but by the evening nobody had fixed it or even serviced the room! We reported it to reception and in fairness we were then moved. Maybe worth considering for future clients the standard of this hotel. Another thing is you can't put postcodes into the satnav system but on the last day we were returning to the airport at 4am and it wouldn't allow us to put in airport as it needed the street name of which we didn't have. Would be worth therefore putting this on the itinerary. Thank you for your service which we found first class.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Budget Self Drive
27/05/2019
From the extremely helpful staff and quick replies by email to the easy to read itinerary the trip was an amazing success. We had enough things to do without having to book many more beyond what the tour offered even the long car trips were fun and relaxing with some of the most scenic views in valleys and on mountains.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Budget Self Drive
06/05/2019
A great introduction tour to New Zealand's South Island.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Mid Range Self Drive
04/05/2019
All hotels were excellent for the trip, the only comment I would have is that the Heartland Cotswold in Christchurch is looking tired and pales compared to others such as the Heritage in Queenstown. Otherwise, I would recommend Relaxing Journeys to all.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Mid Range Self Drive
09/04/2019
Well organised, easy to follow itinerary, well selected accommodation that met our needs .
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Boutique Self Drive
05/04/2019
Everything went smoothly with the transfers, and our accommodations were superb, with plenty of opportunities to savour local food and wine. Our tours were interesting, fun, and very worthwhile with their emphasis on NZ history and Maori culture, and our tour guides were enthusiastic and knowledgable. The pace of driving was just right. All in all, we would strongly recommend this package!
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Budget Self Drive
05/04/2019
Relaxing Journeys made our holiday smooth & hassle free.Everything was organised so well, we only had to enjoy ourselves, which we certainly did. An amazing & beautiful country with lovely people.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Mid Range Self Drive
11/03/2019
My wife and I really enjoyed our trip. Marie was very helpful in tailoring the holiday for us. The accommodation and tour bookings arranged by Relaxing Journeys all proceeded without a problem. Our only feedback is that the standard of accommodation booked in Christchurch was of a lesser standard than other locations and was a bit disappointing.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Mid Range Self Drive
08/03/2019
We had an incredible holiday in New Zealand, thanks to Relaxing Journeys and our patient consultant Georgina. We saw the awesome landscape from road, train, boat, small plane, kayak and on foot. We smelled native beech forests, touched smooth blue icebergs and were followed by fantails on a lagoon. We climbed mountain tracks and saw spectacular sunsets. The accommodation was excellent, right down to the last night as we looked out across the lights of Auckland from our balcony.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Budget Self Drive
05/03/2019
We found working with Jo and Chelsea at Relaxing Journeys to be an excellent experience. They created a tour plan for us that met our wishes setting us up for a truly memorable New Zealand adventure. The self driving tour gave us a good mix of planned activities as recommended by Relaxing Journeys and flexibility to pursue our own interests as we traveled.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Budget Self Drive
02/03/2019
Thank you Relaxing Jouneys and thank you Teresa. You guys are great, the time saved to streamline our vacation is really much appreciated. South Island has so much to see and do, you guys are most fortunate and yet it's gonna be tough to keep improving, but here goes. We had several minor negatives, amazingly lots of positives, but overall South Island is just so amazing we believe everyone would need much more then 2 weeks or multiple trips to appreciate the beauty that is NZ. Thank you again.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Budget Self Drive
28/02/2019
Our trip to NZ was excellent, a bucket list journey. Was really impressed with the Trips/Tramps day trip to Milford, Andrew was a fabulous guide. Hard to mess up a place as beautiful as Fiordland. Car and accommodations were all to expectations. No surprises is always a good way to have a vacation.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Boutique Self Drive
28/02/2019
Great organisation and lots of tips on what to see and do both between each town / city where we had reservations at hotels and at each location too.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Budget Self Drive
24/02/2019
Everything worked out perfectly.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Budget Self Drive
20/02/2019
Marie organised our holiday just as we requested and suggested things of interest we could do from each place. It certainly made our time in New Zealand a real joy. Everything worked out as planned, and we didn't have any problems our disappointments. The hire car, was as requested, the accommodation that Marie chose for us was much better than we expected. thanks to all of you for again making our holiday most enjoyable.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Budget Self Drive
11/02/2019
We really enjoyed the 16 day Discovery tour. It was a well planned itinerary and all the staff of Relaxing Journeys were extremely helpful throughout the whole process of booking and organising our holiday. Particularly Georgina Clarke, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Mid Range Self Drive
11/02/2019
West Coast is perfect. All accommodation was perfect. Would book with you again.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Budget Self Drive
07/02/2019
My husband and I wanted a tour that showcased New Zealand and also offered plenty of exhilarating activities. Relaxing Journeys did an excellent job of blending those two things into a 19 day tour. Marie Sarmon was always very helpful during the planning process and during our trip when we had to make unexpected changes. We will definitely work with Relaxing Journeys in the future if we return to New Zealand.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Mid Range Self Drive
01/02/2019
We recently completed the 16 Day Essence of New Zealand tour that we booked with you. I wanted to give you some feedback on the tour, so here it goes. First off, we enjoyed the tour very much. We had a great time and feel that we saw most of the country. We were quite happy with most of the hotels you booked for us; many exceeded my expectations. Our tour started in Auckland. We switched out one night in Blenheim for one extra night in Auckland. As it turns out, this was the right choice. Our flight landed in Auckland at 5:30PM and it took us a while to get out of the airport; we probably didn't get our rental car until at least 6:45. As such, had we not added a night in Auckland, there really would not have been any time to see the city. For me, our cruise of Auckland's harbor was one of the highlights of the North Island. Next we went to Rotorua via the Waitomo Glow Worm Caves. Using the voucher went smoothly. Our stay in Rotorua went well but there were a few things I'd change. Other than the glow worm caves, all of our activity vouchers were for Rotorua. This left us with a choice of either doing only things we had vouchers for or wasting vouchers. It would have been nice if they were spread out more throughout the trip. For example, an easy change would be to give a voucher for Skyline Queenstown instead of Skyline Rotorua. Also, our hotel in Rotorua, the Sudima Lake Rotorua, was clearly not up to the level of the other hotels on the trip and we did not care much for it. Also, we did not use the voucher for the Polynesian Spa because we did not know we would be given one and so we did not bring swimwear. If we had known in advance we'd receive this voucher, this would have been helpful. After leaving Rotorua, we spent the night in Lake Taupo. We liked the town and loved our hotel there, the Reef Resort. We arrived in early afternoon and then went hiking in Tongariro National Park (NP). The following day, as planned we woke up early and drove to Wellington, arriving in early/mid afternoon. That afternoon was our only available day of doing anything in Wellington, and we found plenty to do there. In order to break up the drive, maybe it would be good to have people stay at the south end of Lake Taupo, near Turangi. The ferry to the South Island was great and enjoyable. We enjoyed Picton and the wineries near Blenheim. We spent the next night in Christchurch; we arrived around 5 and then walked around the city a bit. I'm glad we did because we didn't have a lot of time to later, as I thought we would. Driving from Christchurch to Lake Tekapo the next day took longer than I thought it would, but I loved staying by the lake. I was able to go out at night and see the stars in this International Dark Sky Reserve. The next day we drove to Queenstown via Mt. Cook; it was long day but enjoyable. In Queenstown we were thrilled with our hotel, the Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel, the only one of the entire trip that gave us breakfast for free. Of our two days in Queenstown, one day we took a Milford Sound tour (which was great, but long), and the other day we walked around, went up to the Skyline and took a jet boat ride. It was all very enjoyable. The next day we drove through Arrowtown, Wanaka and Mt. Aspiring NP on our way to Fox Glacier. We fit a lot in on this rather lengthy drive. In staying in the town of Fox Glacier, we went to Franz Josef Glacier in the morning but then did nothing in the afternoon due to rain; had the weather cooperated, the plan was to see Lake Matheson. Although staying in Franz Josef might have been better (shorter drive the next day, closer to glacier we toured), I'm not sure I would change that because the clerk at the hotel informed us of a great place to see Fox Glacier we would not have known about otherwise, plus I enjoyed the food in Fox Glacier. The next day was also a long day, taking us from Fox Glacier back to Christchurch. Along the way we stopped at the Pancake Rocks, which we thought were worthwhile. Arthur's Pass NP was also scenic, but with the time, we largely just drove through it, stopping once or twice for a quick picture. We made it back to Christchurch around 6:45, which allowed to us keep a reservation we'd made for a local restaurant when we were there previously. The next morning, with our flight to Auckland leaving at 6PM, we visited the Canterbury Museum, did Punting on the Avon, and briefly visited the International Antarctic Center. All in all, it was great. I'd rate it a 5 out of 5. There were some long days, but even with those we managed to pack a lot in. The only real changes I think I'd make are 1) space out the vouchers a bit more 2) spend the night of Day 4 farther south to allow for more time in Wellington and 3) include a trip to Milford Sound, which was incredible. I also think it would be good to inform people of some of the options more. I see them on the page now, but was not aware of them prior to our departure.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Mid Range Self Drive
29/01/2019
Very well planned route, saw us through both North and South Islands, with on the whole excellent accomodation and plenty of oppportunity to experience a great deal of what the country has to offer. Marie was fantastic, available outside the normal hours and ready to assist with our very last minute changes without hesitation. Thank you so much, you made or tour an amazing memory.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Budget Self Drive
21/01/2019
Great itinerary and excellent organisation, all planned items had been delivered smoothly as expected. Accommodation at Queenstown was great - with a great view over the lake (except that it was rather stressful to carry the luggage via a long, narrow and steep stairs into the apartment unit, especially for senior folks). Accommodations at other locations were pretty good too. Choice of rental car for four was great too - comfortable and spacious. We have no reservation in recommending Relaxing Journeys to others, in particular the very reliable customer services of its Australian market manager, Ms Chelsea Sharman.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Budget Self Drive
14/01/2019
All elements of our trip worked extremely well. Rental car was very good, hotels booked were excellent and no problems at any point.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Budget Self Drive
14/01/2019
We asked for a mix of vehicle rental and some accommodation ( as we had a few days already planned to stay with friends) and your agents Mani Fugundes (who left after our first few arrangements) and Chelsea Cherri ( who finalised our booking) did a superb job. Can not fault any of the arrangements - all worked like clockwork and very good quality.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Budget Self Drive
08/01/2019
Nicely arranged, planned, and timed for self touring.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Mid Range Self Drive
04/01/2019
All the arrangements were terrific. We enjoyed every accommodation, the breakfasts and the tours. We had two minor hiccups but they were easily rectified. The suggestions for stops along the route were helpful, as well.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

Results 1-25 of 1009

Next Page