New Zealand Self Drive Holiday Reviews

Driving to Paradise from Glenorchy

981 New Zealand Self Drive Holiday Reviews

4.7/5.0

4.7 out of 5 based on 981 user reviews.

Overall Tour Rating
Value For Money
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Relaxing Journeys Experience

Filter By:

Reviews

5
Budget Self Drive
27/12/2018
Would just have liked to have longer time in every spot - but I was limited to 14 days - so would make it a longer trip next time.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Budget Self Drive
22/12/2018
This was our second time booking though Relaxing Journeys. This time we chose to customize our driving tour around the South Island. Once again everything went very smoothly and Marie booked some lovely accommodation for us. We chose to stay two nights in most places as we liked having a day free from driving and this worked well for us this time. I would highly recommend Marie and Relaxing Journeys for putting together a very enjoyable holiday.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Premium Self Drive
22/12/2018
We recently completed our 10 day tour of northern New Zealand through Relaxing Journey's services. They made all arrangements for accommodations, rental cars and tickets for activities. Our agent Marie Sarmon understood our requirements and interests and created a perfect self drive custom package for us. Marie was very accommodating and clarified any doubts during the planning phases. The activities suggested by Marie were terrific. It helped us to explore and enjoy the beauty of New Zealand at our own pace. Overall it was a fantastic trip for my family. Thank you Marie Sarmon and Team at Relaxing Journeys for a memorable vacation.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Budget Self Drive
18/12/2018
This was an amazing vacation. Relaxing Journeys had everything planned perfectly. Vouchers were easily accepted at each stop, we had time to explore each stop along the way and everyone was so friendly. We had one question and emailed our rep Jo, and she quickly responded and helped us book a coach through Milford Sound so we didn't have to drive the 5 hours each way. Definitely recommend taking the coach there. Everything was perfect, can't recommend this company enough. They do all the hard part so all you have to do is show up and enjoy.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Budget Self Drive
18/12/2018
Overall, we were very pleased with the trip and thought the itinerary (even though reversed) worked very well. Lots of driving but the pace and destinations were great. The train and Milford Sound cruise were unique. We're also very grateful to have had the chance to stay at Larnach Castle at Dunedin, especially over Christmas. Only two accommodations were not quite up to our standards (Aotea Motel in Christchurch and Distinction Luxmore in Te Anau) but that's understandable given the summer season. Teresa did a fantastic job assisting in the planning and making this trip possible!
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Self Drive
12/12/2018
We booked a 10-day Pure South Island Tour with Relaxing Journeys and used them to arrange our hotels and car transport. I just wanted to share how much I enjoy dealing with Relaxing Journeys. You have great people working to make business travel as painless as possible. I have worked a lot with Georgina Clarke - she is brilliant and outstanding. She is customer focused, cheerful and always willing to help you find the best travel options. I will definitely book with them again and have recommended them to my friends and family.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Mid Range Self Drive
09/12/2018
Overall, Relaxing Journeys, specifically Georgina did a fine job helping us with our 2 week NZ adventure. Well organized, packed with fun and beauty. Many thanks!
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Budget Self Drive
05/12/2018
Best way to see North and South Islands of New Zealand at your own leisure.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Self Drive
05/12/2018
Many thanks to Relaxing Journeys for the awesome vacation we had in NZ. The custom package prepared by Chelsea was perfect for us. What a great, carefree way to experience NZ!
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Mid Range Self Drive
04/12/2018
We had a great holiday in the Bay of Islands. The accommodation was of a good standard with the B&B in Mangawhei and the villa in Hokianga the standouts. The organised tours were well run and informative - the locally run tours (Earth Mother Tours)in Paihia and Hokianga (Footprints) were exceptional, intimate and very culturally informative. We preferred these smaller tours to the more mass transit tours like the bus trip to Cape Reinga. Russell, Hokianga and the Whangaparaoa Peninsula are hidden gems.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Premium Self Drive
10/11/2018
It might be a good idea to offer an extra day every week or so that has no planned driving or activities. We had one such day in Queenstown near the end of the trip that was very relaxing and realised it would have been good to have a couple more earlier in the trip.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Mid Range Self Drive
09/11/2018
Very reasonably and highly professionally organized tour. The selected accommodations and activities were excellent and exciting. Everything delivered promptly. The tour worth its money.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Mid Range Self Drive
01/11/2018
The trip went very smoothly and we had a great time! The hotel rooms were nice and we almost always had a small kitchen and sometimes, a washer/dryer! We particularly loved the chateau at Mt. Cook and the lakefront room in Queenstown. There were a few places where the WiFi was spotty (Franz Joseph) or limited, but it was generally quite good. The activities that were suggested by the company were terrific and they were very responsive to any requests for additions or changed. The materials in the packet we picked up were also very helpful.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Budget Self Drive
31/10/2018
This is one of the best self drive trips I have ever experienced. The car is great, the motels are good and comfy, and the itinerary is perfect. Couldn't ask for any better. In just 16 days we have covered almost all must visits in NZ. Relaxing Journeys really is a professional agency that provides the best for their clients. Next time I'm touring in NZ, it will also be with Relaxing Journeys.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Mid Range Self Drive
29/10/2018
It was all excellent. Just one accommodation was a lower standard than the rest, but it was still good.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Budget Self Drive
27/10/2018
This was such a wonderful holiday with the family. The locations were just postcard perfect. The beauty of the South Island is truely amazing. The tour was easy to book and understand thanks to Relaxing Journeys specialty. Everything turned out perfectly. I would gladly visit NZ again via Relaxing Journeys anytime. Staff were friendly and made planning this holiday for a busy young family a breeze.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Budget Self Drive
25/10/2018
Our tour was very well organised and everything worked perfectly. All the accommodation was good, though we were disappointed with the Wellington Hotel. Our room was described as a "courtyard" double but in fact looked out at a wall of windows a few feet away. Also there was no room for a bedside table or lamp on one side of the bed. However we loved the Kimi Ora resort at Kaiteriteri and would recommend this very highly. Thank you Chelsea!
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
3
Boutique Self Drive
23/10/2018
Our overall experience for the services provided were good. Here is some feedback. Our favorite hotel was FINO in Christchurch. Least favorite Punakaiki Resort. Our favorite tour, punting on the Avon. I can suggest better instructions how to find the SuperShuttle pick up location on the Auckland Domestic terminal. Upon arriving in AKL, picked our bags at the Jetsar baggage area we went outside and could not find a Super Shuttle. Had to call them for help where to go. The other negative from our visit was not your fault. The rain followed us rom day one! We will have to return when there is better weather. :-)
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Budget Self Drive
22/10/2018
Relaxing Journeys put together an amazing holiday for us that was so well organised and planned to that we got to see the best of everything NZ South Island had to offer in 12 days. I highly recommend this company great communication from staff and the whole process was easy start to finish. Thank you Relaxing Journeys (Marie) for making our trip one we won't forget.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Mid Range Self Drive
20/10/2018
Very well organised, instructions and documentation clear and complete.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Self Drive
17/10/2018
Well planned, supported by great customer service and follow up at all times during the pre and post trip phases.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Mid Range Self Drive
14/10/2018
Our self drive tour exceeded our expectations. The country is beautiful and our days were busy but not hectic. We really enjoyed our Kruse commentary during our travels, and some of the scenic detours were great. Everything was planned perfectly and the voucher system makes the hotel and excursion check ins very easy. We could not be happier with our trip and the great job Relaxing Journeys did for us in planning it.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
4
Budget Self Drive
10/09/2018
First night accommodation at Queenstown was average but the rest of the trip was very enjoyable. Thank you.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Premium Self Drive
06/09/2018
We loved the Glaciers and Mountains Tour. Relaxing Journeys and Mani were great. Every aspect was so well organised. Our accommodation was superb. We enjoyed the trip so much we will be booking with them again. Thanks to all at Relaxing Journeys for helping make our New Zealand experience so memorable.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience
5
Mid Range Self Drive
03/09/2018
We loved our holiday and the organisation was fantastic. We were met at the airport as promised and had a very helpful driver who gave us lots of 'tips'. All the hotels were good except The Copthorne Hotel and Apartments in Queenstown which was very old fashioned and definitely in need of some redecoration. All the other hotels were excellent and spot on. The travel consultant Mani was excellent, he was prompt, efficient and did a great job organising our tour. I would highly recommend their services and this tour in particular if you want to see the South Island.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

Results 1-25 of 981

Next Page