3 View Wishlist

351 New Zealand Independent Tour Reviews

4.7 out of 5 based on 351 user reviews.
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 5 Day Essential North Island 5 Day Essential North Island

    Really enjoyed how seamless everything was and the various activities organised for us. Toni was very helpful in accommodating our requests. It made for a stress free start to our holiday.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 17/12/2018
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 7 Day South Island Escape 7 Day South Island Escape

    Everything ran smoothly and according to plan. All the motels were very nice, however we found the Bella Vista in Queenstown was out of the way. If we had more time to spend in New Zealand we would have added stopovers in other cities because some of the bus rides were really long. All bus drivers were fabulous and knowledgeable and we learned so much from them. That was exactly what we were hoping for. All in all, our trip was one of a lifetime and we will definitely contact Relaxing Journeys in the future when we decide to go back. New Zealand should be on everyone's bucket list and we were so happy to have such an enjoyable vacation.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 05/01/2018
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 6 Day Northern Lakes 6 Day Northern Lakes

    Very well run. Excellent guides. Great scenery. Friendly people and it gave us a great insight to New Zealand for when we hopefully return. Thanks for your great organisation.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 02/01/2018
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 7 Day Coast, Caves & Geysers 7 Day Coast, Caves & Geysers

    Some accommodation not up to expectation.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 18/12/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 5 Day South Island Sampler 5 Day South Island Sampler

    New Zealand is nice place, I am also planning to come again next year. Thank you for your help.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 05/12/2017
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 8 Day North & South Highlights 8 Day North & South Highlights

    We went on a tour of Auckland to Bay of Islands and then flew to Queenstown and went to Te Anau. All arrangements made by Toni went without a hitch (only a couple of times I was worried but this probably is because I am used to being in control and making my own plans) You really only have to follow the itinerary and it is stress free! It was a wonderful trip, we chose to have bus transfers so we did a lot of bus travelling but how else do you see beautiful New Zealand if you don't travel! The accommodation in Bay of Islands and Queenstown was the absolute best! In Te Anau the receptionist was a bit unwelcoming, the weather was bad on a couple of tours but these things are not something anyone can control. Relaxing Journeys thank you so much for making our family trip to New Zealand so memorable and for all the fantastic experiences we had!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 05/12/2017
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 7 Day South Island Escape 7 Day South Island Escape

    Well planned and enjoyable trip! Got the chance to see lots of the South Island.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 03/12/2017
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 11 Day New Zealand Discovery Loop 11 Day New Zealand Discovery Loop

    My lodging was always perfectly located within walking distance of town center. All the scheduled connections to tours and transportation were timely. Traveling alone, I always felt confident and relaxed that I didn't need to worry because everything was so organized and efficient! I had a wonderful trip in your beautiful country!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 03/12/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 10 Day Southern Circuit 10 Day Southern Circuit

    Very well organised and managed to see lots over a short time :)

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 12/11/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 6 Day Southern Express 6 Day Southern Express

    Mani did an excellent job. His assistance before (planning) and during the journey was excellent. Requests and questions were answered promptly. We didn't have to worry. Everything was perfectly taken care off which made this vacation a dream come through. Definitely will recommend Relaxing Journeys to friends and family. Thank you so much.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 12/11/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 6 Day Northern Lakes 6 Day Northern Lakes

    Overall it was a lovely tour. But the transportation times were a bit long.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 10/11/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 15 Day Leisurely New Zealand 15 Day Leisurely New Zealand

    Our trip was perfectly planned and perfectly executed. All of the hotels, bus trips. train rides, excursions and shuttle transfers were arranged, on time and very pleasant; We were two days late getting into Auckland to start our vacation due to airline and ATC issues. We emailed Toni from San Francisco and she and Sally made all of the necessary changes on the fly. Well done! We would certainly use Relaxing Journeys again. Oh, and New Zealand was AMAZING!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 10/11/2017
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 8 Day Discover the South 8 Day Discover the South

    Great arrangement. All the selected motels are located in the city central. Good transport arrangement. Save more time and no need to wait and find the destination. If I have more time than will be great, I love the places in the South Island.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 09/11/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 14 Day Southern Loop 14 Day Southern Loop

    Excellent planning and logistics. Every pick up and drop was on time. Well located serviced apartments. Good pace and planning.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 06/11/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 6 Day Middle Earth Discovery (North Island) 6 Day Middle Earth Discovery (North Island)

    Everything with a few exceptions worked out great. All transfers were smooth and hotel standard/service was very good except for Travelodge in Wellington. However in most hotels wi-fi did not work 100% or I needed assistance to connect (resetting of routers). The mishap when I was not picked up in Roturoa for the Hobbiton tour has been communicated to you earlier. If I would wish for something more it would be that when you go on tours the guide would tell you at the start of a tour what to expect for stops and meals. Generally the options for healthier snacks or meals while on the road were limited or non-existent (especially on the Cape Reinga trip and getting to/from Paihia). As I am not a native English speaker, some dialects/accents are hard to understand. Our driver guide to Cape Reinga was very difficult to understand. But the sand-boarding was one of the highlights of my trip. And if the dune had not been so high to climb I would have done it again! The Capital Tastes tours in Wellington was another highlight and I would not have been able to do a tasting menu after the walk.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 02/11/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 5 Day Geysers, Glowworms & Hobbiton 5 Day Geysers, Glowworms & Hobbiton

    The Sales Manager (Toni) was very patient with us when we kept changing details of our tour and asking questions. As far as the original inclusions of the package are concerned, it was organized and was to our satisfaction. However, when it came to the package add-on, we were very disappointed because the pick up service never came. Waldorf accommodation is very good. Fenton is not bad.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 30/10/2017
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 7 Day South Island Escape 7 Day South Island Escape

    We had an amazing time. The tour was quick enough to fit in our busy work schedules and allowed us to see the top sights. The days were packed full but gave us the opportunity to see many different areas. The glacier upgrade in Franz Josef was definitely worth it. We were impressed by the accommodations. All of the people were welcoming and friendly. We would love to return in the future!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 28/10/2017
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 7 Day South Island Escape 7 Day South Island Escape

    Wonderful trip! Well planned and scheduled tours were timely with minimal wasted time. Accommodations were outstanding, although the Novotel at Queenstown could use a little updating in the bathroom and the carpets definitely needed cleaned. Tour bus guides were knowledgeable and very accommodating. Intercity bus drivers could use some customer service training, but I'm sure they are not expected to provide commentary to passengers. One in particular was lacking in social skills, but that is no fault of your company. Supershuttle drivers were very friendly, but not always on time, making for some stressful moments arriving at our destinations in a timely manner. Arrival time for the train was probably not adequate. Our group of 4 (two couples) were not scheduled as a group traveling together in several instances, so possibly better coordination with the reservation staff would be helpful.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 28/10/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 10 Day Southern Sounds, Alps & Glaciers 10 Day Southern Sounds, Alps & Glaciers

    The trip was beautiful and everything was well organized and no worries at all with our bookings or travels. Each room and bus and excursion was ready for us and easy to get to. I do wish we had known there was no store in Mt Cook though and no breakfast, lunch or free WiFi at our hotel there (Mt Cook Lodge and Motels). Since I booked through the agency I didn't really review the hotel site thoroughly so you might mention that in the itinerary you provide to future guest. But the room itself was lovely! Best room of our trip. Doubtful sound was breathtaking. Our room in Queenstown was perfect. Our room at Bella Vista the last two nights in Christchurch was small and dingy and not very conveniently located. I would not recommend that hotel. The people were nice though and it was clean, just really small for us and our luggage. We would definitely recommend Toni and book through her again when we return. It would not have been as pleasant had we tried to this all ourselves! Thank for you for helping us enjoy the trip of a lifetime!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 24/10/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 13 Day South Island National Parks 13 Day South Island National Parks

    I was very impressed that all arrangements made by Relaxing Journeys ran smoothly, coaches and pickups arrived as detailed by the itinerary and the accommodation suited me perfectly. I have not always experienced such efficiency and care in previous travels overseas. My trip was a great success and the detailed information provided with the itinerary was very useful, as were the helpful and pleasant people involved in the organising and on the actual trip. The South Island itself was beautiful and I hope to return soon. Thank you Relaxing Journeys for a wonderful NZ experience.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 23/10/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 5 Day Geysers, Glowworms & Hobbiton 5 Day Geysers, Glowworms & Hobbiton

    It was awesome!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 18/10/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 7 Day Otago & Southern Lakes 7 Day Otago & Southern Lakes

    The tour was thoroughly enjoyable, some of the scenery and places visited were awe inspiring and truly breathtaking! Pace was pretty good and allowed us the time we wanted in each place visited. My only constructive feedback would be that we thought a day and a half in Dunedin was a bit too much especially without hiring a car to go and find things to do, which we did for the full day there to go and visit Otago Peninsula. It seemed a bit of a strange place and didn't really seem to fit in with the rest of the trip, although the train journey was pretty amazing. Personally, I would wonder if there is any way to incorporate the train journey without the additional time spent in Dunedin and spent elsewhere. Overall, the trip was fantastic and we both had a thoroughly great time.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 12/10/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 7 Day Top of the South 7 Day Top of the South

    Fabulous trip. Whirlwind pace. Would've loved to spend more time in some of the beautiful places and amazing hotels.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 11/10/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 6 Day Southern Express 6 Day Southern Express

    Great trip. Awesome planning and everything went to plan - so nice to be able to sit back and enjoy and not worry about what to organise next! Top marks team!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 02/10/2017
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 9 Day North to South Explorer 9 Day North to South Explorer

    We enjoyed our first time visit to NZ. Though the time we spent is short - we have a real great time enjoying ourselves visiting places that have being arranged for us by our tour consultant, Marie Sarmon.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 25/09/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 10 Day Essential South Island 10 Day Essential South Island

    We were very impressed with Relaxing Journeys and our tour coordinator Toni. The trip went so smoothly and we were able to enjoy all the sights. Highly recommended!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 23/09/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 12 Day Middle Earth Discovery 12 Day Middle Earth Discovery

    It was a wonderful collection of tours, attractions, and activities, we felt like we got to see and do everything we wanted to in New Zealand. The seamless connection of coaches and shuttles also made the whole experience a "relaxing journey" indeed.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 22/09/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 12 Day Middle Earth Discovery 12 Day Middle Earth Discovery

    Mani was very patient and stitched together an itinerary based on our wishes. The bus and tour connections went without a hitch. We enjoyed the beautiful scenery and information throughout our journey.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 22/09/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 9 Day Queenstown Loop 9 Day Queenstown Loop

    We booked this tour because we wanted to start and end in Queenstown as we then wanted to spend a few days in Wanaka. The trip was well organized and the motel rooms were all above expectations. The coaches were very comfortable with plenty of comfort stops along the way. There was one hiccup with the shuttle collecting us from the railway station in Christchurch but this was through no fault of Relaxing Journeys. We also booked a few optional excursions through them and these all went beautifully except for bad weather in Mt Cook which meant the Glacier adventure had to be cancelled. Looking back we should have arranged to spend more time in Christchurch as we arrived at 7pm and left at 7am the next morning. I would certainly recommend this company for any sort of tours you may wish to do in beautiful New Zealand.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 18/09/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 5 Day Geysers, Glowworms & Hobbiton 5 Day Geysers, Glowworms & Hobbiton

    Travelled with mum and two young kids (<5yo). Pace is pretty ok, there were a couple of occasions where time for lunch is pretty short so you do need to plan ahead, pack lunch or be more flexible. There was a slight hiccup with my tour vouchers on the first day but was dealt with pretty quickly and Marie has been helpful. Path along Hobbiton was pretty slippery after rain and some parts a little steep, so have to be careful. Overall satisfied with the service and tour arrangements.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 24/08/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 10 Day Southern Sounds, Alps & Glaciers 10 Day Southern Sounds, Alps & Glaciers

    Our trip to New Zealand is by far one of our best trips. I believe that we could largely contribute that to the fact that we had chosen to book with Relaxing Journey. The booking procedure is fuss-free with lots of helpful advice given by Toni. We are able to fully customize our itinerary and yet we can skip all those tedious booking process with all the individuals such as coaches, accommodation and tours etc. We are amazed that the trip went by without a single hiccup, every booking was in place and the coach almost reached on the dot. It was a fantastic experience and we will definitely be back soon, and of course, with Relaxing Journey again. Thank you Toni!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 15/08/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 5 Day Geysers, Glowworms & Hobbiton 5 Day Geysers, Glowworms & Hobbiton

    Took the worry out of everything. Booked on short notice. It was fantastical.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 07/08/2017
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 8 Day North & South Highlights 8 Day North & South Highlights

    Marie was fantastic! Our 10-day honeymoon through the "long white cloud" was the trip of a lifetime. Everything along the way was so well organized and the accommodations were top-notch. Being able to pick up our booklet with our itinerary and activities at our first hotel made everything so easy. We truly got to experience some wonderful kiwi hospitality. We will gladly refer anyone to check out Relaxing Journeys when they go to NZ.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 26/07/2017
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 14 Day South to North Explorer 14 Day South to North Explorer

    Everything was so well laid out. Every single driver was on time. The trip and itinerary flowed seamlessly. Typically I stress about getting places while traveling, however I was relaxed the entire time!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 21/07/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 5 Day Geysers, Glowworms & Hobbiton 5 Day Geysers, Glowworms & Hobbiton

    The tour has been great, thanks for the help from you! You did all you promised to provide, that's greatly appreciated!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 09/07/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 7 Day Southward Bound 7 Day Southward Bound

    Our tour was wonderful, we will forever treasure the moments spent in New Zealand. Toni, our travel agent, was outstanding, always helpful and quick to respond to our queries.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 05/07/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 9 Day Wild West 9 Day Wild West

    The transfers were seamless and the accommodation selected were very good. This was a fantastic introduction to the South Island and we look forward to being back!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 06/06/2017
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 11 Day New Zealand Discovery Loop 11 Day New Zealand Discovery Loop

    Everything was lovely! It was very well organized. My only complaint was the, what turned into due to an accident, 10 hour bus trip from Rotorua to Wellington.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 01/06/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 5 Day Top of the North 5 Day Top of the North

    I was very impressed with your arrangements and communication with me as a client. I have been wanting to visit Northland for a long time and everything I wanted to do was included in the tour. The weather was fantastic (not one drop of rain) and the personnel in all the tourist bureaus and the bus drivers were very friendly and helpful. This included the hotel staff at the Kingsgate in Paihia. It was five minutes walking distance from the town and 20 minutes from Waitangi. I was really pleased to have the extra day to go back to Waitangi. My first visit was too short and didn't allow time for the cultural performance but the pass allowed me to go back for no extra charge to visit the museum and Hobsons historic house. For me personally this was one of the highlights. The only other comment I would make is you have to make sure the client understands Relaxing Journeys is not a tour bus company and you are not part of a tour group travelling with the same people each day. The tourist is travelling on other commercial bus companies. Thank you for a fantastic four days.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 22/05/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 10 Day Essential South Island 10 Day Essential South Island

    Very satisfied with the service provided by Relaxing Journeys. Email replies were within a day or two and even if the consulting agent is on leave, emails were followed up by other agents. The whole tour went smoothly without a hitch. Coaches came on time, we had no problems checking into our accommodations and optional tours with the vouchers provided. All apartments and motels provided towels and toiletries. They are centrally located and convenient to explore around. The weather was great despite the low season in May. We had many sunny days, saw a few rainbows and a shooting star. Thanks to Mani and his colleagues for arranging this trip for us!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 14/05/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 9 Day Coast to Coast 9 Day Coast to Coast

    The tour was very well organised, especially considering we were travelling with 2 kids. The hotels were strategically located well around the city centre, the bus journey and pick up from the stops were spot on too. Overall a fantastic experience just as we wanted it. Special thanks to Marie who helped us have a wonderful time. Thanks again. Will definitely recommend friends and family to take Relaxing Journeys tour.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 08/05/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 9 Day Wild West 9 Day Wild West

    I'm not one to take the time to write a long review online; however, I wanted others to benefit from my experience on this tour with Relaxing Journeys. My wife and I purchased the 9 day Wild West tour. This was our first time to New Zealand so we thought we would focus on the South Island. We chose this tour because it spent more time around Queenstown, and we weren't interested in the drive to Mt. Cook, which was a part of several of the other tours. We had an amazing time on this tour, so I think we made the right choice for us. First, I should tell you that we added some extras to the standard Wild West tour package. (1) We paid for the premium hotel package. We were very happy with this decision, as we were pleased with all of our hotel rooms. (2) We also added the breakfast package. Since most of your days are fairly busy, it was good to know each day started with a good breakfast before heading out. We were happy with this decision too. (3) We added an extra day in Queenstown at the start of the tour. I would HIGHLY recommend this added day. Our flight didn't arrive until early evening, so it would have been a bummer to get up the first morning and check out of the room and head to Milford Sound and Te Anau. We just got there and we are leaving already. Instead, with the extra day, we were able to schedule the 4WD Safari of The Scenes Tour and get a wonderful overview of the area. It was a great tour and we highly recommend it. Then we had the full afternoon to stroll around Queenstown, which ended up being our only time to do that, so I was really glad we had this extra day. Day 3 was our Milford Sound / Te Anau day. Since we were coming back to Queenstown after the one night in Te Anau, the Hotel St Moritz happily stored our luggage for the night; thus, we only had to bring a simple carry on bag with us, which was super convenient. Plus, the Hotel St Moritz had our luggage already in our room when we returned the following night, which was a pleasant surprise. Anyway, the Milford Sound trip makes for a long day, but it was totally worth it. Some of my best pictures of the whole trip are from this day. Amazing scenery, and not just at Milford Sound. The bus ride to Milford is EQUALLY amazing. I also liked that we did not have to go all the way back to Queenstown. By the time you get to Te Anau on the way back, you welcome the opportunity to get off the bus and be done for the day. We then had a wonderful meal at the Redcliff Cafe in Te Anau. Day 4 was a leisurely morning, followed by the Glowworm Cave tour. Another fantastic tour, we highly recommend it. We then had the bus ride back to Queenstown. Day 5 started with the Walter Peak farm & BBQ Lunch tour. We really enjoyed the steamboat ride and the tour. The BBQ lunch was really really good. It was one of our best meals on the trip, and we had some really good meals. I typically don't care for lamb meat, but I tried it here. Wow was it good. I would eat lamb a lot more if it always tasted this good. We intentionally asked for the 10am tour so we would have the afternoon open in Queenstown. We relaxed at the hotel for a little while, and then headed up the Skyline Gondola for dinner. We booked this activity on our own and not through RJ, simply because it was not offered on their site. If you do this too, I highly recommend the small upgrade fee for the premium dinner. It guarantees you a window seat, which you need when the sun goes down. Those in the middle of the restaurant pretty much get a reflection of the restaurant for their view, the window seat is a must have. We went up the gondola well before dinner so we had time for a couple luge rides, which were also fun. Day 6 was our transfer to Wanaka. We signed up for the Wanaka Jet Boat & Wilderness Walk tour, which again was fantastic. Be sure you pack a small lunch or snack the night before. There is not enough time when you arrive in Wanaka to get lunch before the tour. After the tour, we had the tour company drop us off in town instead of our resort so we could get lunch. We then grabbed a cab to Rippon Winery, literally known as the most photographed winery in the world. From the winery, you can take a hiking trail back to the Edgewater Hotel. Another awesome day. Day 7 was our transfer to Franz Josef. The bus ride was scenic, as expected, but its hard to surpass the first six amazing days. The town was small, but we had a wonderful dinner and a leisurely evening. Day 8 started with a morning helicopter ride to Franz Josef glacier, landing on the glacier. Once in a lifetime activity. Highly recommend it, if the weather cooperates. We then took the Across Country Adventure Quad Tour (booked on our own). This was another fantastic activity; however, the tour guide said we had a very good group. All of us were good drivers and could keep a good pace, so we went further than most groups get. Even so, I think this would be a great tour either way. Day 9 was our transfer to Greymouth and the TranzAlpine train. I was a little disappointed in the train ride. Partly because I had VERY HIGH expectations. I thought this was going to be the highlight of the trip, yet it wasn't nearly as amazing as the previous 8 days. But I also think it was the time of year. We went in late Fall, after the fall colors passed and before any snow hit a lot of the mountains. That said, the train was comfortable, the open air viewing car was an excellent way to see the scenery, and it was a great way to get to Christchurch. Our hotel in Christchurch, the Heritage Hotel was amazing. They upgraded us to a two bedroom. The story behind this hotel is equally amazing. Day 10, the day all good things must come to an end. We did the Hop-On-Hop-Off Tram + Punting Avon + Botanic Gardens tour (booked on our own). The city is still rebuilding after the massive earthquake several years ago, so it's fascinating to see that process in action and to hear those stories. Now I should also add that we were blessed with near perfect weather for our entire trip. The only rain we saw was at the airport as we were flying home. It was a little chilly a couple of times, but it was sunny and clear almost the whole time. Amazing weather. So I know that helped make this a fantastic vacation. That said, Relaxing Journeys did a wonderful job planning and organizing every detail. Every tour operator was great and on time. The voucher system worked beautifully. It was a wonderful, stress free way to see this amazing country. Not once did we wish we had a car. Anyway, thank you Relaxing Journeys for an awesome trip. We plan to return with you on our next trip, when we tour the North Island.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 08/05/2017
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 14 Day South to North Explorer 14 Day South to North Explorer

    The trip was amazing, 10 out of 10. Not one thing negative to report. All transfers were on time, comfortable and courteous. All hotels were AMAZING. It seemed like we got one of the best rooms/views in every place we stayed. And the side trips/attractions you booked were perfect. Glad you did, otherwise, we may have missed them. Thank you for your diligence and great work through this whole process. We will be recommending this to our friends back in Canada.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 02/05/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 18 Day Natural New Zealand 18 Day Natural New Zealand

    I was so impressed with how things went so smoothly. Only had a few hiccups, they had to do with the shuttles. The shuttle company was very good when contacted and solved the problem, actually most people would not have the problems I had because I do not have a phone so they could not get me when I was late (a medical emergency once so the bus waited for an ambulance, and the bus broke down the other time) to find out where I was, and another time in Christchurch there was no phone in the bus terminal to call them. I felt the time allowed in the various locations was perfect to see what there was. I especially liked the clean hotels, not outrageous costs, and how accurate the summary was as to times. The tours pre-arranged really seemed to be needed to access the areas I could not have and were well chosen.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 15/04/2017
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 8 Day Discover the South 8 Day Discover the South

    Relaxing Journeys made our trip to New Zealand the best time of our lives. Thank you very much Marie for your patience and assistance in making this trip truly memorable.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 03/04/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 12 Day Essence of the South 12 Day Essence of the South

    Mani was very helpful all throughout. He gave us very good advice about our trip. He was always available to answer all our questions. Again, thanks Mani for all the help.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 25/03/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 9 Day Coast to Coast 9 Day Coast to Coast

    The tour buses were very comfortable, and were always on time. The shuttle drivers were equally helpful and there was never a problem with moving us and our luggage from hotel to bus. Our accommodations were excellent. I was glad that we purchased included breakfasts. That made those early mornings so much smoother.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 24/03/2017
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 9 Day Fiords, Alps & Glaciers 9 Day Fiords, Alps & Glaciers

    Thank you for our wonderful trip to New Zealand. Top marks to Marie Sarmon. We wanted to put together a custom trip and looked at all of your wonderful itineraries. Marie helped us to make the changes we requested. She was always immediately responsive to our e-mails and our trip proceeded not only with no problems and mistakes, but effortlessly. At one point when weather created a cancellation with a day trip, Marie helped us to just transfer the excursion to Mt. Cook. New Zealand was beautiful and welcoming and we can't say enough about how special this trip was to us.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 22/03/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 7 Day Alps & Glaciers 7 Day Alps & Glaciers

    Should recommend tourist to stay at least 3 nights in Queenstown. Arrival in Franz Josef should be early to provide ample time to enjoy the attraction there.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 21/03/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 15 Day Leisurely New Zealand 15 Day Leisurely New Zealand

    The tour was very well organised and allowed us to see a wide variety of what New Zealand has to offer, which was what we were looking for. If I were to do another trip I would ask to stay in smaller hotels, as we especially enjoyed the accommodation and friendliness of hotels such as the Distinction Fox Glacier. The big hotels (Auckland, Queenstown) had fine rooms but were less personal. The Hermitage Mt Cook was a highlight, with its wonderful views. It was good to have two nights in several of the hotels. If I do another tour I will look for one with 2-3 nights in the one place, and not so much travelling.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 12/03/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 14 Day Coastal Explorer 14 Day Coastal Explorer

    It is difficult to find any criticism of this tour and itinerary. Mani had put together a varied and interesting tour with a well balanced approach for a reasonably active retired couple. The staff on the coaches, tours and hotels were excellent, polite and eager to go the extra mile to make our trip memorable. The only minor hitch was a taxi failing to turn up in Taupo so we could catch the coach to Napier. However, the motel manageress was extremely helpful and ordered another and it only cost us 7 dollars! We would not hesitate to recommend your company in the future. I would like to make two suggestions, if I may, (in no means meant as a criticism, purely suggestions). Maybe in Taupo a trip could be arranged to the Falls. We only discovered this possibility when time was short! Also, perhaps a warning that the walk down, and particularly back, to Cathedral Cove requires stamina! There were many folks walking down, whom I fear, may still be on the way back! These are merely mentioned, politely, as suggestions. Thank you again for your meticulous organisation.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 11/03/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 23 Day By Land & Sea 23 Day By Land & Sea

    This was a great trip! We loved New Zealand and all it's natural beauty and friendly people. Relaxing Journeys did a beautiful job of organizing our detailed itinerary. Traveling by Intercity buses allowed us to sight-see as we went from place to place rather than struggle with driving on the opposite side of the road than we are used to. Shuttles met our buses and transported us to our hotel when needed. By and large, the buses ran like clock work. When heavy rain washed out roads, Christine in Operations guided us through a change of plans. She also tracked down our luggage the airline lost...thank you Christine! We loved all our destinations but especially enjoyed Punakaiki, which was a suggestion from Toni. Hiking is our favorite activity and the leisurely pace allowed us to do that in almost every location. The tourist office in every town gave maps with hiking trails. We strongly recommend traveling in New Zealand with Relaxing Journeys.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 02/03/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 10 Day Southern Circuit 10 Day Southern Circuit

    In general it was a very nice tour. All the transportation from place to place and between bus station and hotel were well organized. All the accommodation were clean and comfortable, however, sometime need 10~20min walk to reach city/visit center, still doable, preferably closer. The travel information was nicely shared and we really enjoy our time in NZ. I would like to recommend this tour to my friends.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 01/03/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 10 Day Southern Circuit 10 Day Southern Circuit

    An excellent trip. Relaxing Journey's (Toni) did a great job in customizing a trip for us that covered what we wanted to see and experience, and at a pace we wanted. Both Mani and Christine were very prompt in answering the few questions that came up. A great job by everyone.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 27/02/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 6 Day South East Express 6 Day South East Express

    We had a very enjoyable holiday, everything well planned, accommodation very good, loved the places we went to see, we would have loved a day in Queenstown to have a good look round, Milford Sound was spectacular. Very efficiently organised.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 26/02/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 24 Day Grand New Zealand 24 Day Grand New Zealand

    Brilliant way to discover this beautiful country: if you can't or prefer not to drive, do choose the 'relaxing' approach! Everything is booked for you: hotels, coaches, shuttles, a great selection of tours and all went like clockwork leaving plenty of time for you to admire the spectacular scenery and enjoy the food and wines. From our first contact with the company, Toni our consultant, was at hand to help us with her expertise and infuse us with her enthusiasm. Many thanks

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 26/02/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 9 Day Queenstown Loop 9 Day Queenstown Loop

    This tour had the right balance of convenient transportation and lodging along with giving us the independence we desired at each location.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 24/02/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 7 Day Alpine Express 7 Day Alpine Express

    Well organised tour with good accommodation. Great sights coach is good with very informative drivers. Only problem is, each stop is very short. More time required especially the Lake Tekapo stop because it's very beautiful. Rainforest Retreat at Franz Josef doesn't have air con so its pretty warm. Might be nice to have a couple of meals included during the travelling on the coach.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 14/02/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 8 Day Southern Icons 8 Day Southern Icons

    Our customized Southern Icons tour was beyond expectations, and absolutely amazing. Top favorite was Mt Cook where we saw the constellations in the night sky with our naked eye, simply awesome. Mani our consultant did a fab job of customizing our tour and was always prompt with responses. Unfortunately bush fires put the TransAlpine train out of service, but Mani arranged a coach ride along the same route that we enjoyed the magnificent views. The travel vouchers worked without a hitch and coach transfers were seamless, as were accommodation bookings. Thank you Relaxing Journeys for an unforgettable holiday!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 13/02/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 11 Day Wild South 11 Day Wild South

    We had a great time in New Zealand and our independent tour was good on the whole. We were not a fan of Intercity Coaches for a number of reasons but will provide them feedback separately. Probably would have not gone for premium accommodation - although it was great just not in room enough to justify $$. Places we would have stayed longer would be Mt Cook and Stewart Island. Wish we hadn't bothered with Invergargill or at least been placed closer to town given the short stay there. Mani was a great support.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 13/02/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 9 Day Wild West 9 Day Wild West

    The most beautiful place in the world I've ever been - even better than Scotland and Norway. The day trips were excellent. We added an extra night in Te Anau so we could do the Milford Track and also the Glowworm Caves, and we are SOOOO glad we did. Both were spectacular! Skipper's Canyon 4WD adventure and glacier heli-hike were awesome as well. Even the days when we were just riding a bus many hours from one place to another were wonderful. The scenery is stunning, and the drivers gave interesting and informative commentary. The accommodations were clean, comfortable, conveniently located, and had refrigerators and microwaves, which made breakfast fast and easy. We were grateful we booked through Relaxing Journeys. The TranzAlpine Train was cancelled due to fire damage of one of the bridges. Sally booked us on a coach instead and emailed us the voucher. Had we booked everything ourselves, we would not have even known about the fire, nor how to get an alternative route to Christchurch. Relaxing Journeys just took care of it all for us!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 09/02/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 17 Day Road & Rail 17 Day Road & Rail

    We enjoyed every part of our 19 day tour of the North and South Islands. All arrangements made by Relaxing Journeys went very smoothly. A buses, taxis, super shuttles were on time. Hotels were of good quality and value. Hotel locations were good too. Any questions posed to Toni were responded to very quickly. Toni was great! We especially loved our 2 days at Raetihi Lodge. It was a well needed break in the middle of our otherwise busy touring schedule. Wonderful country and all of the people of NZ who we met were warm and friendly!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 06/02/2017
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 7 Day South Island Escape 7 Day South Island Escape

    Thanks for arranging a very nice tour. Everything went as planned. My parents thoroughly enjoyed the trip and all hotel apartments were spacious and comfortable.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 01/02/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 6 Day Southern Express 6 Day Southern Express

    The whole tour went on very smoothly, except in Franz Josef where it rained heavily and continuously long. The next morning the coach was to pick us from the motel at 7.30am but it didn't come until at 10.10am. We were told of a slip road due to rain. So we reached Queenstown much delayed and we couldn't do much there, missing the cable car ride. Otherwise, the rest of the tour was pleasant. I would suggest for a more comfortable coach, better seats and provide a bottle of water for each passenger.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 31/01/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 7 Day Bay of Islands & Rotorua 7 Day Bay of Islands & Rotorua

    Everything operated very efficiently - the pick up times, the accommodation, the organised tours.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 24/01/2017
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 14 Day New Zealand Escape 14 Day New Zealand Escape

    Everything was well-organized.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 19/01/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 8 Day Southern Highlights 8 Day Southern Highlights

    We had an absolutely wonderful time. Having everything organised for us made a huge difference at the beginning of the holiday and let us find our feet, get the feel of NZ and get over the jet lag knowing things would be fine. We had such a great time doing activities we wouldn't have considered without them being on the tour (wildlife in Dunedin, cruising Abel Tasman). Toni was amazing, particularly with the re-organising that had to be done after Kaikoura. We had a wonderful time and will be recommending Relaxing Journeys to our friends,

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 01/01/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 5 Day Top of the North 5 Day Top of the North

    The bus drivers were great, all tours left on time and did not have to worry that would not pick us up. Just fantastic.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 01/01/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 6 Day Southern Express 6 Day Southern Express

    We were extremely happy to find Relaxing Journeys. They helped us to organise a fantastic trip and were extremely helpful. Thank you so much Marie for your professionalism! I was really impressed at how quickly you answered to our emails and how much you wanted to personalize our trip!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 31/12/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 9 Day Coast to Coast 9 Day Coast to Coast

    My father and I really enjoyed our trip in the South Island. It was a first visit for him and he loved it. We are glad we booked in with Relaxing Journeys. Everything was well organised for both transport and accommodation. It's made our holiday so much more enjoyable and Mani had been very helpful. Would absolutely recommend Relaxing Journeys to everybody and without any hesitation would do it again in the future.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 31/12/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 8 Day Southern Icons 8 Day Southern Icons

    Pickups were always very punctual. Drivers very helpful and friendly, informative commentary. Accommodation very good, especially Queenstown. Only issue was arriving too late into Franz Josef, so that the shuttle to the glacier had finished. Overall an excellent tour which I would strongly recommend.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 27/12/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 7 Day Top of the South 7 Day Top of the South

    I was really happy with the accommodations. Very clean and good food. And everything was well organised (except one breakfast was missing). I did not have to worry about anything. But I would have liked to have the possibility to do more longer hikes. And I would have liked to spend more time in the Abel Tasman National Park than for example in Punakaiki, but that's just what I prefer.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 20/12/2016
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 11 Day New Zealand Discovery Loop 11 Day New Zealand Discovery Loop

    I had a wonderful touring experience of both islands and was grateful to Marie for all the effort she made, in trying to get me to places of particular interest of mine. Several times Marie made suggestions and changes when I e-mailed her my preferences. The company provided excellent service in re-routing my tour after the earthquake affecting Kaikoura. The mid range accommodation was luxurious, centrally placed and provided generous breakfasts. I enjoyed all the experiences, from breathtaking scenery with birdsong, geothermal places, an Abel Tasman coastal tramp, to the Hobbiton film set and met kiwis on the buses who told me local stories and came across all nationalities of travellers. After meeting scientists on their way to Antarctica for study (of Devonian period fossils and neutrinos!) I wished I had factored in time to go to the Antarctic Centre in Christchurch. I particularly loved all the wonderful wildlife and conservation visits. My travel arrangements were efficient and the super shuttle was reliable and prompt. I had only one minor hiccough when the Intercity bus driver did not accept my travel voucher and I chose to pay the NZD 25 and get a receipt on arrival in the bus depot. I e-mailed relaxing journeys and was refunded NZD75. Not only that, but Sally had phoned my hotel to check that I had arrived and persisted until she could speak to me. For a single traveller, this was reassuring and beyond expectation. Next time (and I will have to go back to do the coastal rail trip) I might choose the land route from Dunedin to see fur seals, little blue penguins and the royal northern albatross as I think there might be closer sightings than from a boat.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 29/11/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 10 Day Southern Circuit 10 Day Southern Circuit

    We certainly saw and experienced a lot on our tour of the South Island. As we were travelling on an Independent Coach Tour, we were slightly concerned that all transfers and coach pickups might not go smoothly - but they all did! The accommodation was good overall, with 3 excellent hotels and 2 slightly disappointing motels. Milford Sound was the highlight - the coach trip and boat cruise on a rainy day felt like a real adventure, and the hundreds of waterfalls streaming down from the mountains created amazing scenes to photograph and remember. The west coast was wet and cold, with fresh snow on the peaks adding interest to the scenery. However, the rain and cold of the last few days left us coming home with bad coughs and colds!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 19/11/2016
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 8 Day Discover the South 8 Day Discover the South

    Everything went smoothly. All the coaches and the drivers commentary were excellent. My only regret is that we could not go to Lake Matheson from Franz Josef because there was no transport available. I think if I were to do this tour again I would hire a car from the town nearest to Franz Josef to get around Franz Josef, Fox and Lake Matheson. I did Google for car rentals but there were none available for the time.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 18/11/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 13 Day South Island National Parks 13 Day South Island National Parks

    Everything went like clockwork, even with the earthquake occurring the day before we left Australia! Toni was able to get us onto a flight to Nelson very promptly instead of the train trip to Kaikoura we had originally planned. Sad to miss that part of NZ but it was not to be. We had an extra day in Nelson which was good as it's a lovely town. Travelling in the Intercity coaches provided a relaxing way to travel by not having to navigate and being able to enjoy the scenery. We also met many interesting travellers, especially a lot of young people from other countries, some on working holidays and others just seeing the world. Our accommodation was great with a mix of hotel rooms and apartments in handy locations. As I had read in other reviews before booking our trip, the overnight cruise on Doubtful Sound was highly praised. We can only but agree as even with periods or drizzle it was still a magic place to be and quite awe inspiring. The rain caused hundreds of waterfalls pouring down the sides in every direction and low cloud drifting around made it look very beautiful. We saw seals, penguins and dolphins and enjoyed the company on board as well as the very good spread for dinner and breakfast. Definitely a highlight! We also went to Milford Sound but the rain had really set in by then and there were crowds of people, unlike Doubtful Sound where we were the only craft on the water. Unfortunately when a place becomes well known everyone wants to visit (including us!!) and it is spoilt because of its popularity. All of NZ is beautiful but Queenstown was lovely especially as the sun shone and snow covered the mountains all around so it was picture perfect. Thank you and well done to Relaxing Journeys for a our journey around the South Island.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 15/11/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 8 Day Head South 8 Day Head South

    This tour is a wonderful way to visit the beautiful South Island, even if it is a little hectic. Be prepared to be up and about quite early on half of the days. Everything worked like clockwork on our visit,. A tour like this would not be possible in the U.K. for instance, due to the traffic congestion everywhere. All of the hotels were perfect, and New Zealanders that we met everywhere were very helpful and kind. Sadly the recent earthquake near to Kaikoura will no doubt disrupt this particular tour, and the railway line will take a long time to repair. We were fortunate enough to avoid the earthquake area by just two days. I would recommend additional days at the beginning and at the end of this tour in both Wellington and Christchurch in order to spend more time there, which is well worth it, as they are both very interesting places. They reminded me of an England of yesteryear, now sadly disappeared.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 10/11/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 13 Day South Island National Parks 13 Day South Island National Parks

    We absolutely loved the 13 day National Parks tour. The places chosen were great and well worth visiting. There were some places we would have loved to spend more time, but not knowing anything about them before hand we went with the tour as presented. Just gives us an excuse to come back! Mani did an excellent job of putting everything together for us. Communication with Mani over details was great. Even to the point of changing the final pick-up time on the day of departure due to a schedule change as a result of the earthquake. If (when) we come back to New Zealand, I would definitely use Relaxing Journeys again and highly recommend them. You have given us a truly memorable trip. Thank you.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 07/11/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 7 Day Alps & Glaciers 7 Day Alps & Glaciers

    We had a very good time and we enjoy the trip very much and the arrangement both transport and accommodation was superb. We had a good time riding on TranzAlpine, went around Queenstown, Milford Sound tour, Mount Cook with a beautiful scenery all along the way. However the nature was not very friendly. Past midnight when we were about to leave Christchurch we were woken up with a sudden shake up. Though it is not devastated, but it was quite frightening. The other unfriendly welcome was the rain, it was raining when we arrived in Franz Josef and keep on raining all night even when we left Franz Josef for Queenstown. Again we we arrived at Mount Cook, it was raining all through the night. However when we woke up we found out that there was a light snow in the night. We enjoy the beautiful scenery. Other improvement may be the internet connection, we found at Aotea Motel (on the first night) and Punga Grove there was no connection. Since we took the bus, sometimes we could not take a good picture of the beautiful scenery, especially passing through Haast Pass.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 07/11/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 14 Day Classic New Zealand 14 Day Classic New Zealand

    Everything went perfect and staff was extremely helpful.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 07/11/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 9 Day Wild West 9 Day Wild West

    Everything went as planned, no hiccups. Would loved to have had more time in some places, not helped by arriving very late at some destinations, but overall a really well planned trip. The buses were very comfortable and viewing excellent. All guides were very well organised and stopped at some unique places for a break. Level of accommodation was varied. Most situated in the middle of town and close to food outlets. Only one was a 30 minute walk into town which was not great especially at night. It seemed that middle of the road accommodation varied in each town, in saying that all were very clean and beds comfortable and bathrooms clean with loads of shampoo and soap for free. Toni was excellent in organising the tour and constantly made contact prior to tour. Nothing was a problem to change. On arrival in Queenstown we were supplied with a very nice tour package with loads of brochures on what to do in each town. This was extremely helpful when organising what to do. Loved the whole experience and would do again. Very happy.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 14/10/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 6 Day Southern Express 6 Day Southern Express

    Very good tour and everything went like clockwork. The reason for not giving a five star was the accommodation at Franz Josef Glacier. I was expecting to be in "A wonderful relaxing bush environment". A car park at the front and a couple of trees and another building at the rear is not, in my eyes, a bush environment. The breakfast was, for me, a disaster, it consisted of a few prepacked items and not the continental breakfast that I had hoped for, it was a real let down after all the other ones we had eaten. The proprietor and the room was good at this motel. Overall the hotels were first class and the transport with a commentary were very good. Thanks for arranging this trip for us.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 13/10/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 7 Day Top of the South 7 Day Top of the South

    Very well organised, every connection was there, accommodation was lovely as were all the people. Some quite early morning starts to make trains etc but that just gave us a longer day to enjoy.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 27/09/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 9 Day Coast to Coast 9 Day Coast to Coast

    All went really well on our tour. Coaches or super shuttle always on time to collect us. The worst part was from Christchurch to Dunedin; we were collected from our hotel at 7.10 am and did not arrive into Dunedin until 2.30pm. A long journey on a cold coach. Apart from that the other coaches were all good. Not enough time at Lake Te Anau, but still very pleasant. The motel room at the Franz Josef night stop was so inviting on our arrival with the gas fire on, but the bed linen had not been changed! An oversight (?) which they rectified. All the hotels were really lovely though and very pleasant staff. A memorable holiday in beautiful South Island New Zealand.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 25/09/2016
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 8 Day Discover the South 8 Day Discover the South

    Thank you for organising our tour. Everything went to the plan that you put together. We were picked up on time every time and all the drivers were very polite and helpful. We had a amazing time in New Zealand such a beautiful country. Thank you for arranging a room with a view at Mt. Cook - we were delighted. The trans-Alpine train was a experience we will never forget. The weather was good for us in the South Island - didn't need any thermals. We would recommend your company to anyone who is visiting New Zealand in the future. Once again thank you for helping to make our trip unforgettable.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 09/09/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 7 Day Alpine Express 7 Day Alpine Express

    Everything that was organised went smoothly. I think the tour we chose was good for us, not having been to NZ before. Everything was planned out perfectly and we had a great time. The only negatives were despite indicating that Tash was a vegan, and even reiterating this with the actual cruise company the night before, she was not allocated a vegan meal on the Milford Sound Cruise. I think this was probably an issue with the cruise company though. Otherwise it was a great way to see the South Island of NZ!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 09/09/2016
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 8 Day North & South Highlights 8 Day North & South Highlights

    I'm glad I booked with Relaxing Journeys! Friendly, patient and very informative staff, Thanks Marie! We were looking for a short tour and this ticked all the boxes. Accommodation was great overall and just what we were expecting. Tour pace was a bit quick but that was to be expected. The tours itself were all on time and staff were great. Definitely booking with Relaxing Journeys again in the future. Keep it up guys!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 08/09/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 10 Day Southern Sounds, Alps & Glaciers 10 Day Southern Sounds, Alps & Glaciers

    The detailed arrangements done by Mani made my 9-day tour in the South Island fuss-free. The accommodation Relaxing Journeys provided were of good quality. We particularly enjoyed our stay in Novotel Queenstown! I like the flexibility that they allow in planning the itinerary (e.g. allowing a mixture of Bronze and Silver-type accommodation, allowing me to book my own accommodation but providing the coach ride for some days). The instructions given in the itinerary, including the coach timings, were clear and accurate, making my journey smooth. Appreciate Mani's responsiveness and patience in the process of planning for my itinerary. Highly recommended!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 05/09/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 10 Day Southern Sounds, Alps & Glaciers 10 Day Southern Sounds, Alps & Glaciers

    Thanks to all, in particular Toni who nursed me through what otherwise I could have regarded as complicated, her fast response to my immediate needs was appreciated, the ticketing vouchers etc were clear and concise. Over all it was a great trip and would strongly consider revisiting NZ

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 08/08/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 9 Day Coast to Coast 9 Day Coast to Coast

    I wanted to say a massive thank you to Relaxing Journeys and Marie in particular for organising a trip of a lifetime for us. The trip went so smoothly and all the hotels, coaches and transfers were superb. As it was our honeymoon some of the hotels had upgraded us and gave us champagne or chocolates which was a lovely touch. We have had such an amazing time in NZ and saw some incredible scenery and had some awesome experiences too including seeing whales, dolphins and having a breathtaking helicopter ride at Milford Sound over the mountains. It really has been the best honeymoon we could have asked for. I most definitely recommend Relaxing Journeys and if we ever return to do the north island then we will be booking through them again!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 07/08/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 7 Day Alps & Glaciers 7 Day Alps & Glaciers

    Thank you Mani & Toni for a great holiday I have just been on! Everything was organised so well, transport, shuttle services & accommodation & anything else I wasn't sure of was answered with & options or useful information. I thoroughly enjoyed my 8 days I had on the beautiful South Island. Much appreciated for my professionally organised holiday to NZ, thanks so much again!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 04/08/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 10 Day Southern Circuit 10 Day Southern Circuit

    Very well organized. Timing was perfect.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 11/07/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 9 Day Southern Lakes 9 Day Southern Lakes

    We are beyond satisfied with the quality of service rendered by Relaxing Journeys. In hindsight, it was pretty amazing how our excellent tour consultant, Mani, could work with myself in Singapore (with a 4 hour time zone difference), to finalize a customized tour itinerary that efficiently and effectively. I'm a stickler for details and Mani was extremely accommodating and patient to all my queries. We were very happy with the proposed itinerary, all (but 1 small transfer due to an isolated driver incident) was seamless. Every experience we had on this tour, whether in the included tours or optional tours, were of high quality. Location of hotels were fantastic as were the quality of the hotels. We opted for the mid-range hotels and they were exactly as how it should be; functional quality at a reasonable price. We couldn't have asked for a better first-time trip to New Zealand and have zero regrets in choosing Relaxing Journeys to help us with our tour planning. This is our first time engaging an inbound tour operator in all our travels and it has been a fantastic experience. We would absolutely choose to engage in this company going forward, as we would definitely find our way back to New Zealand again. Thank you once again Mani - it was a real gem of a trip and thanks for helping to make it happen.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 22/06/2016
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 14 Day South to North Explorer 14 Day South to North Explorer

    A great way to see as much of New Zealand as time allows in 2 weeks. Well planned itinerary allowing for travel & sight seeing. Organisation of hotels & transport was first class which made for a very "relaxing journey". The flexibility of this tour with regards to which events you would like to attend or take part in allows you to pace the holiday as you would like it to be. The events that were part of the package are all ones that you would not want to miss. Whilst some of the journeys are lengthy the commentary & sights along the way more than make up for this. Thanks Marie for making this holiday so easy to arrange.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 19/06/2016
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 14 Day South to North Explorer 14 Day South to North Explorer

    The itinerary was excellent and covered the highlights of NZ attractions as offered by Relaxing Journeys! We saw and experienced a wonderful cross section of NZ. Everything was well organized, both transport and accommodation. Very easy to follow all details of the trip. Thanks Mani and Relaxing Journeys for your reliable and perfect organization of the tour. We will surely recommend it to our friends!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 19/06/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 17 Day Road & Rail 17 Day Road & Rail

    My wife and I chose the 16 Day Road & Rail tour for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it! We actually customized it by making it a 17 day tour by adding an extra night in Wellington. We chose the mid range hotel option. We also added one pre-tour day in Auckland, which I highly recommend if you are coming from the United States as we did. We arrived from San Antonio, Texas so the extra day helped us recover from some mild jetlag. We started our tour in late May and completed it in mid June. The weather was nice for us even though it was late Fall and just a few weeks away from Winter beginning. It was also a nice change for us since we were coming from a very hot Texas. This time of the year the train does not operate from Picton to Christchurch but this was okay because the coaches weren't full since it wasn't peak tourist season. We would probably have enjoyed the train ride a little more but there is always next time if we have the chance to come back during New Zealand's summer. We had quite a few highlights on our tour. For one, we added visiting the Hobbiton movie set to our tour. My wife is a huge fan of the LOR and Hobbit movies and I enjoyed them quite a bit as well. It was very surreal visiting a place that we had seen on the movies that seemed a world away. If you enjoyed the movies I suggest you visit Hobbiton. Another highlight was staying at the Bay of Many Coves. The Raetihi Lodge was closed during this time of the year so our tour consultant recommended the Bay of Many Coves. It was a fantastic choice and a memorable place for honeymooners. I'm sure the Raetihi Lodge is very nice but we loved the Bay of Many Coves and their staff were fantastic alongside giving each of their guest one on one attention. I recommend bringing some food (snacks or meals), and beverages since it is quite secluded with the only way in and out of the resort being by water taxi or helicopter. With that said the dining selections were top notch! While we were at Mt. Cook we did a stargazing adventure that we booked at the hotel. Coming from a city with over 1.5 million people we don't get to see stars that often and certainly not from the southern hemisphere. It was amazing being able to look up and see billions of stars and the Milky Way Galaxy as well as seeing two shooting stars in the matter of minutes. The cherry on top of the cake was being able to play in the snow in June. Something unheard of to us Texans! It is hard to put into words everything that we experienced during this tour. We really only had two issues during our time in New Zealand on this tour. One, when we arrived in Lake Taupo our bus was late and there was no shuttle waiting for us when we arrived at the bus station. I'm glad we had purchased a sim card for one of our phones at the Auckland airport because we had to call Super Shuttle. (Tip: Purchase a sim card to obtain a local number and avoid major international charges) They quickly arranged for a taxi to pick us up and scheduled one to pick us up the next day at the hotel to return us to the bus stop. The second issue we had was it was foggy the day we were in Franz Josef and we were not able to do our heli-hike. We were told because of the nearby rainforest environment, often times they are unable to fly during our dates. Happily, our payment for the heli-hike was quickly reimbursed when our tour concluded. We sincerely recommend this tour if you want to see a lot of both islands and we highly recommend using Relaxing Journeys to arrange your tour throughout New Zealand.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 29/05/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 7 Day Bay of Islands & Rotorua 7 Day Bay of Islands & Rotorua

    We have never traveled this way before and were not sure how we would like it. It was very easy and not a single hitch along the way with tickets, pick up, airport meeting. We liked that we did not need to drive, yet had flexibility in our plans.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 15/05/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 7 Day Alps & Glaciers 7 Day Alps & Glaciers

    Excellent time. Everything was organised really well, hotels great, and activities really good. thanks for making the trip very relaxing and enjoyable.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 14/05/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 8 Day Southern Icons 8 Day Southern Icons

    We really enjoyed the tour, thanks so much to Marie and the entire team at Relaxing Journeys. Our stay at Franz Josef Glacier and also at Christchurch were a bit too short, particularly considering the arriving the departure times of the coach at these locations. It would have been great if we had more time to stay one extra day at each of these two locations. The staff at TranzAlpine, the coach/shuttle drivers and the hotel staff were excellent, particularly at Quest Auckland. The hotel room at Punga Grove was very nice.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 06/05/2016
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 9 Day North to South Explorer 9 Day North to South Explorer

    Wonderful tour! Auckland and Queenstown were our favorite spots! The hotels were great and everything went perfectly smoothly on our independent tour of both islands.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 01/05/2016