New Zealand Independent Tour Reviews

Kirra Tour Bus

371 New Zealand Independent Tour Reviews

4.7/5.0

4.7 out of 5 based on 371 user reviews.

Overall Tour Rating
Value For Money
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Relaxing Journeys Experience

Reviews

5
Independent Coach Tour
01/09/2019
Kia Ora! We had a wonderful holiday. Everything went smoothly with transportation and accommodations. The accommodations were very comfortable and centrally located. On two occasions, our super shuttle did not show up at the time listed on our travel voucher, but after calling them, they resolved the discrepancy and provided us transportation in a timely manner. In Rotorua, the super shuttle came to pick us up at the hotel (on time) and took us to the drop off site which was just across the street (we could have walked). Thank you for an outstanding job arranging our tour. It made it so easy to travel and enjoy our holiday.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Independent Coach Tour
28/08/2019
Relaxing Journeys helped organise a custom-made tour for us. They were very thorough and efficient, adapting readily to our needs and requests. Chelsea was always available and replied quickly to any queries made. I would definitely recommend this company to others.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Independent Coach Tour
20/06/2019
My family enjoyed our tour. I would like to take this opportunity to compliment your staff Marie Sarmon for the excellent service she provided to us. She was prompt and kept us well informed all the way, she was extremely helpful, competent, attentive & professional in her interactions with us. Because of the exceptional experience we had with Marie we definitely will use your services and recommend our friends and family to your company in the future.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Independent Coach Tour
15/06/2019
Super professional all the way through. Even had a change and the matter was taken care of very quickly and efficiently.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Independent Coach Tour
01/06/2019
Where do I start. The B&B's were wonderful loved the personal interactions with the owners. Warm cosy and great breakfasts. The tours we did were wonderful. The whole trip was so well planned the driving distance were good giving plenty of time to see the sights and say WOW..... Wow.... wow ....WOW especially on the west coast. Each corner we turned was something new. Just loved it.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Independent Coach Tour
18/05/2019
A lot of time on buses in the first four days, but I wanted to see the South Island and I did! The tour ran smoothly -- no glitches!
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Independent Coach Tour
01/05/2019
We were very happy with the tour Nicole set up for us. We were very nervous about going to a new country, not knowing exactly what to do and where to go, what to see. Nicole set up a perfect combination of active and restful. The hotels she selected were fantastic, comfortable, clean, lovely all around. The activities were fun and interesting, educational and exciting, especially the Skywalk in Auckland. Terrifying, but also exciting. We kept a travelogue on Facebook and have had many friends and family contact us, asking about what company we used. We tell them Relaxing Journeys is the BEST!
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Independent Coach Tour
26/04/2019
We spent 14 days driving the South Island. The accomodation chosen for us was excellent and in good locations. The suggestion for places to visit was most helpful. The hire car service was good.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Independent Coach Tour
17/04/2019
We had a great time thank you. Accommodation and trips were awesome and Georgina you were great to deal with.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

4
Independent Coach Tour
01/04/2019
Great tours and guides, good punctuality and services, fine hotels.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Independent Coach Tour
01/04/2019
Nicole made the process of booking this trip so easy. I was given lots of options and plenty of support in making decisions about activities. It was a wonderful trip.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Independent Coach Tour
16/03/2019
Excellent itinerary and communication from Georgia. We had lots of fun at the Franz Josef Glacier, Milford Sound. Our family particularly enjoyed the 16km guided hike at Routeburn Track. Thanks! The only negative is the wifi at Blue Peaks Apartments was really slow and spotty.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Independent Coach Tour
16/03/2019
Our agent Marie Sarmon's meticulous planning ensured we had a wonderful holiday around South Island. Due to a few unforeseen circumstances (ie health issues before leaving for New Zealand and also unfavourable weather conditions while in New Zealand), our plans had to be rejigged a few times - including at the 11th hour. But Marie gave us really good options/alternatives to ensure that we could still complete the holiday as planned. The age range of our group was late 30s to mid 70s and the trip was suitable for all as Marie gave us pointers before and during our holiday so that excursions could be chosen accordingly. Relaxing Journeys really lives up to its name as it completely took the stress out of organizing a tour that involves moving from place-to-place every couple of days.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Independent Coach Tour
05/03/2019
Except for the car the bookings and instructions were first rate.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Independent Coach Tour
22/02/2019
I have been waiting until I finished unpacking to write you about our adventure on the South Island. Annie and I both thank you profoundly for putting together such a perfect package that allowed us to enjoy our trip with very little stress and maximum enjoyment. Everything went perfectly -- really, perfectly! I will elaborate below, but here are some general points: 1. We were able to immerse ourselves in nature, which is exactly what we wanted. 2. The lodgings were great -- quite a range of styles, which we liked. Some were quirky, some elegant, some over-the-top hospitable. 3. The tours were well-chosen. (My favorite was the jet-boat; Annie's was definitely the blue penguins in Oamaru.) 4. The pace of our itinerary was fast, but necessarily so for us to see as much as we did in three short weeks. We didn't feel rushed because we were so excited to get to our next location. 5. The overall cost was very reasonable, given the quality of the accommodations and level of service. Thank you for helping to make us comfortable within our budget. Some specific feedback: The wilderness lodges at Arthur's Pass (my favorite place in the whole trip) and Lake Moeraki were highlights. We were pleased to meet the family who owns and runs the lodges and hear about the incredible conservation work they have done on the West Coast. The lodges were beautifully designed and extremely comfortable. The meals were excellent, and we enjoyed the optional activities provided each day. Five star, all around!! The trip on the Alpine Train was beautiful, but if we were to do it again, we would probably drive as the train was crowded and noisy the first day, and on the second day, we went through, rather than over the pass, which we would have liked to experience. Better perhaps for those who don't want to drive. Annie had an excellent birthday dinner at Rata in Queenstown, and enjoyed our tour to the Aspiring Wilderness. The Luxury Dairy B&B was very convenient, the host was gracious and the breakfast good. In general, Queenstown was a bit too busy and touristy for our taste, but we're glad we had some time to be there. And the dinner at Rata was excellent :) The trip to Doubtful Sound out of Te Anau was a highlight. A long day, but worth every minute. We're sorry we didn't see Milford, but given our preference for the road less travelled, I think we made the right choice. The Cosy Kiwi B&B was our least favorite of the lodgings. I know you didn't have many choices at the late booking date, and it was perfectly fine -- just not quite as cosy or friendly as all the others. Dunedin was another highlight -- the all day trip on the Otago Peninsula was spectacular, including the family of orcas that put on a show for us! We had a rather noisy but fun dinner in a restaurant near the university. The Camp Estate was a hoot -- such a beautiful setting and so elegant! We felt a little scruffy in our travel clothes, but were welcomed warmly regardless. The Pen-y-Bryn in Oamaru was another unique experience! Amazing art collection and a Paris-trained chef! The blue penguins were wonderful. And finally, although our three last nights in Christchurch were unplanned, we fell in love with this beautiful, but damaged city. We mostly just walked around and took pictures of the old, the new, and the under repair. The Heritage was excellent! We had a lovely suite that allowed us to regroup before heading home. We loved the building, especially the bar. The staff was incredibly friendly. So, all in all, an excellent trip! Thank you again, Georgina, for planning so thoughtfully for us. We have passed along your name to several people we met along the way who will be returning to NZ, as we hope to do in the future.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

4
Independent Coach Tour
20/02/2019
We chose the 20 day independent tour 'New Zealand End to End' that covers both Islands. This met our needs well as we were able to add some extra nights in various places and make an adjustment to the itinerary when we thought there was too much to do in one day. Our consultant Teresa always replied quickly and was able to book alternative accommodation if we weren't keen on some of the hotels on the original itinerary. Overall, we had a wonderful time on our tour. The coach travel went smoothly although we sometimes arrived later than scheduled. On the longer trips the drivers had to have a half hour break which enabled us to have a coffee and snack and go to the bathroom. We usually found it easy to catch a taxi to our hotel from the coach stop or to walk if it wasn't too far. Our tour covered a wide variety of places from cities and seaside towns to areas with beautiful mountains and lakes. Our tour of the Fjordland National Park was one of the big highlights as it was a rare chance to see pristine forest and rivers (we were surprised at how much deforestation there is). We loved the scenery and the various day tours we went on were excellent. Our guides were all knowledgeable and friendly and we even received some commentary from our coach drivers at times. We appreciated having a Maori guide in some places and the opportunity to learn more about Maori people and culture in places such as Rotorua in particular. Our accommodation was very good in the main and it was very handy to have some kitchen facilities when we had an early morning start and needed to make our own breakfast. Some hotels were quite high class while others were more basic. All were very clean and well maintained. There were a few little glitches, mainly around information on our itinerary being different to the info on the vouchers, and incorrect information about a tour being provided prior to our trip, but we sorted things out OK. I highly recommend Relaxing Journeys to organise your trip to New Zealand.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Independent Coach Tour
17/02/2019
Our 21-day Custom Road and Rail Excursion of both the North and South islands was outstanding. Thanks to the detailed preparations and suggestions by our agent Marie Sarmon and her staff, we were able to enjoy a variety of sights and experiences found only in New Zealand. The scheduling of Intercity buses, interisland ferry, Trans Alpine train, local tours, shuttles and hotel accommodations occurred without a hitch, allowing us the opportunity to experience a really "Relaxing Journey." We highly recommend the Custom Road and Rail package offered by Relaxing Journeys. Thanks again for a great trip.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Independent Coach Tour
12/02/2019
Our tour with Relaxing Journeys was excellent. Aside from a couple of issues with a shuttle company the whole trip unfolded with unbelievable precision. Travel between locations was seamless and our accommodations were well placed and mostly exceptional. The excursions set up by Relaxing Journeys proved to be outstanding and allowed us to gain real appreciation for the beauty and charm of New Zealand. Would definitely recommend using Relaxing Journeys to anyone considering a trip to the wonderful country of New Zealand!!
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

4
Independent Coach Tour
11/02/2019
The only friction point in the process, I would say it's the transfers (for our type of trip). You should take into consideration that some buses, trains, etc. could be delayed, so you have to be sure that the company provinding the transfer to the hotel waits for the clients. In our case, we would have preferred not to book the tranfers in advance and just pay a taxi when we get to the place. Same thing for the pick ups in the hotels, it's a little bit stressful to be waiting, thinking you may lose your connection (they were all long distances and you could really mess it up if you miss it). That's my feedback for you to take it into account but I have to say that everything was almost perfect and the trip amazing. We really enjoyed our time in New Zealand, and that was possible thanks to you.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

4
Independent Coach Tour
08/02/2019
A few issues with pick up times. Itinerary and vouchers would have different times and pick up spots for a few activities. Good to call shuttle or bus company day before to confirm. Relaxing Journeys did a great job of getting the most out of our time in New Zealand. Worked well to accommodate us with the activities we wanted to participate in. Very helpful when we needed something.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Independent Coach Tour
02/02/2019
The best I could have got! Thanks for assisting me patiently throughout the trip. Everyone should just use this company to enjoy New Zealand
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Independent Coach Tour
01/02/2019
Overall, the choice of places was very good. The glow warms cave was perhaps not so essential. The pace was indeed relaxing and very appropriate for people our age (65-70). The choice of accommodations was generally appropriate, though the places in Punakaiki and Te Anau are somewhat far from the centre. The supershuttle arrangement is very convenient. Overall we had a wonderful experience, and we are grateful to Relaxing Journeys.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Coach & Fly Tour
01/02/2019
Overall, Relaxing Journeys assisted us in setting up a wonderful vacation in New Zealand. We would definitely recommend their services to others. hotel accommodations were top notch with great service and located centrally in each city, within convenient walking distances to eateries, downtown, and things to do. Travel arrangements gave just enough time to connect without wasting time waiting. Tours set up were very enjoyable and varied. Lots of options and ability to customize. We had 1 tour bus pickup issue on a weekend and it was difficult to reach RJ's in time for them to assist with alternate arrangements, but luckily the hotel concierge was very helpful and got us set up on a private tour to see the same things that day. However, RJ's was very responsive once they replied and took appropriate steps to make up for the issue, so we have no complaints about how the matter was handled. Very professional and good service once they got involved. Only "I wish" we had was that the tour for Mt. Cook gave you more time to explore the area. Spent about 4+ hours on the bus to have approximately 90 mins at Mt. Cook. If you chose to do the lunch there was not any time to really explore any of the walking trails or the area. Also, would have liked more time to swim at Piha Beach; just had enough time to get in the water for a few minutes. But, those are concerns for the operating tour companies and not RJ's. Very satisfied and happy with our interactions and vacation planning we received from Relaxing Journeys. We experienced none of the communication or other horror stories we heard from people we talked to utilizing other companies. Very pleased with RJ's and think anyone else would be, too.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

5
Independent Coach Tour
29/01/2019
We had an amazing trip and Georgina was very helpful when we requested to change something. Would highly recommend! The route was perfect and we saw everything we wanted to see.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

4
Independent Coach Tour
14/01/2019
We enjoyed the tour but there were a few things that we wished would have been different. Although Lake Taupe was beautiful our hotel was far away from the lake. If we had just gone on to Wellington we could have had an extra day there. Also although Blenheim was a nice town we would have rather gone to Christchurch and had an extra day. We would have rather had more train rides than bus. Super shuttle was great. We loved traveling in New Zealand.
Overall Tour Rating

Value For Money

Accommodation

Tour Pace

Relaxing Journeys Experience

Results 1-25 of 371

Next Page