3 View Wishlist3

2,307 Relaxing Journeys Reviews

4.7 out of 5 based on 2307 user reviews.
  • ReviewOvernight Cruise Milford Mariner Overnight Cruise (Return Flight) Milford Mariner Overnight Cruise (Return Flight)

    Went very smoothly, really felt that all staff took extra care to make it enjoyable.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 08/02/2017
  • ReviewLow Cost Coach Tour 9 Day Taste of the South Island 9 Day Taste of the South Island

    Long hours in the coach, but I guess that is to be expected in a tour that covers so much ground. It might be sensible/helpful to give daily mileages and/or travel hours in the tour description/itinerary. Overall, a good and interesting introduction to South Island.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 06/02/2017
  • ReviewLow Cost Coach Tour 9 Day Taste of the South Island 9 Day Taste of the South Island

    We had excellent weather, loads to eat, lovely good sized (mostly) twin rooms, and a fun guide. I would recommend it. The last couple of days was rather too much travelling and unfortunately Franz Joseph tour was cancelled due to railway destruction. However we all received a refund for that.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 06/02/2017
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 7 Day South Island Escape 7 Day South Island Escape

    Thanks for arranging a very nice tour. Everything went as planned. My parents thoroughly enjoyed the trip and all hotel apartments were spacious and comfortable.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 01/02/2017
  • ReviewPrivately Chartered Tour 1 Day Auckland : Waitomo : Rotorua : Auckland 1 Day Auckland : Waitomo : Rotorua : Auckland

    Glowworm caves were more impressive than we expected, Te Puia was as expected, and Polynesian Spa less than expected. We had some car trouble on our trip (a holiday in NZ) which complicated matters because no repair service was open to help. My husband assisted our driver to duck tape a hose in the engine, so that with a prayer we could return to Auckland.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 30/01/2017
  • ReviewBudget Self Drive 10 Day Southern Sounds & Glaciers 10 Day Southern Sounds & Glaciers

    Booked this trip about one month prior to departure date, with Toni. Everything was great. Due to my short notice and it was peak season I had to use different motels within the same city during my stay. However the motels were great! They don't provide breakfast but most of them have kitchen facilities so not a problem at all. The drive was awesome, amazing scenery. Book with Relaxing Journeys for a hassle free holiday.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 30/01/2017
  • ReviewBudget Self Drive 16 Day Discovery Trail 16 Day Discovery Trail

    We had a fabulous holiday due to the thorough planning and organisation of our 16 night tour of New Zealand. Relaxing Journeys had fine tuned the trip to our brief and this resulted in a stress free holiday. Both the accommodation and hire cars were of a high standard and the voucher system ensured swift booking-in processes at every motel. The only problem we encountered was the address given for Dunedin. It stated Cumberland Street Dunedin when in fact it should have read Cumberland Street North, North Dunedin. This resulted in a wrong location given by satnav and unnecessary time/fuel spent driving around the city. Apart from this minor issue we would have no hesitation recommending your company to family and friends for the holiday of a lifetime. Many thanks.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 26/01/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 7 Day Bay of Islands & Rotorua 7 Day Bay of Islands & Rotorua

    Everything operated very efficiently - the pick up times, the accommodation, the organised tours.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 24/01/2017
  • ReviewBudget Self Drive 14 Day Geysers To Glaciers 14 Day Geysers To Glaciers

    Best two week tour to experience all NZ has to offer. I highly recommend this tour!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 22/01/2017
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 19 Day New Zealand Showcase Tour 19 Day New Zealand Showcase Tour

    An excellent tour. Very well planned and executed. Hotels first class. Tour Captains and Tour Manager informative. The Grand Pacific badge gives priority at venues, discounted drinks and excursions. The inclusion of most meals was a bonus. Included excursions and visits were also brilliant and we got priority - e.g. visit to Te Papa museum in Wellington before opening time, dedicated area on the Milford Sound boat, special evening at Dunedin and an evening's entertainment on our last night - wonderful!!!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 22/01/2017
  • ReviewOvernight Cruise Milford Wanderer Overnight Cruise Milford Wanderer Overnight Cruise

    Wanderer was well equipped and in great condition. Chef & food excellent. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable. We - family of four, loved it and the good weather helped !

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 20/01/2017
  • ReviewMid Range Self Drive 5 Day Bay of Islands Tourer 5 Day Bay of Islands Tourer

    Fabulous trip from Auckland to the Bay of Islands, arranged from the U.K. All arrangements went smooth and the suggested itinerary was great.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 20/01/2017
  • ReviewPremium Self Drive 21 Day Kiwi Adventurer 21 Day Kiwi Adventurer

    We had a wonderful trip thank you for all of your help setting this up.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 20/01/2017
  • ReviewPremium Self Drive 25 Day Grand Explorer 25 Day Grand Explorer

    This has been a great holiday and will recommend it to friends. Could have done with a few free days with longer stays but appreciate these would have required a longer holiday and more expense. Accommodation excellent with only one exception in Wellington (this was ok, but rather scruffy). Rewa House was exceptional mostly due to the excellent hosts, Eden House in Auckland and the accommodation in Dunedin and Napier also superb. The overall organisation was perfect, with superbly arranged pick ups always on time - well done. We enjoyed the Hole in the Rock and the Milford Sound trips even though the latter required a long coach journey and the jet boat ride in Queenstown was a real treat - not for Carol though, having read the leaflet she decided it was not for her. Consequently the operator only charged for three of us. Everyone we met were so friendly and helpful - a credit to all concerned. Thanks for everything,

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 20/01/2017
  • ReviewCruise & Coach Tour 19 Day New Zealand Southern Explorer & Cruise 19 Day New Zealand Southern Explorer & Cruise

    Except for spending too much coach time, we had a great time. Nick went above and beyond to help and guide us.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 18/01/2017
  • ReviewPremium Self Drive 25 Day Grand Explorer 25 Day Grand Explorer

    Well put together itinerary. All arrangements spot on. Most accommodations excellent and a few absolutely outstanding. The TranzAlpine railway was not running and options were offered and put in place to complete the trip without fuss. Good mix of trips included in the package. Overall we were delighted with the whole holiday and sad to come home.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 18/01/2017
  • ReviewOvernight Cruise Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

    Outstanding in every regard. Can't really say anything more that would make it any more splendid. Except...I thought I heard it rain, then I heard it again and again. And when I looked to check for sure, there, it rained some more! The rain just added to the splendour and the pod of bottleneck dolphins that guided the ship, well what more can I say? I think you get the message. Tell anyone undecided, just go!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 17/01/2017
  • ReviewOvernight Cruise Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

    We had a great time on the cruise The crew made the trip along with the beautiful scenery. Spent some time on the bridge with the captain and nature guide and they were both very professional and fun to engage with. The only thing that would be nice to change is have a little more time at departure. Understand time is limited but it would nice to have an extra 1/2 hour to settle in to our cabin before leaving the dock so we could be outside during that time. Other then that a great trip and very good food.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 17/01/2017
  • ReviewMid Range Self Drive 8 Day Northern Heritage 8 Day Northern Heritage

    We had a great holiday with all of the details organised for us. It was hassle free.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 16/01/2017
  • ReviewSmall Group Tour 22 Day The Long White Cloud 22 Day The Long White Cloud

    Tour Guide and Driver: Katie was the best. We were never bored; she always had a story to tell about every place we passed thru. Most importantly, she was present every time a person went or came back from an activity that we paid extra for. Her "mother hen" monitoring made sure we always got on the right bus and she made sure we made it okay back from the activity. After a day-long activity in Paihia, we looked pretty bushed so she asked if we were okay. We told her the bus was not air-conditioned. She was surprised. The next day, she assisted in getting us some free ferry tickets as an accommodation for the lack of a/c. Shelly was marvelous. We always felt safe and were amazed at where she could take our coach. When she provided her occasional commentary, she spoke as professionally as Katie. She came to know every one of us and we enjoyed spending time with her, especially at dinner. Hotels: all were excellent, very high end. In some locations, such as Franz Josef and Punakaiki, this was okay because we were in out of the way spots. However, we really didn't need quite so much luxury in places like Auckland and Christchurch. In Queenstown, I did not like staying at a place that was so far from Queenstown and I know the hotel had to be very expensive. I would like to see you cut back on the lavishness of some of the hotels. Note: the night on the Milford Sound was WELL worth it. Pace: You've heard it before: many times we would have liked to have been able to stay longer at some spots. If the itinerary could be modified to allow just 15 minutes more at the shorter stops (I don't mean the quick photo stops - those can still be quick) that would be great. I see no reason for having two full free days in Queenstown, one would be sufficient. I would like to see an extra day in Rotorua. Meals: All provided meals were very good to excellent. The food variety was quite good. Sometimes, however, the restaurant staff at the dinners were quite slow in keeping up with things like drink refills. Still, overall the dining times were always something to look forward to.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 16/01/2017
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 15 Day New Zealand Experience 15 Day New Zealand Experience

    New Zealand was great. The tour, the time with local residents, all the arrangements and the tour guide Sarah Carter (Astros) was excellent.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 15/01/2017
  • ReviewMid Range Self Drive 24 Day New Zealand Tourer 24 Day New Zealand Tourer

    Too much driving. We didn't need a car in Auckland, just had to pay for parking. What wonderful scenery. I really enjoyed the variety of places to stay. Some of the breakfasts were outstanding and some were pitiful. The vouchers were great.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 15/01/2017
  • ReviewPremium Self Drive 25 Day Grand Explorer 25 Day Grand Explorer

    We thoroughly enjoyed our self drive tour of New Zealand. We liked the way you always got the same person to help you through your decision of what you wanted to do, Marie was excellent and patiently helped us through all our decisions and made it work when we wanted to add extra things to an itinerary or take something out. That way we ended up with exactly what we wanted. The tour went like clockwork, there was a voucher for everything so once we had paid for our holiday it was only really lunches and dinners we were paying for and of course any take-home gifts! We recommended Relaxing Journeys to quite a few people as we were touring around, everyone liked the voucher system and that we were booked onto everything so you knew you were on a tour or trip. We would have no hesitation on recommending them to friends and family and would use them again.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 14/01/2017
  • ReviewMid Range Self Drive 24 Day New Zealand Tourer 24 Day New Zealand Tourer

    Our 30 days self drive tour was very well organized and the itinerary was very detailed and easy to follow. Unfortunately, highway 1 between Blenheim and Kaikoura was closed and we had to drive many hours and then the route took us north on Hwy 70 to Kaikoura which was an extremely hard drive with many stops for road works. This day should have been broken up or directed right to Christchurch.... it took us nearly 11 hrs with a stop in the lovely Hanmer hot springs but, drive time was 8 hrs. Also we were disappointed that the TranzAlpine train was cancelled and would have changed our route and not bothered with Franz Joseph Glacier. The tour from Queenstown to Milford Sound was absolutely stunning. We did have a very good overview of your wonderful country, so clean and welcoming to visitors. Thank you Mani, we appreciate your hard work.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 13/01/2017
  • ReviewOvernight Cruise Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

    Thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Even the less than brilliant weather could not spoil our trip. In fact we were treated to spectacular waterfalls and atmospheric scenery. The crew were extremely friendly and expert multi-taskers. The meals were superb. Our cabin was very comfortable and clean. Thoroughly recommend this trip.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 12/01/2017
  • ReviewMid Range Self Drive 16 Day Visions of New Zealand 16 Day Visions of New Zealand

    Places booked to stay were all very comfortable and friendly. Your suggestions for side trips along the drives were much appreciated and helpful. All in all, tour was wonderful!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 12/01/2017
  • ReviewBudget Self Drive 14 Day East Meets West 14 Day East Meets West

    We have had a wonderful trip with everything going smoothly. Well done Mani and thank you so much.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 11/01/2017
  • ReviewLow Cost Coach Tour 14 Day New Zealand Vista 14 Day New Zealand Vista

    Dexter was an excellent guide and Nathan was an extremely competent, safe driver. The locations on the tour were excellent and all of the hotels were very good for location, cleanliness, comfort and food. Overall the tour was fantastic and enjoyable and we would certainly recommend AAT Kings / Relaxing Journeys to family, friends and colleagues.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 10/01/2017
  • ReviewBudget Self Drive 12 Day Discover the South 12 Day Discover the South

    We thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The planning was well done and the ability to relax while making the journey at our own pace and seeing the things we chose. We really appreciated the way that when things needed to change due to weather, the team at Relaxing Journeys made all the arrangements and had everything in place with a minimum of fuss. We enjoyed the level of accommodation, a couple of locations weren't as good as others, but all were good. The whole trip ran smoothly and we felt relaxed and free to do as we pleased throughout the journey with all the hard work competently done by Relaxing Journeys.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 09/01/2017
  • ReviewLow Cost Coach Tour 9 Day Southern Spotlight 9 Day Southern Spotlight

    Shame about the rain in Milford Sound and not seeing the Franz Josef glacier due to bad weather but the rest of the tour was very good. The drive into and out of Milford Sound and then on to Queenstown made for a rather long day sitting down all day. I would have liked to go back to Te Anau and spent another night there. The tour guide and driver were superb at their jobs. Very knowledgeable and organised.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 08/01/2017
  • ReviewLow Cost Coach Tour 17 Day Kia Ora New Zealand 17 Day Kia Ora New Zealand

    We had a great trip to New Zealand with a good travel director Sarah and Dexter. Driver was Nathan and he was great. Thank you to AAT Kings and Relaxing Journeys (Maria) for making a good trip in New Zealand.


    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 07/01/2017
  • ReviewLow Cost Coach Tour 17 Day Kia Ora New Zealand 17 Day Kia Ora New Zealand

    Good hotels and meals. Excellent new coach and superb driver. Tour guide very knowledgeable and helpful. Very well organised arrangements. Well planned stops and outings. Nice to have baggage handling done. Perfect.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 07/01/2017
  • ReviewLow Cost Coach Tour 17 Day Kia Ora New Zealand 17 Day Kia Ora New Zealand

    The tour was well organised, accommodation great. The driver, Nathan (aka Pumbaa), and tour guide, Dexter, were brilliant. Nathan's driving was second to none and Dexter's knowledge on New Zealand was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and there was a great atmosphere on the coach.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 07/01/2017
  • ReviewPremium Self Drive 10 Day Alpine Explorer 10 Day Alpine Explorer

    Very happy with the tour structure and extremely happy with the professional coordination and communication from Toni of the Relaxing Journeys consulting team. Overall the accommodation was excellent, however the standards at the Rutherford Hotel, Nelson was significantly lower than the others. The hotel was dated and reception service was very ordinary. WiFi was flakey and I would prefer a less complicated car parking arrangement. Other than that thank you for a well coordinated, excellent holiday package.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 05/01/2017
  • ReviewMid Range Self Drive 14 Day New Zealand Drive & Fly 14 Day New Zealand Drive & Fly

    We're very pleased we chose to work with Relaxing Journeys to plan our honeymoon. It relieved so much stress and we were able to enjoy the trip worry free. The hotels picked had great service and amazing views! I was very impressed by the hotel choices. A minor hiccup in the schedule due to sickness and also an event that was cancelled by weather were swiftly taken care of by our coordinator, and all refunds processed. We enjoyed our self driving tour and all events planned very much and will definitely plan our next trip to NZ with Relaxing Journeys again!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 05/01/2017
  • ReviewBudget Self Drive 16 Day Discovery Trail 16 Day Discovery Trail

    The Kruse commentary system did not work on the South Island, only the GPS for navigation. We followed all the instructions on the system but still no commentary. It was a disappointment as the Kruse commentary was very informative and enjoyable on the North Island and we were hoping for the same experience on the South Island. Fortunately the GPS still worked so we were able to navigate without issues. The South Island was experiencing some bad weather during our visit but we were still able to see many things and enjoy our time there.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 03/01/2017
  • ReviewBudget Self Drive 23 Day Scenic New Zealand 23 Day Scenic New Zealand

    Only positive thoughts: fantastic organisation, no hassle, voucher system for accommodation, rental cars, extra excursions etc worked seamlessly. Motels/hotels were excellent quality and just what we wanted. My only wish would have been to spend more time in Wellington as the itinerary only allowed us one short evening there. Fantastic trip.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 03/01/2017
  • ReviewLow Cost Coach Tour 14 Day New Zealand Marvel 14 Day New Zealand Marvel

    Our tour guide and driver were a little quiet the first 2-3 days and some of us discussed whether to complain as there was no "personality" from our hosts at front of the bus, however, we decided to give it time as we learned they didn't know each other. As the tour went along things improved and all was well. The tour itself e.g. hotels, meals, bus & driver, tour guide and commentary, scenery, meals, lunch stops and the like were mostly very good. Many of us said there wasn't enough time in the small towns to look around, sometimes just grab a quick lunch and get back on the bus as we had much mileage to cover, understandable. Much of the South Island was cold, rainy and covered in fog during our trip so flights booked didn't happen, but the scenery was absolutely amazing everywhere we went and included tours were all great. My fellow travellers were a fabulous group of people from the world over and everyone got on well and spent time with each other, no matter who they were, so that made the trip very enjoyable as well. I would certainly recommend everyone should take an AAT Kings Tour at least once in their lifetime!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 02/01/2017
  • ReviewPremium Self Drive 25 Day Grand Explorer 25 Day Grand Explorer

    Our tour was very well organised and everything ran like clockwork, even when we hit 'bumps in the road' due to uncharacteristic weather adversities. Our contacts (Christine and Toni) really went the extra mile to ensure we enjoyed our vacation.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 02/01/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 8 Day Southern Highlights 8 Day Southern Highlights

    We had an absolutely wonderful time. Having everything organised for us made a huge difference at the beginning of the holiday and let us find our feet, get the feel of NZ and get over the jet lag knowing things would be fine. We had such a great time doing activities we wouldn't have considered without them being on the tour (wildlife in Dunedin, cruising Abel Tasman). Toni was amazing, particularly with the re-organising that had to be done after Kaikoura. We had a wonderful time and will be recommending Relaxing Journeys to our friends,

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 01/01/2017
  • ReviewBudget Self Drive 14 Day East Meets West 14 Day East Meets West

    In this busy period of the year it's not easy to arrange holidays but you've done it well and when problems occurred you were very helpful.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 01/01/2017
  • ReviewBudget Self Drive 12 Day Southern Scene 12 Day Southern Scene

    We thoroughly enjoyed this tour, being able to travel at your own pace and get to your next destination any time of the day was good. The driving, even on long days, was good as the scenery was amazing and you didn't notice how long the drive was as the views changed all the time. The entire trip from pick up from airport till we left went very smoothly everything organised all you had to do was get there. Overall a fantastic tour and you wouldn't regret doing it.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 01/01/2017
  • ReviewMid Range Self Drive 17 Day Complete South Island 17 Day Complete South Island

    Toni was extremely professional and responsive to any questions we had while booking the holiday and managing the unforeseen earthquake and impact on the trip. The trip itself covers a great deal of the varied landscape of the South Island. If anything, next time I would give myself more time in Nelson (we were there for two nights). We had an opportunity to explore the Abel Tasman region, but would also would have liked more time to explore the fantastic wineries of the Marlborough region. Would definitely recommend this trip and Relaxing Journeys. Everything went smoothly from picking up the hire car at the airport, checking in to hotels (which were all great!) and to dropping the car back off in Christchurch. Thank you for a memorable experience!!! :)

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 01/01/2017
  • ReviewLow Cost Coach Tour 14 Day New Zealand Vista 14 Day New Zealand Vista

    New Zealand is a wonderful country made up of a rich history and breathtaking scenery. For the most part, the hotels were good, the food was good, the activities both included in the package and optional were fun and exciting. The coach was clean and pleasant. However the tour guide, Katie, was exceptional...friendly, helpful, with a wonderful command of the history of the cities and areas we visited. Paul, our coach driver was also terrific. If I had one suggestion it would be to visit one or two cities for 2 days rather than one, and cut down the time spent on the coach.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 01/01/2017
  • ReviewMid Range Self Drive 7 Day Top Of The North 7 Day Top Of The North

    After clearing customs at Auckland Airport our tour package was at Thrifty Car Rentals as advised by Relaxing Journeys, enabling us to collect our car and head off on our holiday without any complications what so ever. The whole trip went exactly as we planned and the information provided by Relaxing Journeys made our holiday most enjoyable and worry free.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 01/01/2017
  • ReviewBudget Self Drive 22 Day Absolute South 22 Day Absolute South

    Hi, the tour was very good you certainly know your country and the pace of the tour the only comment I would make is the apartment in Wanaka (Archway Motel) was not as good as the other motels it was very tired and too much furniture in the room but we had an amazing time. The weather was unkind to us but we cannot control nature. We would certainly recommend you to any U.K. friends that are considering coming to New Zealand. I must say that our adviser Toni was very professional and helpful to us all the way through our booking, so thank you to you all at Relaxing Journeys.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 01/01/2017
  • ReviewPremium Self Drive 16 Day New Zealand Highlights 16 Day New Zealand Highlights

    Trip was well planned and thought out. Easy to follow instructions and the sights were amazing. Your company was on top of everything and we had the adventure of a lifetime.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 01/01/2017
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 6 Day Southern Express 6 Day Southern Express

    We were extremely happy to find Relaxing Journeys. They helped us to organise a fantastic trip and were extremely helpful. Thank you so much Marie for your professionalism! I was really impressed at how quickly you answered to our emails and how much you wanted to personalize our trip!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 31/12/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 9 Day Coast to Coast 9 Day Coast to Coast

    My father and I really enjoyed our trip in the South Island. It was a first visit for him and he loved it. We are glad we booked in with Relaxing Journeys. Everything was well organised for both transport and accommodation. It's made our holiday so much more enjoyable and Mani had been very helpful. Would absolutely recommend Relaxing Journeys to everybody and without any hesitation would do it again in the future.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 31/12/2016
  • ReviewMid Range Self Drive 10 Day Hobbiton, Mordor & Mt Doom 10 Day Hobbiton, Mordor & Mt Doom

    After reading many positive reviews on Relaxing Journeys, we booked a self drive tour from Auckland to Wellington for our honeymoon. Our coordinator was Mani who had been very reliable and prompt in giving suggestions and responses to our queries. We had requested for slightly customized itinerary based on where we would like to visit and Mani had greatly helped in sharing recommendations to meet our requests. Throughout our entire 10-day trip, there was no issue with our travel vouchers. Accommodations, tickets to visit places of interest, everything were perfectly arranged. We loved all the details provided by Relaxing Journeys on what to expect in our itinerary and options for detour in our road trip. Overall it was an excellent service. For us, this is definitely an easy rating of 10 out of 10.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 31/12/2016
  • ReviewMid Range Self Drive 5 Day Rotorua & Waitomo Explorer 5 Day Rotorua & Waitomo Explorer

    Excellent and easy to follow details for the trip. Felt like we were really on vacation because we just had to do what the instructions told us to do. No issues at any of the stops with any of the reservations or vouchers etc. Vehicle worked out well. Had to remind Thrifty about the picking up the package. LOVED the Kruse GPS. (Sending them a separate email) There was one issue with the address for Hobbiton and the GPS. The address doesn't actually come up in Matamata; I think it is Hineura. Had to get instructions from the iSite in Matamata. Not a big issue! I would (and did already!) highly recommend your services. Thank you and special thanks to Marie for her help.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 30/12/2016
  • ReviewPremium Self Drive 10 Day Pure South Island 10 Day Pure South Island

    Overall we really enjoyed our trip. We were really taken by the the beautiful environments in Christchurch, Arrowtown and Franz Josef Glacier. Accommodation was good. Would love to stay in the Heritage Hotel, Dockbay Lodge and The Arrow Private Hotel again. The Scenic Hotel in Franz Josef was a bit of a disappointment though. Our room had a funny smell at first and we had to open the windows for half a day in order to get rid of it. Wasn't sure about traveling through Dunedin either, because it was difficult to do much there given the very long drive from Christchurch. Had high hope for the Alpine Scenic Train but proved to be average only. Will probably skip it next time when we visit NZ. We were also very impressed by the neat organization of all our travel documents (maps, vouchers, brochure etc). It certainly made our trip free from major hassles.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 30/12/2016
  • ReviewMid Range Self Drive 16 Day Complete North Island 16 Day Complete North Island

    Hi Toni. We have just got back to a cold UK after a fantastic trip to North Island. We found the voucher system very good making check in and organised trips guick and easy. The car and Kruse were fine making the drives easy and interesting. Northland was our favourite area and perhaps done the tour in reverse and ended on the Hokianga which we found very quiet and stunning and we thought a good place to end with a few extra days. The accommodation was fine with the exception the Scenic in Auckland, after a very long flight we found the drive into the city stressful and very noisy at night. Perhaps a hotel out of the city or at the airport would give the option or visiting the city on public transport. The food at this hotel was not good but the room was fine. Just to finish, we are already planning a trip to the South Island in the future and would not hesitate in using Relaxing Journeys. Thanks for all of your help.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 30/12/2016
  • ReviewPremium Self Drive 13 Day Northern Circle 13 Day Northern Circle

    As this is our second tour with Relaxing Journeys we expected the usual excellence and again received it. We cannot fault the service and detail offered by this company and the scope of the accommodation and suggested areas to visit. We intend to book again next year.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 29/12/2016
  • ReviewMid Range Self Drive 16 Day Visions of New Zealand 16 Day Visions of New Zealand

    Our trip was thoughtfully organized allowing us an extra day stop exactly when we needed it. We saw & experienced a wonderful cross section of New Zealand, we want to come back. Internet connection on South Island was restrictive & limited. It would have been great if a deal could be made with hotels as part of travel package. Hotels @ Wellington (Ibis) & Masterton (Copthorne) were not to the standard of the rest. The commentary along the way via the navigation system was excellent & so very appreciated, it enhanced our experience without a doubt. The navigation system appeared to be set (we were unable to change settings) on 'quickest' route & it took us a little while to realize it because we missed some suggested sights on the North Island. You thought of everything & we really appreciated it once we were there. Thank you

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 28/12/2016
  • ReviewPremium Self Drive 11 Day Bush & Beach 11 Day Bush & Beach

    In no particular order: the pickup service was terrific, particularly Rosen the driver. Sky City have a Co-op Taxi Rank at the hotel. We were told that the car that was ordered was not available and we had to take a 4x4 Hilux ute which id cause some grief. It appeared that the car was not booked till 19th December. We could change it later if we went to a specific Thrifty hire places if there was one available. Because of holidays Rotorua was the only possible option. The three highlights were Waitangi Treaty Grounds, the Kauri Museum and Kiwi Dundee. If we had have come last year the stairs would have been a problem at the Puka Resort. Given the traffic situation I would advise people not to go to that part of NZ over the Christmas break period. Traffic impacted quite a bit on the pace of the trip. We did not go to the Glow Worms cave on the drive to Auckland as it would have made the day very long in part because of the traffic situation and we had seen glow worms earlier in the trip.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 28/12/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 8 Day Southern Icons 8 Day Southern Icons

    Pickups were always very punctual. Drivers very helpful and friendly, informative commentary. Accommodation very good, especially Queenstown. Only issue was arriving too late into Franz Josef, so that the shuttle to the glacier had finished. Overall an excellent tour which I would strongly recommend.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 27/12/2016
  • ReviewBudget Self Drive 10 Day Southern Sounds & Glaciers 10 Day Southern Sounds & Glaciers

    Hi Marie, we want to email you a very special thank you. We have had a ball right from the start. We picked up the car and received a lovely xmas wrapped parcel from you. The map book, the itinerary and the vouchers have made our holiday so unstressed and smooth. The accommodation has been great. We only stayed at the Christchurch hotel overnight but it was lovely to have a separate bedroom and sitting room. The owner was able to advise which restaurants were open on this public holiday. The Dunedin motel was quaint. The owner was great, the room was large and the kitchen well equipped. The architecture in Dunedin was incredible. Invercargill was a little bit ordinary but we know you had trouble finding something available over New Years Eve (and it was raining). Doubtful sounds was so worth it. Loved the cruise, staff and food. It was quite a long drive to Haast, and accommodation was clean and simple, unfortunately the rain did set in so sightseeing wasn't as great. Rainforest retreat was the pinnacle. Loved the tree top lodge. Secluded, private and it was such a pleasure to have a coffee in our own private rainforest. Heading back to Christchurch tomorrow to head back to Australia on Thursday. We have had such a good time. We look forward to coming back - maybe North Island next time. We will be sure to contact you again next time.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 27/12/2016
  • ReviewOvernight Cruise Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

    The cruise is a great idea and Doubtful Sound is better than Milford (Sound). It was actually good that it rained and we saw spectacular scenery. The quad room is a bit tight but comfortable. Food is great especially for carnivores who had five extra dishes than us vegetarians, (felt a bit of what about us!). The carnivores also ate a significant amount of the lentils. Same happened at breakfast. Wine is costly so we gave it a miss but spirits are well priced. Free coffee at all times a bonus. Staff were excellent. Would like to see toilet floors wiped over a bit more often as the showers are.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 26/12/2016
  • ReviewBudget Self Drive 9 Day Southern Alps & Fiords 9 Day Southern Alps & Fiords

    The overall pre trip organization and communication was excellent. Car pickup easy and excellent vehicle (Rav 2) provided. The SatNav system as an extra is essential but not very good quality. All hotels were ready for us. It would have helped to have been given some direction out of Christchurch on the first day. The hotel on the second night in Wanaka was poor and I think you shouldn't use it for your clients in future. As we see it, the tour involves far too much driving and not enough time to look around. On the first day of driving (mostly at 100-120 km/hr!) it took 9 hours from hotel to hotel with only a few photo breaks. This was a common occurrence. In fact the 9 hour drive is quite boring as well as tiring. Usually the estimated times given on the schedule for driving each day were shorter than the true travelling time. I think it would be far better for you for the 9 day tour to be based out of Queenstown (i.e. fly into Queenstown) and have at least two nights in each chosen hotel. This would allow you to add destinations further south of Te Anau such as Dunedin. Most of the highlights suggested for each day on our schedule were unachievable, even though we left each hotel at 8.30-9.00 am every time. We were really looking forward to the Alpine train trip but found it underwhelming. Another reason to delete Christchurch from the itinerary. The last day when the car is returned is slightly stressful and it would help to provide a final day checklist before returning the car: Fill tank, return or mail SatNav system, allow time to get tickets for train and also to return the car. The car desk at Greymouth is very busy as passengers on the incoming train are queued up waiting to get their new rental at the same time as we are returning our vehicle. Need to allow at least one hour before train boarding time. Having said all this, NZ was beautiful and we had a great time. I just hope these comments help and are not seen as being critical. We returned very happy but next time would do things differently taking into account what I've mentioned above.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 26/12/2016
  • ReviewBudget Self Drive 11 Day Southern Highlights 11 Day Southern Highlights

    The self drive tour, that included car and accommodation, was the best solution to ensure a successful trip without stress and unpleasant surprises. Excellent car and accommodation at all places and a very useful and detailed itinerary.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 25/12/2016
  • ReviewMid Range Self Drive 10 Day Hobbiton, Mordor & Mt Doom 10 Day Hobbiton, Mordor & Mt Doom

    The Kruse unit provided nice historical, local and regional information as we drove. I was surprised there was no option for "Attractions" such as Hobbiton, Te Puia, etc. The Hobbiton address you gave us on Buckland Rd gave us a list of many choices, none of which was Matamata, so we had to stop for information (our ticket stub says Hinuera). Other than these minor issues, we had a great time. Pickup/dropoff was smooth, all vouchers were handled easily, accommodations were great. We had a wonderful time! And thank you again for arranging our Christmas dinner at Copthorne Paihia.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 24/12/2016
  • ReviewMid Range Self Drive 16 Day Complete North Island 16 Day Complete North Island

    We really enjoyed our two week trip through New Zealand's North Island. The accommodations worked out perfectly for our family of five. The itinerary was well paced and we enjoyed seeing the diversity of the country - from beach to forest to city.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 24/12/2016
  • ReviewBudget Self Drive 13 Day Brief Encounter 13 Day Brief Encounter

    It's been 3 weeks since my family came back from our trip to New Zealand from 22 Dec'15 to 7 Jan'16. Thank you for your excellent travel arrangementS, everything went on smoothly on the trip and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in your beautiful country. Everything from the collection of the car to the checking in at the various accommodations and the pre-booked activities were hassle-free. The choice of accommodations was very good. The detailed itinerary prepared for us was also very helpful. Thanks Mani and Relaxing Journeys for the reliable and excellent service.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 23/12/2016
  • ReviewPremium Self Drive 12 Day Southern Delight 12 Day Southern Delight

    Having it all planned allowed us to just show up and enjoy! This is an incredible country that you must see. The South Island is best viewed by car so a driving tour allows you to experience this diverse and beautiful country. I loved the independence to see only what we wanted. The Kruse system commentary was entertaining but lacked detail about where to go an what to see.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 20/12/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 7 Day Top of the South 7 Day Top of the South

    I was really happy with the accommodations. Very clean and good food. And everything was well organised (except one breakfast was missing). I did not have to worry about anything. But I would have liked to have the possibility to do more longer hikes. And I would have liked to spend more time in the Abel Tasman National Park than for example in Punakaiki, but that's just what I prefer.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 20/12/2016
  • ReviewLow Cost Coach Tour 12 Day New Zealand Discoverer 12 Day New Zealand Discoverer

    We had a great time with the Travelmarvel tour operator (Neville - tour guide; Chris - driver). The hospitality was fantastic and we enjoyed the locations as well! Great hotels, good food and other travel arrangements! A big thumbs up to the team! Thanks for the excellent arrangements and coordination, Marie!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 20/12/2016
  • ReviewMid Range Self Drive 14 Day New Zealand Drive & Fly 14 Day New Zealand Drive & Fly

    We were travelling along with our 2 kids (10 & 12+) and wanted to experience the North and South Islands at a pace that would not be too taxing, yet give us a good feel for the both the North & South during the 14 day trip. Mani from Relaxing Journeys was our tour consultant and did a fantastic job of tailoring the package to our needs. The hotels felt like they were hand-picked to give us the best experience and value for money and the touring spots/attractions gave us an amazing perspective of the beautiful country. Finally, real customer service is needed in times of crises - and we had an unexpected visa issue at the last moment. Mani didn't miss a beat and made sure we were able to proceed with the vacation with no disruption. Overall, a fantastic vacation. Highly recommended.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 19/12/2016
  • ReviewPremium Self Drive 25 Day Grand Explorer 25 Day Grand Explorer

    The itinerary we worked out with Toni, including routing, accommodations and all activities, was excellent. Cliff Edge by the Sea, including a three course dinner by Peter Meier, was the best B&B we have ever stayed, in many years of travel. Other highlights of the trip included the Hermitage Aoraki Mount Cook with Christmas dinner in the Panorama restaurant, the Doubtful Sound and Milford Mariner Overnight Cruises, Franz Josef Glacier Heli-Hike, and Wilson's Swing Bridge Bush & Beach in Abel Tasman. I rated service down a bit because the GPS system in the Kruse Commentary system provided in the rental cars was technically out-dated, information not current and was very difficult to use, often providing directions on back roads (perhaps the shortest way, but not the easiest, quickest or best way).

    Also, some hotels and B&B's were not in the GPS system locator. I suggest that directions to hotels and B&B's be provided by Relaxing Journeys in the itinerary, not just the name and address of the accommodations. For example, the Heritage Hotel Christchurch was very difficult to find due to construction and one-way streets, and the signage on the hotel was impossible to see from the street level while driving a car. Including a small local area map and a small picture of the hotels and B&B's with the name of the accommodation in the itinerary would be helpful. Overall, a terrific trip, and I would certainly recommend Relaxing Journeys, and Toni, to others planning a visit to New Zealand. A wonderful, beautiful and friendly country.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 17/12/2016
  • ReviewMid Range Self Drive 24 Day New Zealand Tourer 24 Day New Zealand Tourer

    We had an amazing time in New Zealand for our honeymoon with the help of Relaxing Journeys! (and Marie in particular!) They helped us customise our trip until it was exactly how we wanted and then planned it all for us based on our feedback. It was completely stress free and they were happy to make any changes we requested. I highly recommend choosing the Kruse Commentary GPS for your journey too, as you learn a lot on your travels with it and could miss some great sights along the way! It was an unforgettable honeymoon and experience. I hope we get to tour New Zealand again, and if we do, we will definitely use Relaxing Journeys to help us plan our next trip there. Thank you Marie!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 17/12/2016
  • ReviewMid Range Self Drive 10 Day Hobbiton, Mordor & Mt Doom 10 Day Hobbiton, Mordor & Mt Doom

    This was my first trip to New Zealand and it was amazing. Toni was brilliant in booking everything beforehand and was always quick to provide assistance when I needed it, even while on the trip. All the tours were great. I especially enjoyed the LOTR-themed tours. I stopped by a number of the suggested places, including Whangarei Falls, Aratiatia Rapids and Huka Falls. I also enjoyed all of the drives. The scenery is simply amazing. The Kruse commentary system was also informative and interesting, however this should be used in conjunction with a map (which was provided) as it took me on unsealed roads a couple of times. I definitely plan to go back to do the South Island some time in the future.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 14/12/2016
  • ReviewMid Range Self Drive 14 Day South Island Tourer 14 Day South Island Tourer

    Tour went well with bookings and car rentals as well as activities, manage to enjoy the beautiful scenery of NZ in a relaxed pace.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 12/12/2016
  • ReviewMid Range Self Drive 8 Day Northern Heritage 8 Day Northern Heritage

    Great selection of outings, sightseeings and accommodation

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 10/12/2016
  • ReviewPremium Self Drive 12 Day Southern Delight 12 Day Southern Delight

    We had a great time. Terrific weather, no hassles, great fun. The only negative really was the Peppers Resort at Lake Tekapo. They got the bedding configuration wrong, which was no big deal - it's a busy time of year - but they were stroppy when we asked if they could change it - the man at reception said, 'That's your agent's fault, it's not our problem.' We didn't ask to change rooms, just for housekeeping to come when they had a chance and reconfigure the twin beds into a Queen. In the end, they did, but I felt bad for asking. The room itself was modern but poorly equipped - one tiny pot and only three forks. And the buffet breakfast was horrible - watery eggs, no fresh fruit (in Otago!), flabby bacon and sliced supermarket bread. Sally said it was a bit like school camp! The hotel was packed with coach loads of tourists and we felt a bit ... processed? Perhaps we felt that way because our experiences in Christchurch, Franz Josef and Queenstown had all been excellent. Our agent Toni was terrific from go to whoa. Especially after things got a little crazy after the earthquakes took Kaikoura off the itinerary. Akaroa was a brilliant alternative. We had a fantastic time there and really appreciated the great location of the apartment we had there - especially at such short notice. The operators Toni recommended in Akaroa and Franz Josef were brilliant too. The Queenstown BBQ lunch cruise on the TSS Earnslaw was great but possibly a little 'touristy' (for us) but it is what it is and the meal, as Toni had promised was excellent and the day was well spent! The car, notes, itinerary and everything else was great and although I'm sure there are cheaper ways to see NZ by road this was brilliant for us. 2016 was frantic for our family with work and school and we just didn't have the time to research, plot and plan every detail of an NZ tour. Having Toni sort everything meant we could just 'show up' and enjoy our holiday.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 10/12/2016
  • ReviewBudget Self Drive 7 Day Cultural Discovery 7 Day Cultural Discovery

    The itinerary was great. The activities and tours selected for us were fantastic. The on board GPS commentary while driving was informative and enjoyable. We had a great time. The only negative was when we picked up the tour package at Thrifty the satchel containing the vouchers, maps and other documents was water damaged (still wet). It didn't spoil our trip at all we still had a great time.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 06/12/2016
  • ReviewBudget Self Drive 12 Day Discover the South 12 Day Discover the South

    We had a wonderful holiday, thank you. No one can do anything about the weather so you just get on and enjoy yourself.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 06/12/2016
  • ReviewPremium Self Drive 12 Day Southern Delight 12 Day Southern Delight

    We had an excellent self drive family trip overseen by Marie who made sure everything went smoothly and accommodated all our requests like adding and removing places in the itinerary. The standard of B&B's and hotels booked were high and we enjoyed all the accommodation choices. Car rental was easy and the intermediate car option she advised was great and spacious. Thank you Relaxing Journeys, it was truly relaxing!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 05/12/2016
  • ReviewPremium Self Drive 25 Day Grand Explorer 25 Day Grand Explorer

    We had a fabulous time exploring your breathtakingly beautiful country, and getting to know some very friendly and welcoming people. Toni put together the perfect itinerary for us based on our abilities and available time. Thank you, Aotearoa, for an exhilarating vacation full of spectacular wonders! Kia ora!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 05/12/2016
  • ReviewPremium Self Drive 12 Day Mountains & Glaciers 12 Day Mountains & Glaciers

    We were extremely well advised by Toni. In retrospect we could have spent more time in Queenstown and done more there so I understand now why initially the plan would have seen us have three full days there. I think also we did not really have much to do in Wanaka and maybe could have just carried straight on to Queenstown. In general, our accommodation was very good. Weather was disappointing on the train journey on Day 1, but that is life. Doing the rain forest canopy circuit later the same day in pouring rain was actually great fun and made our arrival in Franz Joseph seem like a great adventure. And we had a glorious sunny day to hike to the glacier. With a small infant Hanmer Springs made an excellent substitute for our final night - there was a Christmas parade. Next time around we will know what we are especially interested in and will be able to plan accordingly. Finally, maybe more warning about sandflies would have been good.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 04/12/2016
  • ReviewBudget Self Drive 9 Day Southern Alps & Fiords 9 Day Southern Alps & Fiords

    We had second thoughts about staying at motels. But we were all pleasantly surprised with the good quality accommodation. We would rate them as very comfortable and well selected. This is our first time in South Island and the self-drive tour went so well that we felt NZ is actually Heaven on Earth. There may be no super highways or some of the motels' internet services might be slow but one must realise that it is a relaxing holiday (pun intended). The rental car was excellent. For those who can't do without internet connectivity, go get a SIM card with data plan and the coverage is actually good. Finally I may add that Mr Mani did an excellent job of getting us alternative accommodations and helping us to re-schedule the tour plan to suit our requests. The final detailed tour itinerary had very good suggestions for visits along the way which we used to plan our self-drive.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 01/12/2016
  • ReviewOvernight Cruise Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise

    My husband and 2 boys (we are from Singapore) took the overnight cruise to Doubtful Sound and it was the best ever nature cruise we had taken. Amazing close-up to the fjord, to wildlife such as bottlenose dolphins, fur seal colony and Fiordland crested penguins. Excellent crew, nature guide - Carol - and food on board. A top notch experience not to be missed!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 30/11/2016
  • ReviewBudget Self Drive 8 Day North & South Highlights 8 Day North & South Highlights

    I was being served by Mani. Very satisfied with the service and what you have prepared for us in the itinerary. The hotels/motels that were recommended by you are just awesome. Especially the motel in Mount Cook where we stayed for one night and our view was directly mountain facing - thank you for that! The pick up of the rental cars and drop off was also hassle free and convenient. Overall, we are very, very happy with the outcome. Thank you to you and Relaxing journeys for planning out such a well thought out itinerary for me and my family. Will definitely recommend you and Relaxing journey services to my friends and family! Well done and keep up the good work!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 30/11/2016
  • ReviewPremium Self Drive 12 Day Northern Wine Trail 12 Day Northern Wine Trail

    Tour was excellent with a great variety of experiences. Car rental was easy and we found our way without any problems. It was great to have pre-booked tours of the wine regions and not have to worry about choosing wineries to visit or drive. Accommodation was excellent but there was a bit of discrepancy in the rooms size and standard allocated to each of us which was odd.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 29/11/2016
  • ReviewMid Range Self Drive 8 Day New Zealand Express 8 Day New Zealand Express

    Very disappointed that we missed the glow-worm caves tour (a feature that we particularly wanted to see). Please advise future clients that it is essential to book in advance as it is very, very busy!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 29/11/2016
  • ReviewCoach & Fly Tour 11 Day New Zealand Discovery Loop 11 Day New Zealand Discovery Loop

    I had a wonderful touring experience of both islands and was grateful to Marie for all the effort she made, in trying to get me to places of particular interest of mine. Several times Marie made suggestions and changes when I e-mailed her my preferences. The company provided excellent service in re-routing my tour after the earthquake affecting Kaikoura. The mid range accommodation was luxurious, centrally placed and provided generous breakfasts. I enjoyed all the experiences, from breathtaking scenery with birdsong, geothermal places, an Abel Tasman coastal tramp, to the Hobbiton film set and met kiwis on the buses who told me local stories and came across all nationalities of travellers. After meeting scientists on their way to Antarctica for study (of Devonian period fossils and neutrinos!) I wished I had factored in time to go to the Antarctic Centre in Christchurch. I particularly loved all the wonderful wildlife and conservation visits. My travel arrangements were efficient and the super shuttle was reliable and prompt. I had only one minor hiccough when the Intercity bus driver did not accept my travel voucher and I chose to pay the NZD 25 and get a receipt on arrival in the bus depot. I e-mailed relaxing journeys and was refunded NZD75. Not only that, but Sally had phoned my hotel to check that I had arrived and persisted until she could speak to me. For a single traveller, this was reassuring and beyond expectation. Next time (and I will have to go back to do the coastal rail trip) I might choose the land route from Dunedin to see fur seals, little blue penguins and the royal northern albatross as I think there might be closer sightings than from a boat.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 29/11/2016
  • ReviewPremium Self Drive 12 Day Southern Delight 12 Day Southern Delight

    Very smartly chosen itinerary and accommodation. The timing of visiting specific places made a lot of sense in terms of getting the best out of them. For example, we very much appreciated having the TranzAlpine ride the day after we arrived, which gave us adequate time to shake jet lag off. I could go on and on, but the gist is we felt the package was more than simply a number of must-do destinations, with particular attention to pacing. The accommodation was superbly chosen and we were very satisfied with both the premises and the people we interacted with. Special thanks to Marie Sarmon, who always responded in a timely and informative fashion and ensured everything went smoothly. Her skills shone when the Kaikoura part of the trip was cancelled due to the earthquake and we always felt we were in good hands. We have already recommended your company to our friends on the strength of her skills and our overall satisfaction.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 29/11/2016
  • ReviewLow Cost Coach Tour 9 Day Southern Wonders 9 Day Southern Wonders

    Very enjoyable. Great Tour Director, Kevin, who was always helpful and a great deal of fun too!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 28/11/2016
  • ReviewLow Cost Coach Tour 9 Day Southern Spotlight 9 Day Southern Spotlight

    The tour was wonderful and staff very helpful and welcoming.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 27/11/2016
  • ReviewBudget Self Drive 16 Day Discovery Trail 16 Day Discovery Trail

    We decided to book with very short notice. Toni quickly answered us and get everything sorted. Having a car and accommodation organised made the experience smoother. The customized itinerary was pretty good and logical. Suggestions provided were a good guideline. We enjoyed the freedom and the experience on the road. The beautiful weather helped too. We have been happy with accommodation, maybe a better one could be found in Rotorua, the included event there was very planned. The cruise in Milford Sound was a highlight. We probably should have researched more the destinations, distances between cities and possibly consider some extra activities too but we just didn't have enough time as it was a very last minute booking. Overall a beautiful experience.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 27/11/2016
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 10 Day South Island Spectacular 10 Day South Island Spectacular

    Grand Pacific was excellent from planning through execution. Driver Andrew and escort Barrie were very friendly and informative. The hotels and food were above average. Overall, the entire tour exceeded my expectations.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 24/11/2016
  • ReviewBudget Self Drive 13 Day Brief Encounter 13 Day Brief Encounter

    It is not often that a service completely exceeds my expectations, but Marie and Relaxing Journeys absolutely did. We had a wonderful time from start to finish and did not experience any problems at all. Each accommodation was perfect for our needs. Every tour you scheduled for us was well managed, professional and enjoyable. Our day at Tongariro was impacted by poor weather -- so no volcanoes -- but weather is one of those things we cannot control. We enjoyed good restaurants and one spectacular scene/experience after another. We were very pleased and appreciative of your guidance. I posted a review on TripAdvisor.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 23/11/2016
  • ReviewLow Cost Coach Tour 14 Day New Zealand Panorama 14 Day New Zealand Panorama

    I would have rated it excellent except for the miscommunication between Grand Pacific Tours and the operator of the Milford Sound cruise. Our cruise was cancelled and we missed seeing Milford Sound.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 23/11/2016
  • ReviewLow Cost Coach Tour 8 Day Taste of the North Island 8 Day Taste of the North Island

    Journey from Wellington to Rotorua and from Rotorua to Bay of Islands is too long, it is better to split it up, accommodation & meals are average, there is no tour director. Our tour consultant Toni is very helpful, thanks Toni.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 22/11/2016
  • ReviewLow Cost Coach Tour 8 Day Taste of the North Island 8 Day Taste of the North Island

    Distance between destinations quite long. One can only watch so much pasture & cattle/sheep. Coach Captain Cole excellent. Extremely disappointed with start of tour at Ibis Hotel. No welcome pack available & no name badges. Welcome pack was eventually provided but no name badges ever supplied. This made balance of tour inconvenient having to constantly reintroduce ourselves.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 22/11/2016
  • ReviewIndependent Coach Tour 10 Day Southern Circuit 10 Day Southern Circuit

    We certainly saw and experienced a lot on our tour of the South Island. As we were travelling on an Independent Coach Tour, we were slightly concerned that all transfers and coach pickups might not go smoothly - but they all did! The accommodation was good overall, with 3 excellent hotels and 2 slightly disappointing motels. Milford Sound was the highlight - the coach trip and boat cruise on a rainy day felt like a real adventure, and the hundreds of waterfalls streaming down from the mountains created amazing scenes to photograph and remember. The west coast was wet and cold, with fresh snow on the peaks adding interest to the scenery. However, the rain and cold of the last few days left us coming home with bad coughs and colds!

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 19/11/2016
  • ReviewPremium Coach Tour 18 Day Best of New Zealand 18 Day Best of New Zealand

    Trip leader, Tania and driver, Rob were superb...we can't come up with enough superlatives to describe this tour...perfect weather, awe inspiring scenery, flowers in full bloom, kind and friendly Kiwi people....excellent hotels, meals, service....included choices and options were great...we loved Bay of Islands and South Island....Milford Sound and flight out were spectacular.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 19/11/2016
  • ReviewOvernight Cruise Milford Mariner Overnight Cruise Milford Mariner Overnight Cruise

    Food was very good. We enjoyed the excursion on the tender. Crew were very competent and friendly. Shower was hot and accommodation adequate for an overnight cruise.

    • Overall Tour Rating
    • Value For Money
    • Accommodation
    • Tour Pace
    • Relaxing Journeys Experience
    - 18/11/2016